We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Everything about the hotel, from the bell boy to the chambermaid, from the concierge to the room, people are friendly and sincere. Lobby is nice as in you don't get too many tourIst crowds (like Venetian is very congested), no cigarettes smell, so sitting at the couches in the lobby is also very enjoyable. Room is clean, has all the amenities one needs, slept very well as beddings are clean and comfy. Only thing is there is no airport transfer. But we will return if the room promotion is good. We got great value for the one we got.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Bonjour Lydchua,

Thank you very much for leaving such nice feedback for Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 on this website. It's very encouraging for us to hear that the service you received at our hotel has been so outstanding!

Your feedback provides us with important moral support and we really appreciate your time to share it here.

Yours sincerely,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,741
    1,029
    217
    64
    47
See reviews for
695
1,284
214
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Polite and Friend Staffs, easy to communicate
Location is convenient and amenities are great
Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Bonjour Accorhotels traveler from Dongguan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the TripAdvisor website regarding your stay at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

Short, sweet and to the point..., we appreciate the sentiments!

warm regards,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The overall service at Club level meets the Sofitel standards. We checked in during the mid-week which was fabulous as it was quiet and service was attentive all times. Once it reaches the weekend, we can see that the staffs have their hands full.

Room was standard & smaller than the average Sofitels.

Had 2 meals at Mistral, sad to say food did not meet standards and can be better.
For dinner - Lamb was over-cooked. Surprising as grilling requires no special cooking skills.
For France buffet on Sunday - Not exactly the description and expectation for french cuisine. as more than 70% are asian. The french served are basic. Eg.foie gras which is "pan-fried" & Pâté - ok only, Escargot - Lots of room for improvement.

**We stayed here is because we are Accor advantage gold member. Overall the french hospitality atmosphere is lacking. Probably because Macau is a gambling city and most guests are domestic travellers. We noticed that the cuisine served was also very chinese-based. *BTW, I am chinese.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winniepleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Bonjour Accorhotels traveler from Kuala Lumpur,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback about your recent visit to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

I'm very sorry you did not experience the kind of French food we are renowned for on the buffet at the Mistral Restaurant. Your comments are helping us to identify what our guests wish for when they dine in our outlets.

I wish we could have made it up to you during your stay, but it will have to be an open promise to you to surprise you with a Magnifique French meal when you visit us the next time you are in town. We just opened a new dining room in the hotel for special occasions and it is specialized in providing a unique French epicurean experience; it's called "Prive"...

We look forward to hearing from you again soon and thank you again for staying with the ACCOR family of hotels.

Yours truly,

Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,043 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,735 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel is located in the old part of Macau and is, by far, the best looking building in the area.
The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Senado Square and "downtown" Macau.
The lobby is grand and beautifully decorated.
The hotel feels VERY "glitzy" (some may think it is way overdone).
The room was excellent - booked a regular room and was upgraded to a superior room, facing the harbour. The view is breathtaking - especially during sunrise or sunset.
The beds were amazingly comfortable and the bathroom was huge.
The hotel had a little pool, which was more beautiful than practical and also a nice gym, facing the pool.
We had 3 buffet dinners at Mistral, the hotel's main restaurant - and it was simply divine. It was, by far, the best restaurant experience we had in Asia. Do use the AdvantagePlus card, if you have it, since prices are relatively high.
The hotel also has a casino (afterall, it IS Macau...), but we could not enjoy the experience, since it was packed with heavy smokers and smelt like a dirty ashtray. No thanks.
Bottom line - amazing, amazing, amazing. Highly recommended! :)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the harbour. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
6.5 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
6.2 km away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
2.2 km away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
1.8 km away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
1.1 km away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 92 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#12 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing