We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Minneriya National Park
from US$44.00
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
Reviews (1,711)
Filter reviews
1,711 results
Traveller rating
972
493
158
52
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
493
158
52
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild elephants sri lanka dry season water buffalo jeep safari their natural habitat spotted deer bird life late afternoon open jeep entrance fee asian elephants baby elephant love elephants close range elephants including amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,711 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This is the place where elephant gathering.if you want to see the elephant this is best place in Srilanka.. largest elephant gathering in Srilanka.. make sure to confirm Sunny days

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Supun U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Despite the hundreds of other vehicles, witnessing the gathering of about three hundred wild elephants was a magical experience. We saw water buffalo, peacocks, rabbits and many birds, too. The ride can be bumpy and dusty, and it is advisable to bring plenty of drinking water and a hat. Our driver was very skilled.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank nagaf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I ha been to many safari parks in Africa, I Nadia and Sri Lanka and this beats them all for elephants. Not much else of great note - many birds of prey,buffalo and monkeys, but the herds of elephants with lots of. Abbie’s is awesome in the pm when they come to the water.
We saw hundreds and they were all in very good condition. So if that’s what you are looking for come here!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 777markd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

There were a lot of cars the day we went and all the drivers stayed close together when they saw elephants.
You need to control your driver to go a bit further even when there is less or no elephant : the park when you're almost alone is beautiful and just before sunset the light is amazing.
The experience is not very expensive and for us was halfway wonderful !

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank catherinew1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I'm giving this a 'poor review' purely because there are far too many jeeps allowed into the park. There are road pathways which don't have to be used. The elephants natural environment is not respected in such a way the jeeps can drive extremely close to them. We witnessed a couple a incidents where the elephants became agitated trying to protect their babies and charged at a jeep. We left soon after, one less jeep in the park would be better we felt. The park opening time are 6-12 & 2-6. Two hrs free from diesel jeeps should be extended for the welfare of the elephants. Wouldn't recommend.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank LisaA196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews