We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, bad for adults.”
Review of Explorers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Explorers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I had initially booked this hotel for 4 nights and paid €90 euro per night which is a fair price for a hotel of this standard. Two days before our trip Villages Natures , cancelled our booking for the final 3 nights of our holiday , so at short notice we had little option but to remain ar Explorers for the rest of our trip. I explained our situation to the guy and reception and asked for the best price he could give us to add on 3 more nights, he quoted me €1112 !!!! I would have thought that as we were already staying 4 nights they could have given us a better rate as the hotel wasn't full. I checked prices online and booked through Expedia for €900 which is still outrageous for a 3* hotel.
Pros
We stayed in a family room which had plenty of space for 5, a set of bunk beds and a large double bed in one room and a separate room with another set of bunk beds.
A good selection of English channels, BBC, Chanel 4 , Cbbeies etc so useful for relaxing the kids in the evening.
A good swimming pool with slides and toddler area and a soft play area
The staff were friendly and helpful
Regular shuttle bus to park.
I found the beds and pillows comfy despite reading reviews that they were bad.

Cons
The hotel has a very grubby feel to it, paint chipping off and both sets of curtains in our room were hanging off, this would only take a minute to fix but it seems like the place is a bit neglected.
The beds were made and a quick hoovering done but our bath was definitely not cleaned once for the whole week, I bought cleaning wipes and did it myself.
The food isn't good, the pizza was very basic but was expensive, €20 for pizza , chips and a drink. I had a look at the buffet, € 24 per adult and it looked terrible, not a great selection and cheap and greasy looking, much better to pay the €8 extra and eat a nice buffet in the park. The breakfast was a bit better than I had expected though.
The dining/ bar area was so cheap looking, plastic garden chairs and tables crammed together with children running wild around the place, not a place to relax.
Finally the noise. This has to be the noisiest hotel in the world!! Everywhere is so noisy, the pool , breakfast area, corridors etc . I know there are a lot of kids but I have stayed in plenty of hotels in Disneyland but have never experienced anywhere near this level of chaos, maybe it is because there is no lifeguards/ staff in soft area to keep things under control.
Unfortunately, my children have decided that this is their favourite Disney hotel( even though we have stayed in The Disneyland Hotel!!) and want to come back later in the year. So looks like I will return but I will bring cleaning products and ear plugs!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sissiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Membre E, Responsable relations publiques at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Indeed our prices vary according to different points: how early you book your stay, the occupation of the hotel, etc. As you had booked your stay in advance, you had got a really good rate. Unfortunately as you wanted to stay longer at the last minute, our receptionnist had to give you the prices that were valid at the last minute.

We are happy that you enjoyed your room, our friendly staff, as well as our aquapark and playgrounds.

We are sorry that you were not satisfied by our different restaurants. We offer a large variety of pizzas at the pizzeria for every taste. Our dinner buffet is renewed every evening and prepared by our Chef with fresh and seasonal products to satisfy as many customers as possible. We also have an à-la-carte restaurant that maybe you should try next time. Moreover it is really quiet there. It is true that the common areas can be noisier because we welcome a lot of children. Sorry for the inconvenience.

We are glad that your children chose the Explorers Hotel as their favourite hotel at Disneyland Paris. We hope that you too will enjoy your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Aude - Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 4,193 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Spent two nights in this hotel. I booked it because I just wanted somewhere reasonably priced and close to Disney, to lay my head and get a good night's sleep after tiring days in the parks. Not a lot to ask... However the walls are so thin that you can hear everything going on in all the other rooms. Teenagers were running up and down the halls, drunk at 1 am in the morning for the best part of an hour, and tthe hotel staff did nothing to stop this. Worst nights sleep i've ever had in a hotel!

Breakfast was so chaotic in the mornings, that we skipped it on the second morning and oped to pay for breakfast in Disneyland instead.

On the plus side, getting to and from the parks is pretty easy from this location, as the free shuttle buses run regularly all day

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adambrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Membre E, Responsable relations publiques at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are so sorry that you couldn't sleep well... Actually we are not always aware of what is going on in the corridors of the hotel. Have you called the reception to inform us? When it happens, one member of our staff intervenes to restore calm. But to be very honest, it quite never happens.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to offer you a better experience.

Kind regards,

Aude - Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Explorers is a normal hotel but created, from scratch, for kids entertainment. They have many sections for kids and the pool is really good. The shuttle service from the hotel to Disney and back is very punctual and useful. The only negative is food. Only junk food around except in the main restaurant which is expensive, by the way. The breakfast is poor compared with the regular mediterranean food. Remember, if you want eggs for breakfast you have to pay for them, they are not included as breakfast!!!!!!

Room Tip: High floor rooms and in the back of the hotel are most quiet than in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brunocastelo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieExplo, Responsable relations publiques at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback! You are totally right, our hotel has been created for kids entertainment. Glad that you noticed it and liked it! ;-)

Of course we are sorry to know that you were not satisfied by our food. We have three different options for dinner corresponding to different budgets: our pizzeria, an all-you-can eat buffet (prepared with fresh and seasonal products) and an à-la-carte restaurant with a lot of choices. The continental breakfast at the Explorers Hotel is complimentary for every booking made and that includes the buffet: pastries, French croissants, bread, cereals, fresh fruits, milk products, ham, cheese, fresh and hot drinks, etc. But indeed warm products such as eggs, bacon, etc. are not included, prepared on request and offered as an extra. Sorry that you were not aware of this information prior to your arrival.

Best regards,

Aude - Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We checked out of a nearby hotel to stay here for 1 night, only because our kids wanted to play in its water park - turned out to be pretty much the only thing we like about this hotel. Pros: the water park is great. Fun for all age range of kids and adults. Cons: the room is not clean at all and there was a weird smell in the room when we walked it. Dinner at the Restaurant Library - the food was mediocre and the service was poor. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank matthewcps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieExplo, Responsable relations publiques at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello,

First I would like to thank you for giving us your feedback about your stay at the Explorers Hotel.

Of course we are happy that your children had fun at the aquapark.

Concerning your remark about the room, we are really sorry and I will share your comment with our housekeeping staff.
We are really sorry too that you were disappointed by your dinner at the Captain's Library but to be honest with you, this is not usual for us to get such a comment. Most of our guests are really satisfied by the quality of their dishes in this restaurant. But of course we are taking your remarks into account.

Thanks again. Best regards,

Aude - Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

This was brilliant, not sure why the bad reviews by some people but each to there own. We stayed here last wk for four nights. 2 adults 2 kids in a room with double bed and bunk beds.
The hotel is brilliant, great pool area for kids and play areas. The breakfast was busy but plenty of food and choices. Pizza place was lovely. Rooms were small but grand for sleeping, telly had loads of English channels, BBC etc,
Staff were excellent, special thanx to Andrew (I think was his name) English guy on reception who gave us perfect details of how to get train into Paris and we're to get off etc, and what tickets to buy.
Will go again and defo stay here. Thanx for a great stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ennis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieExplo, Responsable relations publiques at Explorers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I have just passed on your compliments to Andrew, thanks for him.
We are really happy that you have liked your stay at the Explorers Hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.

Thanks for your recommendation.

Best regards,

Aude - Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-le-Hongre
0.4 km away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#5 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,063 reviews
0.2 km away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
5,024 reviews
2.1 km away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chessy
6,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
1,310 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Kyriad Paris Disneyland
Hotel Kyriad Paris Disneyland
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,866 reviews
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Hotel

Address: 50, avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Magny-le-Hongre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Magny-le-Hongre
Price Range: €79 - €232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Hotel is ideally located close to Disneyland(R) Paris. Free car park - Free shuttle buses to the parcs(R) - Flexible rooms up to 10 people - Free wifi - 200m² water park with 3 slides - indoor and outdoor play areas - conference rooms - XD theater - free bagage area - A Disney(R) shop located inside the hotel - 2 restaurants + 1 pizzeria - 1 bar - reception 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Explorers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Hotel Magny-Le-Hongre, France - Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing