We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Villa”
other travellers have booked this property
The Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pool
Ambary House features semi open and spacious space, traditional architecture, large pool and library The Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
The Pool
Ambary House features semi open and spacious space, traditional architecture, large pool and library
The Pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
The Pool
The Pool
A horse cart, a main transport mode on Gili Trawangan, passes in front of Ambary House under morning light
The Pool
The Pool
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
The Pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
The Pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
The Pool
Rooms overlooking pool, spa jacuzzi
The Pool
The Pool
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
Living Room
The Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Open airy living room overlooking swimming pool
Living Room
The Pool
Living Room
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
Living Room
The Pool
Dining Room
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
Dining Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
The 1st Bedroom
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
The 1st Bedroom
Dining Room
1st Bathroom
Dining Room
1st Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Dining Room
2nd Bathroom
1st Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Beaches near Ambary House. Gili Trawangan is a major diving and snorkelling site.
2nd Bathroom
The 2nd Bedroom
1st Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Kitchen
Terrace
Dining Room
Terrace
1st Bathroom
Terrace
Beaches near Ambary House. Gili Trawangan is a major diving and snorkelling site.
Terrace
The 2nd Bedroom
The 2nd Bedroom
Entrance
Dining Room
Entrance
Street
The 2nd Bedroom
Street
Ambary House's distinct roof symbolises the shape of the sacred mountain where the gods reside.
The 2nd Bedroom
Front view of Ambary House with its beautiful architecture. The roof symbolises the sacred mountain
The 2nd Bedroom
Front view of Ambary House with its beautiful architecture. The roof symbolises the sacred mountain
The 2nd Bedroom
Front view of Ambary House with its beautiful architecture. The roof symbolises the sacred mountain
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
Jason G
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Ambary House was the perfect villa for our stay on Gili Trawangan. There is so much effort to go the extra mile to make the stay better. Staff were always present in the attached office and would always ask if we need anything or wanted to be directed anywhere.
The villa itself was so nice and we barely wanted to leave. The pool and jacuzzi were excellent.
The central living area was excellent and well equipped with things you wouldn't normally expect like a massive projector screen with surround sound system.
The only thing I didn't like was the bathroom. It was pretty and stuck with Balinese style but was a bit impractical. There are fish ponds in the bathroom with water from the fish ponds being pumped through the gaps between each stone tile. It's kind gross when you go the toilet and your pants are dangling in fish water. Also wifi was very hit and miss.
Overall an excellent place to stay and worth every cent for a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A sanctuary on Gili T”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I could not recommend Ambary House more. It was nicely tucked away from the chaos of the main strip but a 2-5 minute walk to the bars and restaurants. The staff are amazing and friendly - always great for a chat or a hangout and will make you delicious Mi Goreng no matter what time you end up rolling in at night. If you are going to Gili T book Ambary!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnip10
Iceland
1 review
“Unbelievable experience - Perfect villa and fantastic service”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Ambary House is the best we have experienced during our stay in Indonesia. The villa is beautiful and very clean. The location is very good, only a 2 - 3 minute walk to the main street, restaurants etc. but still you don´t hear anything from the beach bars which is perfect when travelling with children. We are sure that this is the best villa in Gili. We stayed for 8 nights.

Not only is the villa perfect but the service is exceptional. First of all Gde, the owner, was very helpful prior to our stay. This is our first time in Indonesia and Gde, was extremely helpful. Not only regarding preparing for our stay at Gili but he also gave us great recommendation for Ubud hotels and he arranged everything regarding the fast boat to Gili from Bali (and was able to get us a better deal on the price). He is really willing to go the extra mile.

When we arrived in Gili, Herman who manages the Ambary House greeted us by the harbor. Herman and his colleagues are fantastic. We were treated like royalty the whole time we were there. They gave us great breakfast every morning with eggs (we could choose what type of eggs we wanted, scrambled, sunny side up etc.), pancakes, fresh juices and fruits. When it was raining one evening they even offered to go and pick up dinner for us. They also arranged to get rental bikes for us with a child seat.

Our kids (13, 7 and 3) loved the guys, they were so nice to the kids.

To top it off Herman arranged a trip for us a 1 day trip to Lombok. That trip is something we will never forget. Great trip around the island but the best thing about the trip was that Herman had arranged lunch for us at the house of his family. There they served us with fresh fish and great Indonesian food. We will never forget their hospitality and the opportunity we got to experience the local culture, food and to meet Herman´s family.

The pool was great. The international TV channels are good. We and our children also loved the projector and the home cinema.

Even the Internet/wifi was good. We got a visit one evening to the Ambary House from a young couple which had been travelling in Asia for 4 months and they were surprised how fast it was. Ok, perhaps not "US or European fast" but still my 13 year old daughter had the patience to watch her favorite TV shows :)

Thanks Gde, Herman and all the staff at the Ambary House for making this a visit we will never forget. We look forward to repay your hospitality once you visit our home country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service and the house.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ras_Borg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“PERFECT VILLA ON GILI TRAWANGAN!”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is the perfect spot if you looking for a calm place on Gili Trawangan, and still want easy access to all the fun on the beach front. We as a family of four (2 adults and 2 kids aged 4 and 12) really enjoyed this privately owned villa.

The villa has a clean pool of good size and depth, two nice and separate rooms each with a bathroom, a living room area with a kitchen/fridge and a separate lounge area. The villa is nice decorated with pictures and Balinese style furniture etc. The villa has a wall around it with your own lockable entrance and you can also lock each room that also has a safe each so you fell rather secure while staying there. The bathroom has running water on the floor with small fish ponds which particular amused the kids.

Breakfast is served by the very friendly staff that lives just outside the entrance to the villa, and they are also very helpful with all other requests. It also feels even more secure to have the staff just outside in case something should happen and you know that they keep an eye on the place while you are away.

I would recommend this to everybody going to the Gili T, particular families with kids, couples travelling together and young people that want to recover between going out in the evening. The villa even has a home cinema which is great for watching movies with family and friends.

If you are looking to socialize by the pool and meet new people, or if you demand a big buffet for breakfast you should off course choose a hotel by the beachfront. But if you are seeking a nice relaxing spot with a little more simple breakfast this place will definitely satisfy you.

Only real hassle while we were there was the air-condition sometimes lost power during the night and couldn’t keep the rooms cold. Spoke with the friendly owner Gde who lives in Jakarta, and he explained that it was due to the electricity-grid not providing enough power. Seems like a fair explanation and out the hands of the owner, but still annoying. We made sure to have the aircon on at least 2-3 hours before going to sleep to have it cool down the room, as we couldn’t be sure that it was not losing power during the evening/night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool, friendly staff, home cinema, lounge, 3 wifi access points and a general secure feeling with the place.
Liked least: Air-con loosing power.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rama_cali...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had such an amazing experience at Ambary House. First time we have travelled to the Gili Island's and will definitely stay here again! The villa is close to everything that is relevent on the island - a short walk or bike ride.

The staff at the villa were so inviting, made our stay there even more memorable. They met us as we got off the boat and got us back to the villa. Organised us breakfast each day as well as our bike rentals.

Will definitely recommend this to my family, friends and anyone else that is looking to travel to the Gili's!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer Service was great whilst giving us privacy to enjoy our stay
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;