We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Bera
Nearby Hotels
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
King's Abode(Ranakpur)
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Roopam Resort(Ranakpur)
US$12
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Aodhi Hotel(Kumbhalgarh)
US$69
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahua Bagh(Kumbhalgarh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kumbha Bagh(Kumbhalgarh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
243
30
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
30
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthakur baljeet singhhis sonleopard safariother guestsevening safariold world charmgreat hospitalityhome stayhome away from homeroyal familieslovely experiencebefore dinnertheir natural habitateach guestan amazing placeoff the beaten trackbygone era
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

When i say this has been the best trip of my life, there is no exaggeration. Getting to stay in a castle with such great royal heritage was a dream come true. This place has great history. And to top that up, the host Mr. Yaduveer Singh Bera did the best job possible in explaining his ancestry and the royal culture. His hospitality is what made our trip memorable.
We had our safari and were able to spot three leopards in two safaris. We visited jawai dam to spot crocodiles and antelopes. The arrangement at jawai dam was beautiful. Try getting your bookings on full moon nights. The view is lovely.
The breakfast, lunch and dinner, nothing could have been better.
This is an experience. Not just a trip.

Room Tip: Book early. No room is bad. They have just 5 rooms. And all are classy.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Castle Bera undoubtedly will continue to remain as one of the top destination holiday places I’ve ever visited. Superb stay and even better hospitality by the entire team. Hats off to the management and owners of this magnificent property which till date continues to leave us spell bound by offering us one astounding experience after another. Take it from us, you will leave with a heavy heart wanting more. Do visit! Loveliest place ever.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Madhura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Castle Bera was a real highlight of our month in India, we loved the delicious food, warm hospitality, exciting Gypsy jeep rides, stunning landscapes and of course the leopards. The warm welcome on our rather late arrival with flowers and tea set the tone for a terrific three day adventure.
Baljeet is the consummate host and having grown up here knows every rock and leopard in the area. He is keen to come with us on our jeep safaris. We drive way out into an exciting rocky landscape and round the base of a huge outcrop of mottled grey rock with sparsely scattered bushes and cacti over its surface. The jeep stops on the steep side of the hill. And there is a leopard lying just on top of the rocks.
By the end of the morning we have watched two young but grown leopards from various vantage points and seen countless peacocks and eagles.
Later in the day Fatheram, the chief helper at Castle Bera arranged a walk around Bera village taking us to meet so many interesting people - a Camel breeder, sheep herds, pottery workshop and his own house too where we enjoyed tea. There are huge lake areas too with great populations of water birds.
Time passed so quickly and we were really sad to be checking out at the end of our stay.
Thank you all for making our time at Castle Bera so special.

Room Tip: Room 2 is our favourite.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We arrived at Castle Bera after an eight-hour car journey and, even though the other guests had already left for the evening safari, and we hadn't booked to go out until the next morning, the Castle's owner, "Winku", offered to drive us out to see if we could find a leopard. Thank goodness we said "Yes." We had an amazing evening, joining a couple of the other guests and finding a beautiful leopard amongst the rocks. Winku, his son, Yadu, and their jeep drivers know just where to go to find these superb creatures. Special thanks to Yadu for using my husband's memory card in his own camera, when my husband's was playing up, so we could have some memorable shots of the leopardess.
My husband bought the same camera at the first opportunity!!
To my surprise, the safari continued even after the sun had set and we spotted more leopards in a different location, helped by the flashlights which the drivers and guides used. I don't know how they spotted (!) the leopards in the dark, but they are so familiar with the terrain and the animals' habits that they do know where to look. We saw more leopards on the evening safari the following day, too.
When I'm reviewing a hotel, I don't normally say so much about the activities or sights that are around, but Castle Bera is renowned for its leopard-spotting and, rightly, has a good reputation for its success rate. It's probably what most guests hope to see when they visit.
Having said that, we also enjoyed a village walk near to the Castle, full of opportunities to meet local people at work and leisure and with some great photo opportunities. It felt very real:- not at all contrived.
Our room and bathroom at the hotel were spacious, clean and well equipped. The bed was comfy and we slept well. Wifi was a bit hit and miss during our stay, but not a surprise considering we were out in the middle of nowhere: and not a problem for us.

The other thing that makes Castle Bera special is the hospitality and kindness of Winku and his son, Yadu. They create a friendly, relaxed environment for guests to enjoy. Sitting in the garden in the evening before dinner (which was served in the dining room and was delicious), enjoying a sundowner (or two, if Winku had his way!) and chatting to other guests from India and abroad, was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Our original intention when we booked this place was to stay in another heritage place during our one month loop around Rajasthan. In the end the accommodation itself was the least important reason to stay here, but I don't mean the castle itself wasn't nice, we had a great room that was hundreds of years old with very old frescos on the ceiling and stone pillars. It is EVERYTHING ELSE however that will stay in our memories for a very long time. We were excited to learn during our booking process that the price included game drives to see the leopards. Turns out this place is THE best place on the planet to see leopards and indeed was part of a Discovery Channel film called "Jawai - India's Leopard Hills". We stayed here two nights and had four game drives altogether, each about 3 to 4 hours. We saw leopards on every drive and they tried to show us different areas on each drive which is great because the scenery around here, especially near the Dam area is stunning, almost other-world like. So, the place is nice, the scenery beautiful and the leopard spotting is almost guaranteed. Now put on top of this the owner, Mr Baljit Singh and his son Yaduveer, of royal lineage, who are both passionate about leopards, Bera itself and incredibly interesting to talk to. The food was very good too and the drinks by the fire pit in the evening before the meal were great too. I could easily have stayed here longer if we'd had time, but it's given us a reason to come back I guess. This place is an absolute bargain, so do come and stay here for beautiful scenery, amazing leopard spotting, a great castle and spending your time there with royalty is always nice too!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building, either top floor or room under.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews