We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
42
70
35
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
70
35
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fridge freezer self catering fort royal beach bar hairdryer pans tv euros apartment terrace reception towels french airport car island guadeloupe
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2017

I visited Caraibes Royal from may 15th, to may 22nd, and my stay was absolutely incredible from start to end! I stayed in the bungalow which was huge, just for me, but that's only a plus. It was clean and nice, and with a great air condition! I was visiting my friend at the Fort Royal which is only like a 3 minutes walk from Caraibes Royal, so i wasn't staying much at my own hotel, except in the night. The only day i went to the pool, i had it all to myself! It's a beautiful and clean pool, and you just feel like you're in paradise! It's nice and quiet, which i like! The service in the reception is amazing as well! One day the nice receptionist, cut me some aloe vera, because i was sunburned. The other day he let me borrow his phone to call a local place, and he also called a cab for me when i had to go to the airport! All in all an amazing place, and i'll definitely recommend it!

The only downs were:
No airport transfer. The taxis are very expensive.
And no supermarket nearby. There's a souvenir place, and a pizza place that is sometimes open, but doesn't open until like 7pm.
But if you rent a car, all these "problems" will be solved.

So thank you for an amazing visit! I'll be back.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cæcilie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

My husband and I stayed at Caraibes Royal for 8 days on our holiday to Guadeloupe. We knew that the accommodation was self-catering (and thanks to reviews on here had packed washing-up liquid and a tea towel). The apartment was very clean and well-maintained. There was an outside kitchenette area (no oven, but good electric hob, fridge/freezer, microwave, crockery (no bowls), cutlery, pans etc.) and dining area. Inside the living area was spacious (TV, only in French, didn't use) and the bathroom was clean and functional, with a good supply of hot water.

The staff were friendly and although not all of them spoke English we didn't have any problems - they spoke enough or there was someone else on duty (we realised early on on our holiday that our French was not good enough for the area in general!). The welcome book/info in the apartment was all in French, so our dictionary came in handy.

While it said it was a 4* place on their website and I accept that 4* self-catering is different to a 4* resort, there were a couple of things that didn't seem very 4* : there were no bedside lamps in the apartment - we had to get up to turn the light off if we wanted to read before bed; there was no hairdryer; our mosquito net had been 'repaired' by tying a knot to cover the hole. None of these were drastically awful, but they didn't shout 4* at me. The info in the apartment suggested towels would be changed every three days. This didn't happen, and while I'm sure we could have asked, again, that's less than ideal. Although it was nice to know that staff weren't coming and going into the apartment during our stay, perhaps this could have been got around by them asking you to leave dirty towels on the terrace and replacing them from there.

The only major downside to the apartment was a lack of a safe in the room. We ended up hiding our passports creatively and carrying all our cash with us.

The pool was lovely and usually quiet and we loved the plants by our terrace - they attracted hummingbirds, lizards and the local chickens/cats who liked to visit us! We used the wi-fi quite a bit and apart from often having to log back in, it was absolutely fine.

We didn't try breakfast as it seemed expensive at 9 euros each; instead we drove into Deshaies everyday and bought pastries (and lunch and delicious cakes) at the bakery there.

We made use of the bar and restaurant at Fort Royal. The buffet there was a bit pricey at 29 euros each (and not an amazing selection, but the prawns were great!), but the beach bar serve pizza and other snacks all day (until midnight) at a much more reasonable price - this was a godsend when we arrived on a Sunday evening, severely jet-lagged and with all shops shut.

There was a small shop up the road which we visited once for food, and there's a Spar in Deshaies, but generally we stuck to popping into the Carrefour in Ste Rose and Boucan as these seemed cleaner and stocked better ranges of food.

Overall, Caraibes Royal did what we expected it to do - providing us with a clean, safe and pleasant place to stay while we explored the island and relaxed. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themadvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We arrived at about 9:30 PM on a Sunday after driving from the airport - an envelope for us was on a lit sign to the right of the [closed] reception window. In the envelope was a map of the grounds and information as where our "unit" was. Found it, the A/C was on, and in the fridge were cold glasses, a bottle of water and a bottle of the house fruit punch - nice touch! We were in an end unit, so on the one hand, little foot traffic by us, on the other hand the road was close by. Fortunately there is little motor traffic at night. Kitchen was "open air" on our own open roofed-over terrace - with a padlock on the fridge door. Interior was fine, clean and a bit dark. Bathroom was 100% functional with 4 towels, toilet, shower with almost instant hot water, and one roll of toilet paper (but we found you could ask for more at the Reception, and we'd brought an extra). Bedroom was where the A/C was, with remote controller, and a mozzie net over the double sized bed which was comfortable.

There was TV, but we never turned it on. Wi-Fi was slow and some days not working. The pool is quite nice, but cool. To be able to lock the door when leaving the unit, you had to turn off some of the electricity (esp to the A/C and wall outlets).

Staff were all very pleasant and as helpful as could be. Most did not speak much English but all gave it a good try. There was one staff there most days, Michael, who was more fluent in English, and who was very informative and helpful. It really does help, though, if you can learn some of the essentials of French ("restaurant French") before you go (and while you are there).

Judging by the parking lot, the place was full or nearly so, but it was pretty peaceful and quiet. The grounds are heavily planted with a great variety of bushes, plants and trees, which we found enjoyable.

Continental breakfast (extra cost) was OK, a bit pricey and you had to notify Reservation the day before. If you wanted an evening meal there, advanced notice was also required - we ate there our last nite, and while the food was good, it clearly had been prepared earlier and warmed for us. No one else appeared to eat evening meals there. Given the quality of restaurants 5-6K down the road in Deshaies, it was understandable. Of note, there is a small but quite complete grocery just down the road from the Royale - within walking distance. We found they had everything we wanted including baguettes and rum.

The nearby beaches (3-5 minute walk) were OK, but at least while we were there the surf was heavy enough to discourage swimming. Sand was brown. Better beaches a few minutes drive south.

All in all, we were quite satisfied that we were getting value for money, and everything we needed. If we were to return to Guadeloupe, we'd certainly give serious consideration to returning to The Royal.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

If you read what you are booking, you will know that this is a complex of self-catering apartments, with a pool and the potential to book breakfast.

Our apartment was large, with a nice bedroom that you could keep cool and mosquito free (important), a huge living room, which was nice to resort to in the evening before going to bed, and a terrace with kitchen, typical of the island. The luxurious vegetation gives you privacy and a wonderful atmosphere. The pool is a generous size and good for lengths and lounging, but not for diving (not that I wanted to). The staff are friendly and helpful. Our apartment benefited from being able to pick up the sound of the waves crashing on the nearest beach if the surf was up and of course the whole complex is by the Fort Royal Hotel, if you want to use their beach, bar or restaurant.

This was a great place for us for a 10 day stay, which gave us the freedom to explore the island, and to rest and recover when we got back to base. We loved it and we would go back.

There was good wifi coverage, particularly outdoors on the terrace. TV was France TV stations plus three island stations, but really, why would you want to watch much TV?

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jholland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

The first lie is that they are a 4 star hotel; they are not. They are an apart-hotel. They do not clean the rooms, if the wc paper is over, you need to go to the reception to request for some more; the problem is that the reception opening hours are very limited, and when you go there to ask, the receptionist is not there. During our stay, we spend 3 out of 4 days without warm water. We request a compensation, and we never got a reply back. The day of the check out, we wait an hour in the reception, between 10 and 11 and nobody was there to attend us. The pool is nice and the sorroundings too. The staff doesn't provide to many helpful advise. We booked a 2 person room and we paied almost 300 euros. As you can see in the picture attached, is more than double their tarifa for peak seasson. We booked through bookings, with cancellation allawance, but when we arrived, they've charged us all already, a very bad practice. Definetly.... think before booking there.
The only positive thing is that it is located in the most verge area of the island, and you have the best beaches you can find!!!

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews