We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Magnificent Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Coloane Resort Macau
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had a long weekend in Macau and stayed at the Westin Resort. It is located on the ocean and away from the craziness of the gambling mecca. I liked the quiet elegance of the property and the amazing views of the ocean and beach from every window! The staff was gracious and helpful and the concierge/bellboys were delightful and fun! Glenn and Christian and their team were really great when it comes to putting the guests at ease and giving us the benefit of their knowledge of the local restaurants and sights to see!
The room was large and the bath was huge and modern, though a bit dated and probably in need of updating, it was quite adequate for our needs!
We enjoyed the music in the evening, and Donald on the piano and Nathasha singing were a hit with us!
The breakfast which was included with our room provided a great deal of variety and was a great start to the day! A walk on the beach is a must and the pool area is beautifully appointed and relaxing, with both an indoor and outdoor pool!
Fernando's Restaurant is walking distance from the hotel and that is a plus!
We lost a bag for a few minutes when it was put on the van to the ferry by mistake and the staff did everything to make this problem right, first contacting the van driver and confirming that the bag was safe and it was returned to us quickly and then we got a free ride to the Ferry to catch our boat on time!

Room Tip: One side has a beach view and the other side has an ocean view, take your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LayneFick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin-Resort-Macau, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort Macau for your recent stay. We have read your comments and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to share them.

We also appreciate your recognition and kind words to Glenn, Christian and the team who had participated in making your stay a memorable experience. Your compliment motives us to continuously strive and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Just minutes away from the hustle and bustle, The Westin Resort Macau is a perfect getaway for a renewing sleep, energizing workout, nourishing foods and clean, fresh air. All enable our guests to be at their best.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another energized, enriched and renewing stay at The Westin Resort Macau.

Be Well.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 476 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

Our room smelt like mould and the skirting board grey. I ran my finger over them and my finger was filthy and left a white mark. The bathroom had patches of black, which also came off when I touched it with a cloth. I looked behind the bedside table trying to locate the source of the smell and almost wanted to vomit. My husband wanted to check in as soon as we got there it was that bad.

The decor is really dated. Our room had a burnt orange feature wall....... my 3 year old looked around and said 'this looks like grandma's' (no offence grandma).

On a plus side we found the staff were nice, pool great and relaxing.and out bed comfortable and sheets very clean.

The hotel has great 'bones' - big rooms, tranquil location, good facitilies but is in dire need of an overhall.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123,545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin-Resort-Macau, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your engagement as it continually allows us to review and improve our service and facilities.

We have noted your comments regarding room cleanliness, and we are eager to address the shortfalls. I appreciate if you could contact me directly to further discuss. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice.macau@westin.com. Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Please accept our apologies for the experience which had led to your stay with us being compromised.

Everything Commnuicates.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Westin is a good resort in Macau. We had lots of fun in that hotel. The surrounding view of China Sea is a great. The food was great and they are serving every type of continental food. The room and balcony is spacious. The bathroom was also big. But TV sets are older one, no LCD screen. This hotel is far from casino, the taxi take about HKD100$ to go to main attraction of city and for casino. Otherwise we had great fun in that hotel. Thanks to management of hotel.

Room Tip: Great view of sea from swimming pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pragati_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin-Resort-Macau, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of your stay with us. It is truly a pleasure to learn that you had lots of fun here.

We look forward to creating another individual moment of renewal for you in the near future.

Be Well.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Westin is an institution for Macau, we first visited it when there were only few casinos in MAcau. Now Macau has a lot of new huge hotels all located where the action, gambling, takes place. The Westin is located in a secluded part of the area overlooking the ocean. It's a grand dame if I can say that. It is still very well kept and serviced and the rooms are all very big and well decorated. Pool and gym are of high level and the premises are well kept and elegant as they have always been. Obviously this is not a casino hotel so you don't have the excitement and the full glittering experience of, say, the Wynn, but it is very quiet, very private, classy. I came from Hong Kong via ferry and their shuttle took me to the hotel, I would have used it extensively and it has been always on time, efficient. Their bellboys were welcoming and gentle, thank you Ariel, and the check in process was fast. Being SPG platinum I have been upgraded to the 8th floor, only a normal room but 66 sqm. Breakfast was perfect, good selection of high quality food and perfect table service. I cannot complain at all about the hotel also because of the rate which is half of a casino hotel. The Westin doesn't attract crowds of screaming people, this is its main point, on the flipside it is a bit far from downtown, 20 minutes, the Cotai strip is at 5 minutes. Taxis are not expensive in Macau. I recommend it for families with children.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin-Resort-Macau, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your last stay and I am pleased to learn that we are your hotel of choice in this area.

We are proud to provide a unique travel experience like no others in Macau. Just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Macau, it is a perfect getaway for a renewing sleep, energizing workout, nourishing foods and clean, fresh air. All enable our guests to preserve wellness in travel.

We also very much appreciate your recognition and complimentary comment to our associates, in particular Ariel who had participated in making your stay a memorable experience.

Please let us know when you will be back to the warmth and hospitality of the “Westin” family again.

Have a renewal weekend.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We've stayed several times in this hotel, it is south of Macau and very peaceful. It is great for children, it has a lovely pool, a small kids club for toddlers, a playground and a bouncy castle at 10am every day. We ate in the cafe a couple of times, and the food was good. The rooms are a little shabby and dated, but it didn't really bother us - they are a good size and have a balcony. They run a free shuttle bus every 30 mins to the Venetian with a few additional stops (you may need to pre-book during busier times). Also in close proximity (either 20 mins walk or 5 mins in a taxi) is Fernandos restaurant, an essential place to go when you visit Macau! They also have nice gardens, which I didn't really explore!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nova T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin-Resort-Macau, General Manager at Grand Coloane Resort Macau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for staying with us recently. I am pleased to learn that we are your hotel of choice in this area. It is truly encouraging to read your comment.

We are proud to provide a unique travel experience like no others in Macau. Just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Macau, it is a perfect escape for family retreats. Kids will have fun in nature enviroment while parents will be calmly rejuvenated and energized.

We are looking forward to see you and your family again in the near future.

Be Westin.

Stephan Winkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macau hotels
7.9 km away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
765 reviews
2.5 km away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
9 km away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 94 in Macau
232 reviews
2 km away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
8.5 km away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Coloane Resort Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coloane Resort Macau

Address: No.1918 Estrada de Hac Sa, Coloane, Macau, China (Formerly The Westin Resort Macau)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#16 Family Hotel in Macau
#16 Business Hotel in Macau
#21 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#29 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: €77 - €395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Coloane Resort Macau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Coloane Resort is a grand complex terracing up a mountainside with the soft rolling green expanse of the Macau Golf & Country Club's 18-hole tournament style golf course on the resort's rooftop. Altogether 208 rooms and suites, each room opens onto a private and spacious terrace with an uninterrupted full beach or ocean view of the South China Sea. The resort offers a relaxing and soothing nature view at the Cafe Panorama and the pinnacle of great dining with a splendid sea view. At the renovated Chinese Restaurant, specializing in Cantonese cuisine, it has been awarded the Hong Kong and Macau's Best Restaurants Award. The tastefully decorated Panorama Lounge and opened Poolside Bar serve a great selection of liquors and beverages in a relaxed-yet-stylish setting. The contemporary Garden Marquee at the property has become the talk of the town as it is the one and only Marquee in Macau, a unique choice from wedding to a product launch or even team building, along with all other extensive meeting and banqueting facilities to meet guests' every requirement, a place they will remember long after they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Grand Coloane Resort Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort Macau Hotel Macau
Westin Hotel Macau
Westin Macau
Westin Coloane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing