We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull stay with family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scallywags Mango Retreat
Ranked #2 of 68 Gili Air B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2016

I stayed at this boutique hotel for 2 nights with my family (wife and 2 children). The location is very convenient and close to the beach/scallywas resort. Very romantic, relaxing and modern environment. The room was clean and had everything we needed (save, hairdryer and 3 types of power adapters, free water, good wifi connection, etc.) though a bit too small for family but still manageable with addional bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and very kind to children with relatively good English. We also liked the mango trees and the shower.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yassinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Yassinoo,

Mango Retreat is a favourite, nestled amongst the mango trees, with the swimming pool curved around them, it's a lovely place to unwind after a day at the beach. Just 6 minutes walk to the beach & our restaurant along the strip. Our rooms can fit an extra bed no problem, but for sure for 2 children it might have been slightly squishy! For future trips, we do have connecting double & twin rooms.

Thanks for taking the time to write about us, we appreciate it.

Scallywags Mango Retreat Gili Air

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

After staying at the scallywags beach resort for 2 nights and finding the room quite expensive on our budget, we were advised we could stay at their mango retreat which is further inland but much cheaper. This turned out to be a great option. Rooms at the mango retreat were lovely, clean and very secure. They also had a lovely pool which was great to relax in after a day exploring. However it is very shaded so if your looking to sunbathe head down to the beach. Breakfast was also included if we headed down to scallywags at the beach front. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Would definitely recommend and re visit if back in Gili a. Great value for money.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Catrin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

H Catrin,

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Scallywags Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We god room nr. 3 for 2 nights and were very happy with it. They think on everything - and provide 2 umbrellas (we were there on start of raining season), torch (street light are very rare in gili air) and full minibar. Room were very clean and spacious. Breakfast was directly on the beach and you have lot of good things to hoose from. Staff was really friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Adriana,

Yes, in the rainy season you need umbrellas & torches are very handy at night time too. We like to call our mini bars maxi bars as we have a larger fridge & we fill it right up. And you are not penalised for relaxing & snacking or drinking in your room or on your balcony. The prices are the same as our bar & restaurant.

Thanks for staying with us, we hoped you enjoyed your holiday on the Gillie Islands

Jacky
Scallywags Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Mango retreat for 6 nights and had a fabulous time.
The room is very clean and comfortable with a little porch and small garden out front. A good sized pool surrounded by Mango trees which provide lots of shade, this is very welcome after spending much time in the sun on the beach.
A big breakfast buffet at the beach club is included. the best breakfast we had during our 1 month trip through Bali! Access to the beach club is also a bonus. It's on the best stretch of beach on the island.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating.
Would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Reinira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Reinira,

Thanks for your review on your stay at Mango Retreat, 6 nights is a nice long stay with us. Our breakfast buffet endeavours to cover something for everyone, from fresh fruits & homemade granola & jams to the good old English style or Indonesian breakfasts. Then for sure relax the day on the sun loungers at the beach club.

Thanks for your recommendation,

Scallywags Mango Retreat & Beach Club Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Everything you expect for this range of price. Rooms are clean, the hotel is close to everything. Nice, staff, nice hotel, nice location the restaurant having the same name is also really good. Go there if you can

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Edward,

Short & sweet & straight to the point. Great to hear from you, thanks for your recommendation

Jacky
Scallywags Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.3 km away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.3 km away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#3 of 20 in Gili Air
630 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0 km away
Scallywags Mango Motel
Scallywags Mango Motel
#16 of 68 in Gili Air
21 reviews
4.9 km away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#3 of 178 in Gili Trawangan
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scallywags Mango Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scallywags Mango Retreat

Address: Jl. Scallywags no. 1-2, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Air
Price Range: €43 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scallywags Mango Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Retreat. Situated in the heart of the village of Gili Air and its 5-7 minute walks from the beach, harbour and our famous beach club. Each of the 6 rooms open onto the free form swimming pool that is built around the shady mango trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Scallywags Mango Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scallywags Mango Retreat Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing