We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
190
102
42
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
190
102
42
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch altan two nights evening meal seafood chowder haddock tory island visited this hotel bit dated relaxing break night stay our room was spacious a lovely stay bar menu staff were excellent well worth a visit porridge steak
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2021

Friendly, helpful and so pleased to return. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable, the food was plentiful and excellent, and the hotel has a lovely welcoming atmosphere. It is great location for windsurfing, and the hotels is particularly attentive, making us feel so much at home.

Room tip: all rooms comfortable
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99vikip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

I an very pleased that you you felt at home during your recent stay with us here at Ostan Loch Altan. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the welcoming atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff, the high quality of the food and the accommodation and the suitability of the hotel to explore this part of Donegal.
We look forward to having you back with us soon again.

Kindest regards
Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2021

I stayed at Loch Altan for 2 weeks as part of a windsurfing course. I thought it was great. The room was clean and well-kept. The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to help, (sorting out a room to help dry wetsuits). The food was excellent with a great atmosphere in the bar. Loch Altan is in a great location - really scenic. I'm looking forward to returning.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rowanw863
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very grateful to you for posting such a positive review of visit during the windsurfing course with Peter Hart. We were very pleased to offer you a warm area where you could dry your wet suits during the night so that they were nice and dry for the following days surfing.
We look forward to your return visit.

Kindest regards
Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2021

The staff are fantastic, great service from everyone throughout my stay

Rooms were basic but very much reflected in the price so no complaints there at all, great location

Is an excellent hotel for the price and would definitely recommend

Room tip: try to get away from main road if staying on a Friday night!
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomgZ8656BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay with us here at Óstán Loch Altan. I am very pleased that the staff served you well and that you got good value for money.
We hope to meet with you soon again.

Kindest regards
Seán Mc Elwee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

A one night stay in Loch Altán hotel before a trip to Tory Island.
We had been advised in advance that they would be unable to provide evening meals and they did provide a list of places on arrival. However the two closest restaurants were booked out so I would advise anyone traveling here to book their evening meal in advance.

The hotel itself has a lovely bar, dining area (for breakfast only) and reception area.

The room was very small and a bit dated and we've definitely slept in more comfortable beds, but we were only here for one night and it was clean with piping hot water in the shower.

Covid protocols were adhered to which was reassuring.

But it's due to the staff here that it's impossible to give this hotel a bad review. They were all very nice, friendly and professional and were more than happy to converse with us in Irish.

Go raibh maith agaibh uilig.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cearbhallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

Thank you for posting such a positive and comprehensive review of your recent stay here at Óstán Loch Altan.
Tâimid thar a bheith buíoch díot agus súil agam tú a fheiceáil go luath arís.
Thank you again.

Kindest regards
Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

This was our second time to stay in this hotel. We had a great time. Rooms are basic but spotless. If you are used to 4 star accommodation maybe it is not for you. But if you want to stay in a VERY reasonable priced hotel in the heart of Donegal go for it. The staff are amazing and so friendly. We had food on 2 nights in hotel and it was lovely. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for value for money, base for exploring Donegal, great craic and it was so obvious they were aware of covid regulations. Thank you Seán and all your staff for a lovely break.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank J3363BVanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Mc Elwee, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us for a second time.
No, we are not a 4 star hotel. We are classed as a 3 star but we do always try to provide genuine hospitality and a very warm welcome from our staff who are all locally sourced.
Thank you for giving us a very positive review and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Kindest regards
Seán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews