We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$204
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveller rating
933
277
111
40
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
933
277
111
40
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabeautiful hotelmorning roomjacuzzi bathgeorgian roompublic roomsspa facilitiesrobes and slipperslovely groundshigh standardsconesfirst classwedding receptionwedding guestsevening mealboth nightsdining room
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

With family staying in holiday accommodation nearby, we were looking for a base in the area, and Doxford Hall Hotel which seemed the obvious choice proved to be ideal, and we already intend to return next summer.With an executive room with views over the beautiful gardens and with every comfort we required, the experience exceeded our expectations. From the moment we received our welcome from the reception staff, all of whom we met were professional and most helpful, our stay was relaxed and enjoyable, and a celebration dinner in the George Runciman restaurant memorable and worth the price which was as expected for one awarded 2 AA rosettes. Full English breakfast could not be faulted other than the delay in the arrival of the cooked part, mainly because most of us all arrived simultaneously late on, but felt under no pressure to hurry up and finish our breakfasts.Although not a challenge for your average satnav, the maze of country roads and lanes did take a bit of time to master, and there could have been more signs on approaching roads to indicate exactly where the hotel is. However, we were not disappointed when we finally reached the hotel, which for us was the perfect place for our stay in Northumbria.

Room Tip: The executive rooms have superb views, but I would imagine because of the setting, every room would have a nice outlook.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayfarerMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

went for two nights in July, very helpful staff, comfortable large bed, and high quality food. There seems to be a problem in this part of the world, if windows are open flies get in (had this in Durham as well). Reception had fly spray to give out, problem solved.
We had room 17, only thing was that it is above the restaurant so we were woken 7ish by noise from there. Other rooms may be quieter. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

The wedding event was booked by the bride and groom. Around 70 guests for the ceremony and 120 for the evening. We arrived the day before stayed in luxurious accommodation for the two nights. Ben and Sophie were on hand to deal with all my preparations for the upcoming wedding. Professionalism personified! Nothing was a problem. Guests who arrived were shown to the morning room where we met and gathered for a few drinks. The spa and beauty salon was used by the ladies and the pool enjoyed by other friends and family. I opted for the bar and entertaining late arrivals. Later a very good dinner was enjoyed in the restaurant.
Morning of the wedding.
We all thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast served in the restaurant (this was later transformed into the wedding venue) and a nice stroll around the grounds.
Now it was time to begin preparing for the ceremony, ladies having makeup done and hairdos. I pestered Ben about the projecter which I used to show photos of the bride and groom from early childhood to the moments before their wedding day. This was set up in the morning room then transferred to the wedding reception room. No problem for Ben and the excellent staff. Everything was carried out without fuss in an unobtrusuve manner.
The whole day went off perfectly and the professional photographs are a delight.
Doxford Hall is a very nice place to hold a wedding and any other special occasion you may wish to celebrate. I cannot thank the staff and management enough for going the extra yard to make a very special occasion magnificent. Well done to all concerned and I will certainly return for a few nights to relax. Anna and Andrew Swan have the very best memories of their special day all thanks to Doxford Hall and the wonderful staff. Many thanks and good wishes to you all.

Peter Welsh
Valerie Shaw

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic base for exploring the Northumbrian Coast. The staff are very friendly yet totally professional. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and only a few miles from the stunning coast. The food in the restaurant is delicious. Thank you. We had a brilliant stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank from_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Stayed over after a wedding. I was looking forward to visiting Doxford Hall and it exceeded my expectations. The room was lovely, nice and clean, and so spacious. Food served at the wedding was lovely, and the breakfast was amazing too. The decor in the hotel was lovely, and the setting of the hotel was beautiful. It was worth every penny, and I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbeyR94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews