We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
City Church At Kuressaare

A bit poor condition. Better visit would be REO. 12 km from city center. Open every day. Monks and... read more

Reviewed 5 August 2019
PekkaTaiJokuV
Beautiful Church from 1790

Beautiful Church and gate from 1790. Located on "main street" Lossi, so impossible to miss on your... read more

Reviewed 1 September 2016
Halkidis
,
Southwest Finland, Finland
Read all 32 reviews
  
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
8
11
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
11
12
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

A beautiful gate beckons you in to this church in the center of town. There are the usual icons, but nothing special.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

This church is centrally located and one of the few that was opened during our visit. It has some newly minted icons which are lovely and certainly it warrants a short visit when in the old town.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank westerntraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Beautiful Church and gate from 1790. Located on "main street" Lossi, so impossible to miss on your way from Centre to Fortress.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Our visit was a lovely experience. Our group was standing outside looking at the building and the very friendly priest invited us in for a look. The church is lovely. There is also an interesting and beautiful fresco on the outside wall facing the street.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank EstherP1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 March 2016

18th century St Nicholas church is one of two in central Kuressaare. We tried to visit it at 10.30 on a Sunday morning but the door was locked. There appeared to be people inside so we're not sure if it is closed once a service starts. If you're particularly keen to visit the church, then we,d suggest checking the Visit Estonia website (which we've subsequently discovered) as it has details of the church's opening hours.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews