We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,634)
Filter reviews
4,634 results
Traveller rating
3,448
957
181
33
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,448
957
181
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board a la carte restaurant evening meal los guayres mogan playa hotel tour cactus garden la fula excellent hotel junior suite blue building hotel grounds bowling alley botanical gardens large hotel main restaurant cordial mogan
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 4,634 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We've just stayed 6 nights here and really enjoyed it. We had a lovely ground floor suite with a garden. The room was lovely, well maintained, worked well. The staff were excellent, particularly in the blue dining building and the house keeping staff. The location is great - a short walk to shops and restaurants. The whole complex has lots of greenery so you often have a degree of privacy.

Pros: great service, nice room, thoughtfully designed complex, good kids club, great location (back entrance is near center of Puerto de Mogan), nice pool

Cons:
- the major con for me was the internet connection. It was supposed to be 3mb but was often far less (i kept testing it with fast . com) and dropped out sometimes.
- Another major issue was you have to pay an extra charge to use the room safe.
- Fridge was useless
- The half board buffet food was ok, but nothing special

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thenighthawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

The best hotel I’ve ever stayed in. I visited in June with my mum and had a wonderful time. Rooms spotlessly clean, amazing food and staff couldn’t be more helpful or friendly.
Nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is well placed for a quiet break away.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We’re rather late posting this review, sorry. We returned to Cordial Mogan Playa after 3 years and we’re still very happy with the hotel. We think it’s definitely better than many other holiday hotels. The rooms are still decent, the food in the dining room is still better than at lots of hotels we’ve stayed in, the extensive grounds are maintained really well, and all the staff we came into contact with were really pleasant.

So what are the niggles? And what’s wrong with the aircon?
As we said in a review following our first visit in 2014 there are quite a few sunbathing terraces by the pools that are just grey grit, which is absolutely horrible – can’t understand why anyone would put that stuff down apart from trying to save some money, but the rest of the place is good so why bother?
We don’t understand why you can’t get cocktails in the bar in reception.
There are plenty of sunbeds and unusually if you book here, you should be able to get beds quite late in the day – but even so there are still some people who can’t stop themselves bagging beds. We say remove towels from unattended beds up until the end of breakfast service, that’ll stop ‘em!
When we arrived there was a problem with our overbath shower, which caused most of the water to come out of the bath tap at the same time as just a small amount came from the shower head. After we reported it the problem was sorted quite quickly, but there’s no way that problem just happened. We can’t understand why previous guests would put up with it, but more than that, we think it’s the sort of thing daily housekeeping should be reporting to get fixed before guests move into the room. We don’t think it should be left to guests.
Same thing with the aircon – it was just so noisy. The maintenance chap who came out said it was caused by the filter being clogged up and he cleaned it out which did help the noise some but not very much. Basically, we couldn’t think about using the aircon for any length of time or at night because it sounded like a generator running in the ceiling by the door – definitely not a whispering aircon system you get in lots of good hotels. If ours was typical the hotel really needs to think about a major aircon overhaul.
The bed mattresses here are pretty firm, maybe even hard, but you can soften up the top layer by asking for a mattress topper, which are offered in this hotel but not publicised widely. Trouble is they use plastic or rubber coated mattress protectors, which are really nasty to lie on and creak like mad when you move. Just another annoying thing that could be sorted so easily with a little thought.
The walls between rooms are better here than in some hotels but not as good as many. Consequently you’ll probably get some unwanted sounds coming through from next door although, hopefully, it won’t be shaggers like we had. We couldn’t believe that for the second time in 6 months we had a young Spanish couple move in to the room next to us so they could have noisy sex. It wasn’t as bad, or for as long, or as late, as a couple we had next door to us in Mac Puerto in Benalmadena, which has very thin walls indeed, but we don’t half wish they’d find someone else to bother with their noisy antics. At least the shaggers only seem to come out to play (or should that be stay in with the do not disturb sign on the door) for one or two nights at the weekend.
Don’t expect too much from the entertainment and you won’t be so disappointed.
This is probably our last niggle. Don’t bother with the coffee in the hotel –it’s pretty nasty stuff – weak as anything but still horribly bitter too. We tried it in the reception bar and down by the pool. If you want a good rich coffee just cross the road to Restaurant N44 in the centro comercial where you get a really good coffee for much less than you pay in the hotel. We can’t understand why a good hotel would serve such bad coffee – it’s something they could fix really easily if they wanted to.

There are plenty of good things to like about this hotel so despite the niggles we’ve described here, we’d have no hesitation in staying again and would happily recommend Cordial Mogan Playa to others.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Large complex but felt like a village on a slope. Good sized apartments if a little weary decor wise. Everything work though. We loved the planting. Evenings with a chota peg was like looking out on Vietnam sans agent orange. Clientele mostly dutch and Scandinavian. Less tattoos. Better behaved kids. Made resort a bit dearer though. Weaker pound I suppose. Staff all great. Spa a bit knaked but loved salt pool. Hippy dippy salty fun. Will go again. PS go for blanket trip with Alexis and the cave lunch.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel was a great place for a week avoiding the Swedish winter. The garden is exciting (there is a book about it in the library) and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The roms are good and well equipped. Breakfast buffet is enourmous and caters for every taste. We tested the dinner buffet once, but got very disappointed. Lots of food, but nothing really worth remembering - very generic and bland, lacking finesse and taste.

The spa area was a lovely secret. Warm pools, quiet areas, jacuzzis, floating pool and several saunas. Recommended!

Even though it is a huge hotel, it does not feel that way at all. Our warm recommendation!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank cfrog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews