We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
659
136
29
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
659
136
29
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vesta bar across the road village style main pool smaller pool cocktail bar air con lovely hotel relaxing holiday hotel restaurant next year room safe stayed bed and breakfast beautiful flowers the main street well run hotel beach shoes
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We have recently returned from Kefalonia; it was our 3rd visit, but our first time at 9 Muses and the first time we have been to Kefalonia in October.

The weather was fantastic, even though it was the last week in the TUI, Thomson season, and the hotel could not have been better.

The hotel has a large restaurant and bar, there is a pool bar and next year there will be more rooms and a new pool.

The rooms are all in small blocks with pathways, steps and beautiful flower beds with lots of flowers. The rooms are well equipped with fridges, a kettle and cups, a safe, for which you have to pay 18 euros for 7 days, good sized wardrobes with lots of hangers and a tv. The rooms all have balconies, we were in room 206 which was south facing & had the sun all day. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the cleaners did an excellent job every day.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant that has a beautiful view of the sea and beach. Breakfast is a buffet and the hotel even provided me with Gluten Free bread, I was so grateful to them for this as no other hotel has ever bothered, even though we always tell TUI Thomson that I am a Coeliac.

We ate out every night in the local restaurants and everyone was able to provide me with gluten free food. I didn’t have any problems eating here.

9 Muses is a beautiful hotel and we will definitely return. All the staff are wonderful, particularly Koula, Athena, Nicos, Manos and our great cleaner Evangelina.

There is a beautiful small church at the hotel where weddings can be held. Even if you are not getting married there go and have a look and put some change in the charity box for local charities.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank trevandsuebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review. We are excited that you have visited Kefalonia 3 times and chose to stay with us on this past October. I often say it is the quiet part of the season when you truly see the beauty of the island. Your compliments are taken with tremendous appreciation especially about our wonderful staff who truly make our establishment what it is. We look forward to your return visit. yiasou!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Fantastic hotel, great rooms, beautiful sensory.
The only problem we had is the other guests without children complained when children played in the pool etc. Other than that amazing holiday. Short walk from the beach with all activities available. Bars and restaurants only a short walk.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank stacihodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

So happy you enjoyed your stay. We cannot speak for other guests but children are welcome at our pools . Glad you were able to make the best of it and enjoy your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We were allocated Room 134 ground floor near stairwell ,main block -behind 'pretty village rooms' you see on the website!. Behind this block there was a small pool over looked by noisy building work going every day including saturday. We asked to move room as my wife normally fit and well ,had a painful hip after a fall,we asked both reception and Thompson rep if we could move -they just treated our requested as a nuisance and didnt even get back to us.Bathroom very clean . We went to breakfast a couple days but found the cooked food very poor.Very pretty and well maintained gardens.The main pool area was very clean ,pretty and the staff who worked there very good and friendly. The cleaners arrived early every morning and boy did you know they where there -very loud. The main pool was not heated and hardly anyone in it. The other very small pool ,as previously commented over looked by builders. Skala itself is a very nice greek village. As we went in October ,many bars/hotels/restaurants were closing or closed for winter. We hired a jeep from Greekstone car hire in the middle of Skala-reasonable price ,very friendly and informative.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the main pool with greek village feel otherwise just a basic 3 storey block
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank skibabyAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

We are so sorry we were unable to meet your standards :(. This is not typical for us so we are quite disappointed. Be assured that your comments will only help us to address these issue and to elevate our establishment. If there is anyway other particular issues you would like to address... please email us directly. have a pleasant day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Pulling up into the hotel , tired and hungry at about 11:30 pm , we were greeted both by the owner of the hotel and the receptionist. Quickly and efficiently our rooms were allocated to us and as a group we were taken off and shown to our rooms and then told that they had kept the restaurant open for us and that regardless of the type of board we had opted for there was food available! Sat down to a gorgeous meal and felt instantly at home here!!

We had a very nice room always clean and very comfortable, with a balcony looking over the pool and bar area , we had a complimentary bottle of wine and there was always a fresh flower left for us !

The pool area was always clean and well laid out, although small in comparison to larger hotels, we had never a problem getting sun beds and there was never the rush to get there first as you sometimes get! The bar offered drinks and snacks throughout the whole day and the bar staff worked tirelessly either serving or cleaning and tidying! Athena who has been mentioned here before was constantly working and keeping busy!

We had opted for half board , breakfast was always nice with plenty on offer from hot cooked food to fruit and cereals and pastries too! We ate here every evening in the restaurant and never had a problem finding something on the menu to eat! Plenty of selection and the lamb kleftaca and prawn saganaki were particular favourites of ours ! The staff were very friendly particularly Alex and Marie !

We had a couple of days out. We hired a car through the Thompson rep and had a wonderful day exploring the island , visiting Argostoli the capital where we saw turtles by the fishing boats and the famous Myrtos beach which was absolutely stunning! We also went on Captain Vangelis cruise to fiskardo which was amazing and I shall be writing a review for them separately ! Well worth the money and got to see different aspects of the island!

The hotel, the Greek people, kephalonia itself , just perfect ! We are sad to be home and wishing we were back ! We will be back! That's for sure !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank petaw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

We are extremely happy that you had such a nice stay. The positive words are much appreciated and we will definitely pass those kind words along to Alex and Maria. We look forward to your return and will do our best, as we always strive for, to make your holiday just as wonderful... if not more wonderful then this one. have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel that we’ve visited many times. Great location right on the beach but still within walking distance of the village.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Only negative is the rule regarding not reserving sunbeds before 9am needs to be enforced because otherwise there’s no point having it.
Restaurant serves great food. Lots of choice at breakfast too.
Love the Avra bar - Amanda makes our holiday. She is so friendly and welcoming to everybody - both regular customers and new customers. No night is complete without a cocktail and a catchup with Amanda.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and your frequent patronage. We apologize for the sunbed rule breakers for it is a constant battle. With our new expansion there will be plenty of room around the pools. Amanda will be waiting to serve you again :) Have a pleasant winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews