We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”
Review of Sol y Mar

Sol y Mar
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sol y Mar
Ranked #5 of 10 Celestun B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Spend one night at this hotel. The hotel housed many families that seemed to be living here rather permanent. They eat their meals in the hallways. No hot water, infested with ants, dogs barking in the hallway during the night. The electricity was off from 8pm until we left at noon the next day. The toilet leaked water onto the bathroom floor whenever it was flushed. It seemed more like a cheap apartment building than a hotel. Would not recommend it. There are much better hotels in town for less money,

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Find_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

With not too many hotel options and most charging 900++ Pesos per night, (which we thought was unrealistic for Celestun) we found Sol y Mar, and we are glad we did.

The rooms were a bit small, and the rest of the facilities may have looked very basic, but we enjoyed our single night stay.

The hotel is located at a few steps from the main beach restaurants and same distance to Celestun’s main square.

Next morning we drove to the bridge where the boats are based to see the flamingos, a highly recommended experience.

Overall we had a great time in Celestun and a good stay at Sol y Mar.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinnwalkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vimos 2 opciones de habitaciones, escogimos la sección nueva (por así decirlo), pero de cualquier fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EdMoMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elli10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Celestun hotels
9.8 km away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
374 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 10 in Celestun
26 reviews
0.2 km away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hotel & Villas Playa Maya Resorts
0.2 km away
Cabanas Camping Ria Celestun
1.5 km away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 10 in Celestun
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Mar

Address: Calle 12 No. 104 entre 11 y 13, Celestun, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Celestun
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing