We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is just amazing!”
Review of Ruby's Cafe

Ruby's Cafe
Ranked #6 of 106 Restaurants in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$11
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Ruby's Cafe is owned and operated by Indonesian Chef Ruby. Her mission is to provide fresh homecooked with passion from experience from working overseas inspires her delicious curries using imported ingredients unique to her cafe and her time in top Italian restaurants in Bali comes through in her perfect pasta dishes. Every plate is cooked from scratch, spring rolls,croquettes, curries, only the Rendang is cooked before as it takes 2 hours, no portions pulled from the freezer and buzzed in Micro. Ruby's is a simple open air cafe dedicated to providing tasty FRESH food with love. Sorry even though many reviews advise booking we do not take reservations works better on a rolling basis, last orders 10.00 dinner.
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying in Gili Air for 6 nights and on night 4 we found Ruby’s and went for dinner. We went back on night 5 and night 6, it was that nice!
Cannot recommend the Beef Rendang highly enough!! Superbly priced too.
The service is superb, and if you are staying in Gili Air, you must visit Ruby’s, you won’t be disappointed

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Explorer823882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

We have been to Gili Air twice now, and we always go to Ruby's Cafe several times during our stay on the island. The food is always delicious and the service is friendly and welcoming; it simply can't be beat!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

The food was really good. Me and the wife had meatballs and pasta, best meal we had during our Bali holiday. The guy who owns it is really friendly, and was helpful too (I had some questions about the island/shops). Good prices as well. Really can’t fault it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Extremely fresh, delicious, all homemade, some of the best food I’ve had in Indo. The Beef Rendang is outstanding. Slow cooked, super tender, lots of flavor, and a huge portion. Also had yellow chicken curry, butter chicken, burger, calamari, and today Lemon Chicken Wrap. It’s all fantastic. I love that both the beef and chicken dishes use top quality meat. Staff are very friendly and kind. Open for lunch and dinner.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kimmiemik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Really cooked from the ground. Very nice staff and a pleasant experience. I understand why it has good reviews. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice meal. The chicken lemon wrap was very delicious

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank PontusL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruby h, Owner at Ruby's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Many thanks for the great review, sadly following the earthquake we are closed for a few weeks, open again early September, God willing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby's Cafe also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Ruby's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing