We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
152
63
24
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
63
24
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallywags beach club mango room hotel free boat ride offer free bikes superb room outdoor bathroom gili t rare commodity mini bar min walk local village egg station private garden clean rooms tea and coffee great pool
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

After staying at the scallywags beach resort for 2 nights and finding the room quite expensive on our budget, we were advised we could stay at their mango retreat which is further inland but much cheaper. This turned out to be a great option. Rooms at the mango retreat were lovely, clean and very secure. They also had a lovely pool which was great to relax in after a day exploring. However it is very shaded so if your looking to sunbathe head down to the beach. Breakfast was also included if we headed down to scallywags at the beach front. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Would definitely recommend and re visit if back in Gili a. Great value for money.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Catrin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

H Catrin,

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Scallywags Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We god room nr. 3 for 2 nights and were very happy with it. They think on everything - and provide 2 umbrellas (we were there on start of raining season), torch (street light are very rare in gili air) and full minibar. Room were very clean and spacious. Breakfast was directly on the beach and you have lot of good things to hoose from. Staff was really friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Adriana,

Yes, in the rainy season you need umbrellas & torches are very handy at night time too. We like to call our mini bars maxi bars as we have a larger fridge & we fill it right up. And you are not penalised for relaxing & snacking or drinking in your room or on your balcony. The prices are the same as our bar & restaurant.

Thanks for staying with us, we hoped you enjoyed your holiday on the Gillie Islands

Jacky
Scallywags Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Mango retreat for 6 nights and had a fabulous time.
The room is very clean and comfortable with a little porch and small garden out front. A good sized pool surrounded by Mango trees which provide lots of shade, this is very welcome after spending much time in the sun on the beach.
A big breakfast buffet at the beach club is included. the best breakfast we had during our 1 month trip through Bali! Access to the beach club is also a bonus. It's on the best stretch of beach on the island.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating.
Would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Reinira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Reinira,

Thanks for your review on your stay at Mango Retreat, 6 nights is a nice long stay with us. Our breakfast buffet endeavours to cover something for everyone, from fresh fruits & homemade granola & jams to the good old English style or Indonesian breakfasts. Then for sure relax the day on the sun loungers at the beach club.

Thanks for your recommendation,

Scallywags Mango Retreat & Beach Club Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Everything you expect for this range of price. Rooms are clean, the hotel is close to everything. Nice, staff, nice hotel, nice location the restaurant having the same name is also really good. Go there if you can

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Edward,

Short & sweet & straight to the point. Great to hear from you, thanks for your recommendation

Jacky
Scallywags Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

A really nice (boutique) resort, a few minutes walk away from the beach. I can only recommend staying there. It was super stylish and very clean. The pool is big enough and refreshing cold and the staff is very helpful. Rooms are very nice and the outdoor bath (except for the shower everything is covered by the rooms roof) is neat.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank mr_domain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScallywagsManagement, Owner at Scallywags Mango Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi Mr. Domain,

Great to hear from you. Sounds like you enjoyed yourself at Mango Retreat, that's really nice. We hope you come back for another visit.

Scallywags Mango Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews