We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner,Bed and Breakfast stay”
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We stayed one night on a Sunday Dinner and Breakfast package. We used the Hotel as the first night of aTour around Scotland. Before you enter Scotland Bamburgh Castle and Holy Island are well worth a visiting. We had an upgrade to an exec room, this was nicely decorated in a classic style which fitted the Country House Style of the hotel. The refurbishment of this country estate hotel is first clas and high quality. The highlight was the Dinner in the restaurant. Excellent food and high quality silver service.
We are planning to visit again for a more relaxing 3 day Autumn break ( another special offer). Overall highly recommended

Room Tip: The dinner packages are good value, you get £40pp allowance, excellent silver service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonathan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

This was the fanciest place we stayed in on our trip up the Northumberland coast and through Scotland. It was everything you would hope it would be -- luxurious without being pretentious or stuffy. We had one of the converted stable rooms set a few hundred yards from the main hall. It was a very spacious room with a super comfortable bed and a modern, luxurious bathroom. We enjoyed having a drink from the bar in the evening and sitting in the lounge. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip - lots of good options and well cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We gave ourselves a little treat in the middle of our Northumberland holiday and we're not disappointed with this hotel. Very part of the hotel was well presented, well decorated and clean. Staff were so welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The pool and spa facilities were also well maintained and clean. We had a full body massage in the twin treatment room and they were very good.
We ate in the restaurant and were blown away with the very high standard of food.
Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claracluzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for our wedding anniversary and could not have been treated better. From the warm welcome to the sumptuous bedrooms and bathroom everything was fantastic. The grounds are spectacular, what a wonderful setting! The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Superb setting and great luxury for this very peaceful retreat. Beautifully presented the corridors and rooms are all very well laid out. We had a room over the arch looking toward the front door and grounds. Big spacious room, very comfortable bed. Great wi-fi. Super bathroom but please note that none of the jacuzzi's in the hotel or the rest of the chain are working due to health and safety concerns. Shower could do with instructions!

Grounds are good to walk around and the gym and pool looked very good. Of the two night's the first day's breakfast was a little chaotic (hence only 4 stars). Waited with another couple to be seated for five minutes and we were not even acknowledged whilst standing there. Had to wait over 25 minutes for the hot breakfast. once ordered as we had to wait until another breakfast room was served. Staff seemed to be stressed and under pressure and short of staff. The second day was better.

For this amount of luxury we paid a reasonable price. Very handy for Cheviots, Seahouses, Beadnell and Alnmouth. Or you could just go and relax in the hotel and its grounds!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have views of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
4.7 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
12.6 km away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
26.4 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
10.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,095 reviews
10.7 km away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range: €96 - €249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing