We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
153
63
24
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
63
24
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango scallywags beach club scallywags restaurant room hotel free boat ride outdoor bathroom gili t offer free bikes white powder short walk rare commodity local village shared pool blue water egg station nice room tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Dear Manager,

First of all thank you for creating such a wonderful space on both islands (Gili T and Gili Air) our favourite was your sites on Gili Air! First of all let's start with the Mango Motel: it's beautiful, clean, perfect for all people and all budgets. We want to bring to your attention how lovely all your staff are but especially "Obama" (inside joke) he is the sweetest, kindest, truest soul we have met travelling across Bali and the gili islands over the last 3 weeks. He was so kind and friendly and even got my partner a gift as they bonded over their love of football, he is a credit to your company!

We also fell in love with the kindness and beautiful energy of Estelle, she was absolutely wonderful and helped us with any questions we had about the island.

Finally a star member of your team is "Agus" from the Scally wags restaurant! He was so helpful, friendly and just made our frequent trips to your restaurant extremely comfortable....As did all your staff. I would recommend your hotel/restaurant to anyone and everyone, especially the GILI air sites they were superb! Thanks for a wonderful experience :)

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Blaise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Hi Blaise,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We really appreciate it that you took the time to do so. We will be glad to provide your feedback to our staff (yes we love them too) and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Gili Islands

Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

The hotel is walking distance from the harbour and beach. The room was nice and clean, with an outside bathroom. You can rent bikes, but ask before because they get booked up. The beach club is cool, breakfast is really nice. Would recommend.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeckyS2818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Hotel was so peaceful, clean, staff super friendly. You could also use the bicycles so made it very convenient to move around.
Had a very good breakfast included and the sun beds for free in the best spot of the island. Absolutely recommended.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank carlavjesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Clean rooms..not to fancy but with AC and minibar...bum gun...warm water...tv..access to beachclub (hv to walk some meters) daybed and towel incl....we checked in after another booking via booking com was a complete desaster...also enjoyed the pool very much..we would stay here anytime again

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Blimade2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Hi Blimade2014,

Thanks for your review, it's very nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Mango Retreat which is situated inside the island & is a short walk to the beach club which takes around 6-8 minutes. As you say, we have a lovely pool placed amongst the Mango trees which offers cool waters for those hot days.

Until next time

Scallywags Mango Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

I have sent countless people to stay at the various Scallywags hotels over the last few years, as I like their restaurant offerings. My bad for not staying in one of their residences.; the room is fine, and the mini bar beyond compare (wine, beer, soft)

My massive issue is the "hotel" is 200m down an unlit alleyway, and even as a 6ft3, 50 year old well built bloke, it scared the crap out of me. If I was a 20 year old female traveler it would be positively intimidating.

So the question is this, at $50+ a night, why can the management not put in some lighting and also, a roving security guard- would cost them peanuts.

So in summary, Restaurants great, room- fine, would I stay again, no way until I feel safe.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank HCMCBANKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Hi There HCMCBANKER
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. As our accommodation is tucked away amongst the local villages, we understand your concerns about the short alleyway walk. We do try to work with the locals regarding lighting and safety, however, some of their private homes are along this stretch and the full on lighting can be somewhat of an issue, especially for those with some young families etc. We do however, provide every guest with a portable torch to assist with the parts that may be particularly dark. In addition to this, we do actually have security guards on duty that rove between all our properties across the Island. We will raise your concerns with our team and see if we can find some alternate solutions, besides those we already have in place.
Thanks again for your feedback, we have taken it on board.
Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews