We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
353
190
36
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
190
36
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road one bedroom suite taxi rank great hotel busy road breakfast was included full kitchen excellent location well equipped kitchen rum punch st lawrence gap bars and restaurants light sleeper an umbrella bus stop would recommend this hotel to anyone rooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We wanted a getaway in April as spring didn't seem to be coming to the far north in Ontario. We had been to Barbados numerous times on cruises but decided to do a land holiday for a change. We usually stay at Hilton properties but because this was a last minute trip, the Hilton was soldout for the time we were traveling. After researching other hotels we decided to stay at Southbeach because of the good reviews, proximity to the beach and the attractive price.

The hotel is just across the street from one of the best beaches in Barbados. Staff are all very pleasant and very helpful when asking for any assistance. The hotel is located on the main road so getting anywhere on the island is easy and inexpensive by bus or minivan. Numerous excellent restaurants are in close proximity to the hotel as well.

We booked a one bedroom suite and were assigned an end unit with two huge balconies with lounge chairs and patio set with a great view of the ocean. The room itself had been recently refurbished. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped and although we initially thought we would cook the occasional meal, we opted not to eat in. The room had a huge walk in shower with nice rain shower feature. Partway during our stay they upgraded the toiletries to very nice sets of Gilchrest and Soames. The room was kept spotless throughout our stay by housekeeping.

Breakfast was included in our rate which proved to be great value. The breakfast did become a bit monotonous after 10 days but in reality did provide a varied menu including eggs every morning. It would be nice to have some tropical fruits like papaya and fresh squeezed juices included in the breakfast. We ate lunch at the small outside restaurant a couple of times and the food was excellent. My only complaint was that most of the tables outside are hightops and the stools are very uncomfortable to the point that they cut into the back of your legs. It would be nice to have more low tables with comfortable chairs. We definitely would have spent more time having meals and cocktails if the setting was more comfortable.

The hotel has a small but clean pool with lounge chairs and umbrellas available around the pool.

The only reason I didn't assign the hotel a five star is because we didn't care for the outdoor seating at the restaurant and the atmosphere inside the restaurant seems a bit bland. There also seemed to be some confusion when we checked in as to whether our rate included lounge chairs while at the beach. We had been told prior to arrival that they were and so for the first couple of days I had to keep referring to my confirmation email to indeed show that we were entitled to them. It would make it easier if all bookings just had them included in their rate.

While we were in Barbados we did go and look at many other hotels for possible future stays and based on what we saw, this hotel probably gives you the best bang for your buck. We enjoyed it so much that we've already booked three weeks for next January.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist804544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica C, Manager at South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear coldweathergirl.1


Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review of South Beach Hotel.

Thank you for highlighting South Beach's easy accessibility to many places and its recent renovation with the introduction of the rain showers and the upgrade of the bathroom amenities. Our pool deck has been upgraded as well with new loungers and umbrellas and furniture as well as our lobby.

Our restaurant manager has been made aware of your challenge with regards to the seating in the Swagg restaurant and has noted your recommendations for breakfast. A few low tables and chairs have been placed in the outdoor section of the restaurant.
Thank you for your recommendations.

We apologize for the issue with the beach chairs and will ensure that you do not experience this again.

It was certainly our pleasure to have you stay with us at South Beach Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2017!!!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

This hotel is done out very nice, its super clean and the service is very good. We had a room with a sea view which was lovely, you could not hear the road unless the doors are open.
The pool isn't huge, but its big enough with super comfy loungers and the beautiful beach is 2 minutes walk away!
I would recommend staying here and would also be back - the Raw Juice shop next door is perfect for breakfast and Chefette is good for lunch!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eveie_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica C, Manager at South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear eveie_b,


Thank you for reviewing South Beach Hotel.

South Beach Hotel has been recently renovated including the rooms and the public spaces such as the pool deck with the "super comfy" loungers. Accra beach which is one of the best beaches on the south coast is exactly as you stated 2 minutes walk away. South Beach is known for its location especially to this beach.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Thank you.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Stayed here may 5th for 9 nights with my family & friend had an amazing time this hotel is in a prime location everything you need is in walking distance. The rooms have been recently renovated stayed in a one bedroom suite wow very stylish .Staff are exceptional nothing is too much trouble.The most beautiful beach is just over the road.Will I be returning to this wonderful resort yes definitely .

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PurplePrincess11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica C, Manager at South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear PurplePrincess11,


We appreciate your warm and wonderful review!! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

We are happy that you had an "amazing time and you find the renovations stylish."'

South Beach hotel is definitely located in a "prime location" on the south coast of the island. It is very close to many bars, malls, convenience stores,restaurants and has easy access to transportation and you can literally cross the street to one of the best beaches on the island, Accra beach.

Our team's primary goal is to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and we have achieved this based on your description of the team as "exceptional." We thank you for this positive comment.

Thank you for choosing us for a return visit. We definitely look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We stayed for a week in a deluxe suite which literally came with everything you could possibly need for a weeks stay & I mean everything. Fully fitted kitchen, iron, hair dryer and toiletries etc.

There is a inventory to check and fill in upon arrival but this is normally placed on the side as you enter the room. We missed it but luckily everything was present & correct. If you don't fill it in and there are any discrepancies you may be liable for a charge.

The rooms are spacious and clean with a bright zesty modern feel to them. The shower is amazing, one of the best ive ever had. There was a cute welcome basket on arrival consisting of rum, key rings, water and local sweets. Although tap water is perfectly safe to drink it was a nice touch.

There is a refundable $500 BD deposit payable on arrival so make sure you take a credit card. The hotels bar and bistro are great and take cards also. There is also a tourist tax of $2 per day, although its not compulsory to pay it we were happy to pay..

Staff are great, very friendly and extremely helpful. The front desk staff will pretty much sort anything you need including arranging any trips. There is a small shopping precinct next to the hotel which has a cash point should you run short of cash.

The hotel is situated on one the main road so it can be busy but the local beach is a short stroll across the road and is a true oasis.

Because of where it is you will find the odd local who will be intent on trying to hastle you for money or to try and sell you something. Be polite and insistant and you will be fine.

All in all the hotel was great, I can highly recommend swag which is the bistro. Breakfast is nice although some days its a buffet other days you choose from the menu, Your bill will be discounted so theres nothing to pay.

Would go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica C, Manager at South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear Allen S,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of South Beach Hotel.

It is great to read that you liked your room especially the new showers and the new look. South Beach hotel has just undergone major renovations to all of its rooms and pool deck and now has a new contemporary appearance which many of our guests like yourself approve.

Thank you for taking the time on your visit to complete the inventory form, it really helps us with taking our inventory of the property. Thank you for participating.

South Beach is located ideally a "stone's throw away" from the best beach on the south coast, Accra beach and is in close proximity to many restaurants, bars, shopping areas and our capital Bridgetown.
Your contribution to the BDs$2.00 per night tourism fund is welcomed as it supports the less fortunate children across the island and the beautification of the island including this beach. Again thank you:)

Our front desk team are always happy to assist our guests with anything. We are pleased that you appreciated the little gift . It was certainly our pleasure.

Thank you for staying with us at South Beach and we hope to see you in the future soon.

Sincerely





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

March 16, Good hotel friendly staff great location rooms very good, clean, tea coffee topped up every day, breakfast a let down staff seemed as though they would rather not be there, not much choice often cold. but plenty of places to eat nearby. beach just across the road where the stall holders very friendly. did not have a problem with road noise. Also we could take our surf boards in to hotel for safety great. would we go back YES.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donnacarolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronica C, Manager at South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Dear donnacarolt,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of South Beach Hotel and for saying "YES" to returning.

Your summary of your stay with us is welcomed especially your thoughts about the rooms and the hotel's team and the complimentary coffee and tea in the rooms.

We apologize that the breakfast was a let down. We were able to address the issues discussed and we continue to seek new ways to improve our food quality, options, presentation and service. Thank you for your comment.

Our buffet breakfast currently includes eggs (can be scrambled, hard boiled or fried), ham or sausage or bacon, fruit selection – sliced, mixed fresh fruit salad or whole fruit selection, yoghurt, single serve cereal and a selection of pastries including bread for toast and coffee, tea and juice. There are times when we have a la carte which offers breakfast of a similar quality and plated.

South Beach hotel caters to all of our guests including those who have their surf boards and boogie boards and even some with bicycles. So we understand your needs.
We hope the surf was good and you had a chance to visit the East coast where most of our local surfers go. But if not we look forward to seeing you again in Barbados at South Beach.

Thank you again for all of your comments.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews