We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$124
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$210
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$138
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$168
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,367)
Filter reviews
1,367 results
Traveller rating
929
270
110
40
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
929
270
110
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabeautiful hotelmorning roomjacuzzi bathgeorgian roompublic roomsdrawing roomspa facilitiescountry houserobes and slippershigh standardsconesfirst classwedding receptiondining roomboth nightswedding guests
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,367 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This was the fanciest place we stayed in on our trip up the Northumberland coast and through Scotland. It was everything you would hope it would be -- luxurious without being pretentious or stuffy. We had one of the converted stable rooms set a few hundred yards from the main hall. It was a very spacious room with a super comfortable bed and a modern, luxurious bathroom. We enjoyed having a drink from the bar in the evening and sitting in the lounge. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip - lots of good options and well cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We gave ourselves a little treat in the middle of our Northumberland holiday and we're not disappointed with this hotel. Very part of the hotel was well presented, well decorated and clean. Staff were so welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The pool and spa facilities were also well maintained and clean. We had a full body massage in the twin treatment room and they were very good.
We ate in the restaurant and were blown away with the very high standard of food.
Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claracluzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for our wedding anniversary and could not have been treated better. From the warm welcome to the sumptuous bedrooms and bathroom everything was fantastic. The grounds are spectacular, what a wonderful setting! The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Superb setting and great luxury for this very peaceful retreat. Beautifully presented the corridors and rooms are all very well laid out. We had a room over the arch looking toward the front door and grounds. Big spacious room, very comfortable bed. Great wi-fi. Super bathroom but please note that none of the jacuzzi's in the hotel or the rest of the chain are working due to health and safety concerns. Shower could do with instructions!

Grounds are good to walk around and the gym and pool looked very good. Of the two night's the first day's breakfast was a little chaotic (hence only 4 stars). Waited with another couple to be seated for five minutes and we were not even acknowledged whilst standing there. Had to wait over 25 minutes for the hot breakfast. once ordered as we had to wait until another breakfast room was served. Staff seemed to be stressed and under pressure and short of staff. The second day was better.

For this amount of luxury we paid a reasonable price. Very handy for Cheviots, Seahouses, Beadnell and Alnmouth. Or you could just go and relax in the hotel and its grounds!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have views of the grounds
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Had originally stayed there when it opened about 8 years ago. Then it was a brilliant experience, and we met the then owner Brian Burnie, who later sold the hotel and put all the money into a charity to help others
We always remembered him and thought it would be good to revisit.
WOW, what a change. We didn't even recognise the interior. Whoever altered and extended has made a fantastic job.
The food still remains superb and the staff excellent.
We used the Spa facilities and the pool and all were really good.
On the food side, the quality was good and the service in the restaurant was exceptional. A particular thank you to Laura, who when we had a query sorted it it out professionally and speedily. Definitely a good member of staff to have.
If you are eating there, try the cheese board, not to be forgotten.

Room Tip: We were late booking and were left with one of the Ground Floor accessible rooms. Good views and very quiet. Would ask for it again!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews