We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,097 results
Traveller rating
766
194
86
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
766
194
86
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden sandstone restaurant afternoon tea lough rynn castle main building drawing room beautiful grounds wedding party public rooms next morning bar food set menu second to none beautiful hotel from start to finish baronial hall top class
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,097 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Myself and my husband had a very enjoyable weekend at Lough Rynn Castle.
We arrived early and our room was ready. Check-in was very efficient and we were shown to our room by a very polite gentleman. Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were delicious. Walks in the castle grounds excellent. Would definiely recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 17holiday1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughRynn, General Manager at Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear 17holiday1234

Thank you for your review, following your recent experience at Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend break at the hotel and that you got the opportunity to explore the grounds and gardens as well as dining in our Sandstone Restaurant.
Thank you for your recommendation, I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ciaran Reidy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Just heaven nothing else to say so chilled and the staff are unbelievable seriously everyone deserves a piece of heaven , love from is to short ❤️❤️❤️❤️it is sooooo relaxing and easy going you could walk in with s track suit on and still feel comfortable not many 3star hotels can say that not talked by about 4star , seriously it is beautiful. And I’m still here don’t want to leave , no big TVs in the back ground . Staff are excellent on levels above and beyond the call of duty . Cormac thanks for making out short stay great thanks again . Food excellent I can’t speak highly enough about this place I WILL be back . Thank you LOUGH RYNN CASTLE

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pattyUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughRynn, General Manager at Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear pattyUlster

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. We are very proud of our team at the hotel, who go above and beyond in delivering customer service.
I have passed your comments onto the team ind in particular Cormac
Thank you for choosing Lough Rynn as your destination of choice, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future. please check out our special offers on loughrynn.ie

Kind Regards

Ciaran Reidy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I received a gift voucher from a friend who had a very good experience at Lough Rynn Castle. I was delighted too. Travelling with children is not always easy. The staff was very friendly, making the little ones happy and welcomed. Lough Rynn Castle has less than fifty rooms, feeling very cosy and personal. The family room was spacious and comfortable, a result of an extraordinary restoration work, offering modern comfort in a historical building. Dinner and breakfast were delicious, making justice to multiple awards. A walk in the nature trail and walled gardens revealed additional fine restoration works and exemplary maintenance.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughRynn, General Manager at Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Breno G

Thank you for your very kind review of Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens. I am delighted to read that you were visiting our Estate following a recommendation and that you truly enjoyed your stay.
We are proud of our achievements at the Hotel, especially in Culinary Excellence, where our Kitchen team are very focused on quality and using local ingredients.
We hope you have the opportunity to return again soon.

Kind Regards

Ciaran Reidy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Apologies for the lengthy review but I have to attempt do this place some sort of justice.

To begin, I absolutely LOVE this place. We have stayed here twice in the past 12 months and we absolutely love it. Both stays were 3 nights so we got a great feeling for the place. The staff are fantastic and go above and beyond to ensure a comfortable stay every time. On check in you are shown to your room by an always friendly face. No request is too big or small. The rooms are perfect and tastefully decorated with all required facilities (a great iron and a very good hairdryer in each room!). Both rooms we stayed in were maintained to an excellent standard and are very clean.

During our last stay in February we had a problem with a broken handle on the shower which was fixed within an hour of our call to reception. The room service menu is excellent and reasonably priced for the excellent quality food. Rooms are spacious and temperature control is excellent in the rooms. Beds are very comfortable and an excellent nights sleep is guaranteed. Whichever room you choose to stay in, you will be not be disappointed.

The menu in the restaurant is fabulous. The service is excellent and the menu is always explained very well. There is a choice of 2 menus, both equally excellent. Each menu is well explained by staff and they are very happy to answer any questions. Don't be afraid to try new things from the menu and be prepared for an excellent meal. Food is also available in the bar and drawing rooms which is also excellent.

There are a number of areas to relax in the castle. If you are going for a relaxing few days, midweek is probably the best option in terms of getting a nice space to sit as it can be busy at the weekend. The hall and drawing rooms have a fabulous atmosphere to relax day or night. The gardens are stunning and are a lovely walk to build up an appetite. Meticulously maintained summer or winter.

All food and drinks during the stay are put on the room so it is very handy not to have to worry about carrying money during the day or evenings. Also, make sure you treat yourself to Afternoon tea on at least one day. It is very tasty and will fill you for hours. It is the best afternoon tea I have ever had.

Definitely my favourite place in Ireland. Looking forward to our next stay. Worth every single cent.

P.S. If you book your stay while there is a wedding you may be staying in the lodge house. It is literally a 1 minute walk into the main castle and the standard and quality is the same of that in the main castle. There was 2 weddings during our first stay and it is absolutely no problem and has very little impact on your stay as the reception is in a different section of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TrionaD1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughRynn, General Manager at Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear TrionaD1992

Thank you for taking the time to share your Lough Rynn Castle experience here on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to read that on each occasion you have stayed with us, you have enjoyed a truly exceptional experience. Thank you for the detail of your review, you have complimented all the services of the hotel and staff and for this we are very grateful.
I am very conscious of the choices that are available to guests in today's market and we are thankful to read that Lough Rynn Castle is your favorite place. We work tirelessly to develop our own service and services in delivering a unique experience tailored to Lough Rynn Castle where it is a joy to read your appreciation of all we offer at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, please do not hesitate to make contact via enquiries@loughrynn.ie or check out our special offers on loughrynn.ie.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran Reidy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Just checking out after our one night stay in this beautiful hotel, was meant to come for my birthday beginning of March but due to being snowed in at home couldn’t make it. Well was worth waiting for, on arrival check in was fast and friendly, room was nice, just next time would like a room with a view as we were in attic and could not see out. Had dinner in the award winning restaurant and was lovely, especially because of our waitress Karima from France, lovely professional but most of all so humorous and made our dinner great !!!! Thank you Karima and all the staff were so friendly. I have only one negative and that is the smell of smoke from the open fires was overpowering. The drawing rooms are so lovely to relax and have a coffee and read papers. Would we recommend absolutely.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PatrickJOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughRynn, General Manager at Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear PatrickJOM

Thank you for taking to the time to review your recent visit to Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens. I am delighted you got the opportunity to re-schedule your booking and celebrate your birthday at the hotel, all be it a few weeks later. As a listed property there are many uniqueness's throughout the hotel and our bedrooms, Our main house bedrooms provide the best view of the estate, but need to be booked some time in advance to guarantee availability. When you are next visiting, please do not hesitate to make contact directly and we will do our best to allocate you a room within this area.
I am glad that you enjoyed your dining experience and the service you received and that you found your experience relaxing.
I also appreciate you comments with regard to our open fires. The open fires in the entrance hall and Baronial Ball do provide a welcome and warmth to the areas.
Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you re-visit again soon.

Kind Regards

Ciaran Reidy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews