We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
190
102
42
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
190
102
42
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch altan two nights evening meal seafood chowder haddock tory island visited this hotel bit dated relaxing break night stay our room was spacious a lovely stay bar menu staff were excellent well worth a visit porridge steak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2022 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights taking us in to the new year, the room, food and staff were amazing.

Been coming here for many a year now and would highly recommend it.

The views are second to none, so peaceful.

Regards
Francis

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank frankmW1212NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Thank you, Francis, for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay with us here at Óstán Loch Altan. I am delighted that you enjoy staying with us and that you appreciate the peace and serenity and the lovely scenery in the local area.
We look forward to having you back with us soon again.

Kindest regards

Seán Mc Elwee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2021

Awful staff,were not understanding at all
They would not serve us for last orders they said only one person can get served for one orders which is against human rights we are all equal not one awful experience would not go back again

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Aaronshamlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2021

We offered your group a last drink at midnight as the bar was closing early due to Covid restrictions. But some of your group wanted to buy multiple drinks at that stage which the staff were not prepared to give you and rightly so.
We also had to consider the rights of the other residents who had already gone to their rooms for a peaceful night's sleep.
You are always welcome to stay with us but we must enforce the Covid regulations to ensure the safety of guests and staff alike
Bhliain Úr mhór mhaith duit.

Le gach dea-mhéin
Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2021

The hotel seemed abandoned when we first arrived, nobody at the front desk or in the bar area. Felt a bit haunted, like an eighties horror movie-set.

After a while, we unfortunately got checked-in. In fairness, the room was adequate, nothing fancy, but clean and respectable. We originally booked due to the location near the Derryveagh Mountains and weren't disappointed in this regard.

We were however disappointed with the service after we'd checked in.

The food in the restaurant was decent, but we kept getting the impression we were putting the staff out just by being there. We felt this throughout our stay. I work in a customer-facing role myself and understand the difficulties especially during COVID, but we didn't find any need for it.

The worst was when we were checking out. Breakfast started at 8.30am and we had to leave at 9am for a booking. We went down for breakfast shortly after it started and again the place looked abandoned. Nobody on the desk, and nobody in the breakfast area. We waited, foolishly, for fifteen minutes thinking someone would come out.

Eventually we decided we didn't have anymore time and just needed to check out so we could get on the road. With nobody on the front desk we had to wander around looking for a staff member. Opening doors and ringing bells in the otherwise dark and silent hotel it did begin to feel a bit ghostly. Would we ever check out? Or would we be forced to wander these halls forever like a pair of poltergeists spooking staff members into providing services their customers had paid for?

There seemed to be a lot of craic happening in the kitchen, we were glad someone was having fun, so we rapped on the door. A few minutes later an inconvenienced-looking staff member appeared. To our joy, she was not transparent.

It still took another few minutes for somebody to arrive at the front desk, we were getting pretty annoyed at this point as we were about to run late. The poor lady who had to check us out had no idea how to work the computer, or the card machine. It was painful. She almost charged us for a one night stay when we'd stayed two.

At that time a staff member came in, looking like she was starting her shift for the day, and remarked at how early we were checking out. It was around 9am! Hardly unusual.

All-in-all I'd struggle to recommend this hotel. Despite not asking for much we felt unwelcome by the staff and disappointed with the overall service. Would have explained our dissatisfaction to somebody if they were available. Perhaps a Ouija board could give some answers.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Service
1  Thank jamesmY8556SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

I am grateful that you took time out of your busy schedule to post quite a lengthy review of your very recent visit to Ostán Loch Altan.
Ii is very regrettable that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not find any positives during your time with us.
Yes, our hotel, along with most other hotels in the country, has been much quieter than is usual in the first week of December this year. Both COVID and Storm Barra had combined to make it very difficult to stay open at all in the past few weeks.
I have found over the the years that our staff has always attracted very high praise from our guests when other aspects of the business might have been found wanting. The many hundreds of Tripadvisor and other reviews will testify to that fact.. So I was very surprised when I read that the bulk of your criticism was directed at some of our staff members. To that end, I decided to check the front of house cameras. The amount of time that elapsed from your arrival at the front door to checking in with Shauna at Reception was 1 minute and 2 seconds. The alleged waiting time on other occasions was similarly exaggerated. We always welcome fair and balanced criticism but your feedback on this occasion does not stand up to scrutiny.
I hope that your next visit will prove to be a much more pleasant one.

Le gach dea-mhéin

Seán Mc Elwee
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2021

First trip away from the covid outbreak and we were a bit apprehensive.

The minute we walked in the door that disappeared immediately. I have to say the hotel takes cleanliness very serious. Sanitiser everywhere and everyone masked up.
Everything is spotlessly clean and the welcome, friendliness, and attitude of staff is great to see. It seems a happy place to work in which says a lot.
All the Staff are local and a lovely bunch of people. There are plenty of younger staff who will go out of their way to help you and nothing is too much trouble.
Rooms are spotless and comfortable and the food is perfect. We couldn't fault any of it. It was good to see alcohol prices stayed the same since the start of covid and weren't hiked like the majority of places.
A big shout to Shauna and Marie at Reception as two nicer people you couldn't meet.
We heve been here numerous times previously and it is our favourite hotel in Ireland.We have never had anything to complain about.

We will be back soon.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive and comprehensive review of your recent return visit to Ostán Loch Altan.
I am very pleased that everything was to your satisfaction once again and that the staff provided you with such a high level of service. Marie and Shauna are very pleased that you singled them out for a particular mention on this occasion.
Your favourite hotel in Ireland? What an honour. Let's hope that we can continue to live up to your high expectations in the years ahead..

Thank you again with kindest regards

Seán Mc Elwee
General Mnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2021 via mobile

Stayed here on the 9th of December for two nights.
Had a lovely meal on the first night. Couldn’t fault the food.
On the morning of checking out, we came down for breakfast at 8.40 (it is served from 8.30-1030). There was nobody at the breakfast room, and we heard all the staff in the kitchen.
We sat and waited awkwardly for 15 minutes before giving up. We had to check out anyway as we had somewhere to be. We rang the bell a few times at the desk and nobody came. In the end I had to go and knock the kitchen door to get someone’s attention. The woman who came out didn’t know how to work the computer or the card machine and it was all very awkward.
All in all we were made to feel rather unwelcome throughout our stay, and like we were constantly putting the staff out.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Ostán Loch Altan.
It appears that you enjoyed most of your stay apart from the morning of your departure. Unfortunately, the receptionist who normally begins the morning shift at 8.30 a.m., was unavoidably delayed on that morning. So one of the back of house staff tried to multi -task by checking you out. Hence the frustration on your part for which I apologise.
I also checked the cameras regarding your alleged long delay in the breakfast room. What may have felt like a 15 minute wait to you was , in fact, a much shorter period.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future..

Kindest regards

Seán Mc Elwee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews