We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellen stay on Gili Air”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scallywags Mango Retreat
Ranked #3 of 68 Gili Air B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Very nice cottages, clean and complete, toilet and showers outside, fine swimming pool, very nice and helpful staff., central location on the Island, close to beach, main street and restautarants. Recommended!

Room Tip: All cottages are equal good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeoZuidweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 230 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
91
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We had a perfect stay at Scallywags. It has everything that you could want. Our room was amazing (a big room with a huge bed, a TV, minibar and a sweet stone "garden" outside the front door etc.), and we really loved our outdoor bathroom- very exotic. There is a small pool by the hotel, but they also have sun beds on the beach which you can use for free if you are staying with them.
They have a restaurant on the beach where they offer free breakfast. We had a wonderful breakfast - fresh yoghurt with granola, honey and fresh fruit, and they make the best banana pancakes. Yum!
Furthermore, you can use the hotel's bikes to bike around the island.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

You couldn't ask for more. The Resort is comfortable, clean, cosy with fantastic staff who couldn't be more helpful if they tried. Bikes are supplied to guests on a first come, first served basis, which is fair enough. If you don't want your room cleaned, the staff are accommodating. The bed is comfortable, the outdoor bathroom to die for - my absolute favourite part! The fridge is a great idea as is being able to charge back to your room from the Scallywags Beach Club. Ruby's (the best food on the Island) is next door, Le Sate Bar (excellent) is 20m down the road. There is a rustic charm that I hope never fades, regardless of the pressure to develop the Island. The pool was out of action for 2 days for maintenance, which is fine - a pool has to be maintained, especially coming out of the wet season. Mango Resort was all we had hoped for and much, much more and for that, we thank you and all the staff. It is a lovely walk or bike ride to the beach and we always felt safe and comfortable. We had a great sleep - so quiet and peaceful. Only negative for us .... we didn't spend enough time there - 7 days wasn't long enough! This is our new favourite place and we will be back. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecPriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi BecPriv
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review.
We would love to see you again on your next visit.

Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Dear Manager,

First of all thank you for creating such a wonderful space on both islands (Gili T and Gili Air) our favourite was your sites on Gili Air! First of all let's start with the Mango Motel: it's beautiful, clean, perfect for all people and all budgets. We want to bring to your attention how lovely all your staff are but especially "Obama" (inside joke) he is the sweetest, kindest, truest soul we have met travelling across Bali and the gili islands over the last 3 weeks. He was so kind and friendly and even got my partner a gift as they bonded over their love of football, he is a credit to your company!

We also fell in love with the kindness and beautiful energy of Estelle, she was absolutely wonderful and helped us with any questions we had about the island.

Finally a star member of your team is "Agus" from the Scally wags restaurant! He was so helpful, friendly and just made our frequent trips to your restaurant extremely comfortable....As did all your staff. I would recommend your hotel/restaurant to anyone and everyone, especially the GILI air sites they were superb! Thanks for a wonderful experience :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Blaise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Hi Blaise,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We really appreciate it that you took the time to do so. We will be glad to provide your feedback to our staff (yes we love them too) and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Gili Islands

Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

The hotel is walking distance from the harbour and beach. The room was nice and clean, with an outside bathroom. You can rent bikes, but ask before because they get booked up. The beach club is cool, breakfast is really nice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.3 km away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.3 km away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#3 of 20 in Gili Air
630 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0 km away
Scallywags Mango Motel
Scallywags Mango Motel
#16 of 68 in Gili Air
21 reviews
4.9 km away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#3 of 178 in Gili Trawangan
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scallywags Mango Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scallywags Mango Retreat

Address: Jl. Scallywags no. 1-2, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Air
Price Range: €43 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scallywags Mango Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Retreat. Situated in the heart of the village of Gili Air and its 5-7 minute walks from the beach, harbour and our famous beach club. Each of the 6 rooms open onto the free form swimming pool that is built around the shady mango trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Scallywags Mango Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scallywags Mango Retreat Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing