We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Property, loacated far from center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Although this facility has everything you need (except casino...) u might still want to go out and this is a bit tricky since the place is isolated and you are dependant either on the shuttle (which leaves every 30 min) or taxis. the shuttle drops off at the Venitian so you can enjoy this area which is actually the new casino area or you can continue until the fairy harbor and there yo can hop on any shuttle to the Wynn/MGM/Grand Lisboa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your honest review regarding your recent stay at The Westin Resort Macau.

At Westin, our goal is to make our guests sleep well, eat well, move well, feel well, work well and play well. Personal and customized renewal experiences are created for guests to preserve wellness in travel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future for another relaxing stay.

For a better you.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 437 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our family of 6, 4 children ages 12-5 made the 2 hour flight from Shanghai to Macau not knowing what to expect! Glen from the Westin was waiting for us at the airport upon our arrival-which was two hours delayed from Shanghai! Our first impression of the Westin was Beautiful and what made it better were the employees! We checked in quickly and without problem (usually booking connecting rooms for a family of 6 ALWAYS causes confusion) we learned that our rooms were connecting and we were upgraded to ocean view. How lovely! While the hotel is a bit dated and could use some TLC the rooms were spacious and the sheets and towels smelled so clean and fresh!
Bruno in the dinning room was wonderful and so helpful. He was so kind to our kids which they loved!!
The shuttle service every 30 minutes was great and the private tour van driver June was a joy to be with. The Westin also helped us book the ferry to Hong Kong to enjoy a day at HONG KONG DISNEY. An hour on the ferry and 30 mintutes in a taxi and we were in Disney for the day. We returned to Macau on a 9 pm ferry and the hotel free shuttle was waiting for us to take us back to the Westin! The Pool was perfect and the Ocean front was very clean! The Portuguese restaurant Miramar next to the Westin was the best food we have had in a long time!!!

Room Tip: We asked for a dehumidifier to be placed in the room prior to arrival. We found that many Hotels ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holtnkarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read your review and we appreciate for your time taken to share your Westin Experience. Thank you for your recognition and complimentary comment to our associates who had participated in making your stay a memorable experience.

We are happy to note that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. It is our aim to ensure both kids and parents has a family-friendly travel experience so they can leave us energized, enriched and renewed. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future for another memorable holiday.

Have a refreshing day.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed there for a night, not busy at check in area, I was able to aget a free upgrade to the highest floor with beachview. The staffs are efficient and polite. Hotel offers free shuttle every 30 mins to the harbour.
In terms of the room, I could tell this hotel has been around for sometime however the room is generally clean and it has a large balcony which is a big plus.
As suggest from the title, don't expect this hotel to be anywhere near the Casinos, it's a good 20-25 mins drive distance; however for the ones who looking for relaxation and quietness, this is the perfect location.
Swimming pool looks good but didn't get a chance to enjoy it.
Overall a high recommendation to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtle3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us.

It was great of you to point out the positives you experienced with our unique ambiance and location. We hope that we remain your hotel of choice when visiting Macau again for another or indulging getaway.

Be rejuvenated.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have been coming to the Westin Macau since we first moved to HK nine years ago. What started off as a tired but charming hotel has now moved far beyond that into just tired and desperate, helped by the wide variety of far superior hotel choices nearby and the fact that in the nine years since we have been coming here I don't think they have done one thing to keep the property up to standard. The showers have so much mold on the grout its rather disturbing. The entire place needs new carpets, new paint, new windows, and doors that you can open. The pool needs a total refurb. And then there is the service. Everyone really is totally charming (otherwise I would have given it 1) but there are so few staff for so many people, that a simple lunch service that should take 15 minutes takes - and I'm not kidding here - took one and half hours. And $200 per night to hire a DVD player?! Shouldn't that be standard?! There are so many things now that I can't overlook, and so many quiet, luxurious places on Cotai now (four seasons anyone?!), that I won't stay here agin unless they give the place a total overhaul. It's quite sad for us as we have been coming here for so long, but it's just no longer worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expat-traveller-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your experience which had led to your stay with us being compromised.

We have noted your comments regarding property condition. We indeed, have put additional resources in terms of manpower to uplift the overall ambience of the hotel. At the same time, we also realize that more is needed in terms of a complete overhaul, in order to enhance the level of comfort for our guests.

As you have mentioned a number of concerns in your review, I appreciate if you could share with me more details. We do care how our guests feel and are passionate in recognizing their needs in order to anticipate potential problems and proactively solve them before they emerge.

Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice.macau@westin.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Be well.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The check in was fast and very helpful, Mr Chuck The chief of the receptionist is an elegant man who helps me to upgrade my room. I had a room with beach view, marvellous! I asked for a sunbed in the balcony and I got it after 2 hours! My package suggested by Mr chuck also included 3 tickets to spend in the 2 restaurant. The chinese was good, and very flexible timnetable, The main restaurant was excellent. The chef is a very good one, the service is very good. the pianobar was discreet and cool.
Honestely all the resort is getting old and need some improvement, some rennovation will be necessary soon, I mean for what you pay, it should have been done already. If they could make a cheapest rate, I wouldn't have complain at all.
Anyway I had great time, I spent 3 days just staying in the resort. Pool, beach, Restaurant, Sauna, Steam Room, Gym activities you got all.
The black sand beach is amazing!
Compliments to Mr Chuck that make my stay at the wetin memorable.

Room Tip: Beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave19764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin M, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review and thank you so much for your kind remarks to Chuck. We do receive a lot of wonderful feedback regarding our environment, stunning sea view, room size and the personal service which make guests feel cared for.

We appreciate for your time taken to express your appreciation for the service rendered. I will certainly share your favorable comments to the team!

Please let us know when your next travel will bring you back to Macau and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Be Well. Be Westin.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
2.5 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
7.8 km away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
735 reviews
9 km away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,360 reviews
8 km away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
9.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 94 in Macau
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#17 Family Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#27 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: €87 - €247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing