We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Visited for one night last weekend and can really recommend this hotel- so much so we are already planning a second visit!

We travelled as a couple with a 2.5year old, and were a bit nervous whether the hotel would be suitable for a young child. We couldn't have been more wrong- staff were so friendly and accommodating especially the breakfast team (Dan/Claudio), the pool was quiet, clean and warm (perfect for a little swimmer) and the beautiful grounds/maze were tonnes of fun for him to explore!

The hotel itself was immaculate, the room large and spacious and a delicious breakfast in the morning with so much choice. We didn't manage a visit to the Spa, only just the pool and hot tub/sauna which offered plenty of towels, as well as gowns and slippers for guests. We stayed in room 9 which we would recommend as its only a 30 second walk to the Spa area.

Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Corridor rooms 6-10 shortest walk to pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northeast19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

With family staying in holiday accommodation nearby, we were looking for a base in the area, and Doxford Hall Hotel which seemed the obvious choice proved to be ideal, and we already intend to return next summer.With an executive room with views over the beautiful gardens and with every comfort we required, the experience exceeded our expectations. From the moment we received our welcome from the reception staff, all of whom we met were professional and most helpful, our stay was relaxed and enjoyable, and a celebration dinner in the George Runciman restaurant memorable and worth the price which was as expected for one awarded 2 AA rosettes. Full English breakfast could not be faulted other than the delay in the arrival of the cooked part, mainly because most of us all arrived simultaneously late on, but felt under no pressure to hurry up and finish our breakfasts.Although not a challenge for your average satnav, the maze of country roads and lanes did take a bit of time to master, and there could have been more signs on approaching roads to indicate exactly where the hotel is. However, we were not disappointed when we finally reached the hotel, which for us was the perfect place for our stay in Northumbria.

Room Tip: The executive rooms have superb views, but I would imagine because of the setting, every room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayfarerMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

went for two nights in July, very helpful staff, comfortable large bed, and high quality food. There seems to be a problem in this part of the world, if windows are open flies get in (had this in Durham as well). Reception had fly spray to give out, problem solved.
We had room 17, only thing was that it is above the restaurant so we were woken 7ish by noise from there. Other rooms may be quieter. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

The wedding event was booked by the bride and groom. Around 70 guests for the ceremony and 120 for the evening. We arrived the day before stayed in luxurious accommodation for the two nights. Ben and Sophie were on hand to deal with all my preparations for the upcoming wedding. Professionalism personified! Nothing was a problem. Guests who arrived were shown to the morning room where we met and gathered for a few drinks. The spa and beauty salon was used by the ladies and the pool enjoyed by other friends and family. I opted for the bar and entertaining late arrivals. Later a very good dinner was enjoyed in the restaurant.
Morning of the wedding.
We all thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast served in the restaurant (this was later transformed into the wedding venue) and a nice stroll around the grounds.
Now it was time to begin preparing for the ceremony, ladies having makeup done and hairdos. I pestered Ben about the projecter which I used to show photos of the bride and groom from early childhood to the moments before their wedding day. This was set up in the morning room then transferred to the wedding reception room. No problem for Ben and the excellent staff. Everything was carried out without fuss in an unobtrusuve manner.
The whole day went off perfectly and the professional photographs are a delight.
Doxford Hall is a very nice place to hold a wedding and any other special occasion you may wish to celebrate. I cannot thank the staff and management enough for going the extra yard to make a very special occasion magnificent. Well done to all concerned and I will certainly return for a few nights to relax. Anna and Andrew Swan have the very best memories of their special day all thanks to Doxford Hall and the wonderful staff. Many thanks and good wishes to you all.

Peter Welsh
Valerie Shaw

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic base for exploring the Northumbrian Coast. The staff are very friendly yet totally professional. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and only a few miles from the stunning coast. The food in the restaurant is delicious. Thank you. We had a brilliant stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank from_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
4.7 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
12.6 km away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
26.4 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
10.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
38.5 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range: €96 - €256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing