We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price/Quality poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Cottages
Ranked #55 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Gili Air
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Price/Quality poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The place is not on the beach and therefore has no sea breeze at night time. I cant understand why this is one of the top rated in tripadvisor. For the same price you get better quality by the beach. The service is helpful but the bungalows were much better at other places.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    25
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We first booked into Coconut for only three nights, but we ended up extending our stay because it was a great place! Set back a little from the beach, the cottages' surroundings are lush and beautiful. Clean, spacious, and with a great patio for relaxing. And the free breakfasts are fantastic! The staff were great, too. Polite, prompt, and overall really friendly people. Couldn't have asked for a better stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I've stayed in Coconut Cottages from Nov 14th - Nov 16th, the place is awesome, love the room, the bath room and the garden! its also an easy way to get through from the harbor, the staffs are friendly and the owners are also nice, if I come to Gili Air again, I def. will stay there!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mega A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at Coconut Cottages from June 1-7. The individual bungalows were very comfortable and private amid a magnificent tropical garden. The 'Balinese' outdoor bathrooms were very functional and atmospheric. Elaine, Kamil and the affable staff couldn't have been more helpful. Elaine, being Scottish, made communication easy and fascinating if one wanted a deeper understanding of Lombok. We also loved the good reading lights above the very comfortable bed. We would readily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Elaine was prompt and courteous via email questions. Pick up at the airport was arranged through Coconut Cottages for 25 dollars a person and went smoothly (worth doing). Crossing the water is in a long boat from off the beach so feet get wet as you climb into the boat – they don’t help with bags but did when we arrived at the island. From there you take a horse cart. Take my advice and use backpacks rather than luggage.
We are staying in the Shamballa Cottage. The cottage is on stilts with stairs at varying heights and makes climbing up and down a bit awkward. We arrived early so we had some breakfast – the veggie omelette is good (huge!). The room is spacious and clean with lots of storage, a king bed with mosquito netting and a single bed for extra person, a/c, large porch with hammock, couch and table, good lighting, and a large bathroom open to the sky with salt water shower, sink, toilet, towels, and lots of hot water. We added a couple of nights and had to change rooms the last night. This room was in a semi-detached cottage and the bathroom was pretty bad: mould, the sink leaked onto the floor, the drain was plugged and we had to get that taken care of. To be honest, if we had this room first, we would not have been happy. Pay more for a nicer cottage.
You need to use your own towels for the beach. Kettle, coffee and tea are available but no drinking water. You can refill large bottles of water for 4000RP at the reception. Internet is not included.
Expect to hear roosters early. The island is dusty so bring flip flops and expect to wash your feet a lot. The cottages are not on the beach but I’ve stayed in beach front resorts and had to walk further to get to the water. The snorkelling off the shore is fantastic with needlefish, butterfly, grouper, puffer, turtles, etc. The cottages are in a lovely setting, quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
1.0 km away
Sejuk Cottages
Sejuk Cottages
#17 of 129 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 km away
Island View Bungalows
Island View Bungalows
#39 of 129 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 km away
Si Pitung Village
Si Pitung Village
#26 of 129 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Segar Villages
Segar Villages
#14 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 km away
Aza Zil Bungalows
Aza Zil Bungalows
#14 of 129 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 km away
Gili Air Bungalows
Gili Air Bungalows
#11 of 129 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cottages

Property: Coconut Cottages
Address: Gili Air | Pemenang Lombok Barat, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cottages Hotel Gili Air
Coconut Cottages Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing