We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "not fancy" option on the beach”

Munchies Guesthouse Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 107 Restaurants in Gili Air
Cuisines: Indonesian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Good prices, good view of the beach and big variety on the menu. The food was ok, juices were small and everything was fresh! If you consider the prices on the places around, Munchies is a good value for money option in the beach front.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ml0pes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

I have been on the island for 3 weeks and visited yesterday and today....first by chance, second by choice. I ordered Barracuda both times and it was amazing. I have tried several of the other BBQ places on Gili Air...this is the best. I do not understand the negative reviews. This is a great place, great value with fantastic staff....thanks Robbie!
Highly recommended, I am going back tomorrow for snapper and prawns!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Price is good, but food is very poor.
The quantities are very small. The bowl of rice is one small scoop, as are the curries and vegetable dishes.
We ordered bbq fish, and prawns, and they we're both burnt and tough - inedible.
I ordered a coconut and banana milkshake and you couldn't taste any banana or coconut.

We complained about the burnt fish and they gave us a new one - this second fish wasn't burnt and was okay. Their service wasn't bad, and they were friendly.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Okay, to get this out of the way, what everyone says about long wait times is definitely true.

We ordered two drinks (Long Island Iced Tea and Pina Colada) during happy hour (2 drinks for the price of one), which came out after about 25 minutes. Of course, we knew when we ordered the drinks at that price that the staff uses house- or local-sourced liquor instead of the good Western stuff. Also, an indicator of quality - the two were the same price despite recipe complexity. When the drinks arrived, they were incredibly strong and didn't go down as smoothly as drinks made from non-house spirits, but they did the job.

We also ordered chicken with pineapple, chicken spring rolls, and barbeque prawn (picked from a cooler to cook and seasoned with garlic butter, to our liking). The chicken came about 45 minutes after our arrival. It was served lukewarm. The chicken was decent, and the veggies served with it were quite nice. The fries served with it, however, didn't taste fried. There was no crunch or crisp to them and they were quite… damp? Soggy?

The barbeque prawn came about an hour and ten minutes after our arrival, and the spring rolls with it. The spring rolls were an - interesting - texture. They looked more like doughnuts than delicately fried rice paper rolls, but the taste was okay. The barbequed prawns had a nice smoky flavor (and had just the right amount of crunch - indicating freshness)
and were served with a jacket potato topped with butter and a skewer of grilled veggies.

The jacket potato with butter was decent - wasn't as softly boiled as I'd wanted, but the butter was good. The vegetables were nice and savory, although there was a strange, chewy-tough Indonesian root vegetable that we weren't fond of.

Overall, long wait times, okay service, beautiful beachfront, meh food. We paid about 220,000 IDR (100,000 for barbeque and fixin's, 50,000 for drinks (2), 40,000 for pineapple chicken, and 30,000 for our doughnut spring rolls). Not bad. Not great. I felt a bit like Goldilocks here - couldn't find my 'just right'.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank beclecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

We ate at munchies multiple times a day. The price was too good not to. All of the Indonesian food we had was delicious and the staff were extremely friendly. I would recommend the Indonesian food over the western food as it is what they do best. The BBQ fish was fresh and delicious. All of our meals arrived fairly quickly as well while we sat and enjoyed the peaceful waterfront view.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurenpill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Munchies Guesthouse Restaurant also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Munchies Guesthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing