We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but somehwat overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed at the Nine Muses for the final week of the season at the end of September. First impressions werevery good. Nicely laid out with the accommodation in several seperate blocks with attractive flower beds and lawns. The room was very clean with powerful shower. There are some drawbacks though. We thought the breakfast was poor with only three cereals (all of which tasted like cardboard - no mueseli). It did try to cater for British tastes but provided bacon only on alternate days (and sometimes this was fried processed ham not bacon!).

There are two pools but the one at the top of the site (adults only) is now overshadowed by a building project on the site next door and was subject to the noise of heavy machinery. Indeed the new buildings being erected at the top of a ledge overlooking the pool had the effect of blocking the sunlight in the late afternoon - not the fault of the hotel but rather makes that pool of little use. More concerning though was the practice we witnessed on a dull day when the staff were hosing down all the sun beds around the main pool -why is this even necessary?. The result the following morning (our penultimate day which dawned nice and sunny) was that a lot of the sunbeds, which have comfortable padded mattresses were in fact still saturated with water. One lady was doing a dance on top of the mattress with the water pouring out of the bottom!
Overall our impression was of a potentially very good hotel but needs to get its act together. The staff were at all times cheerful and helpful but wet sunbeds and poor breakfasts don't in my view warrant a four star review!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank prichard38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your standards and apologize for any negative moments. Hopefully you were still able to enjoy your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We have recently returned from Kefalonia; it was our 3rd visit, but our first time at 9 Muses and the first time we have been to Kefalonia in October.

The weather was fantastic, even though it was the last week in the TUI, Thomson season, and the hotel could not have been better.

The hotel has a large restaurant and bar, there is a pool bar and next year there will be more rooms and a new pool.

The rooms are all in small blocks with pathways, steps and beautiful flower beds with lots of flowers. The rooms are well equipped with fridges, a kettle and cups, a safe, for which you have to pay 18 euros for 7 days, good sized wardrobes with lots of hangers and a tv. The rooms all have balconies, we were in room 206 which was south facing & had the sun all day. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the cleaners did an excellent job every day.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant that has a beautiful view of the sea and beach. Breakfast is a buffet and the hotel even provided me with Gluten Free bread, I was so grateful to them for this as no other hotel has ever bothered, even though we always tell TUI Thomson that I am a Coeliac.

We ate out every night in the local restaurants and everyone was able to provide me with gluten free food. I didn’t have any problems eating here.

9 Muses is a beautiful hotel and we will definitely return. All the staff are wonderful, particularly Koula, Athena, Nicos, Manos and our great cleaner Evangelina.

There is a beautiful small church at the hotel where weddings can be held. Even if you are not getting married there go and have a look and put some change in the charity box for local charities.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank trevandsuebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review. We are excited that you have visited Kefalonia 3 times and chose to stay with us on this past October. I often say it is the quiet part of the season when you truly see the beauty of the island. Your compliments are taken with tremendous appreciation especially about our wonderful staff who truly make our establishment what it is. We look forward to your return visit. yiasou!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Fantastic hotel, great rooms, beautiful sensory.
The only problem we had is the other guests without children complained when children played in the pool etc. Other than that amazing holiday. Short walk from the beach with all activities available. Bars and restaurants only a short walk.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank stacihodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So happy you enjoyed your stay. We cannot speak for other guests but children are welcome at our pools . Glad you were able to make the best of it and enjoy your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We were allocated Room 134 ground floor near stairwell ,main block -behind 'pretty village rooms' you see on the website!. Behind this block there was a small pool over looked by noisy building work going every day including saturday. We asked to move room as my wife normally fit and well ,had a painful hip after a fall,we asked both reception and Thompson rep if we could move -they just treated our requested as a nuisance and didnt even get back to us.Bathroom very clean . We went to breakfast a couple days but found the cooked food very poor.Very pretty and well maintained gardens.The main pool area was very clean ,pretty and the staff who worked there very good and friendly. The cleaners arrived early every morning and boy did you know they where there -very loud. The main pool was not heated and hardly anyone in it. The other very small pool ,as previously commented over looked by builders. Skala itself is a very nice greek village. As we went in October ,many bars/hotels/restaurants were closing or closed for winter. We hired a jeep from Greekstone car hire in the middle of Skala-reasonable price ,very friendly and informative.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the main pool with greek village feel otherwise just a basic 3 storey block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank skibabyAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so sorry we were unable to meet your standards :(. This is not typical for us so we are quite disappointed. Be assured that your comments will only help us to address these issue and to elevate our establishment. If there is anyway other particular issues you would like to address... please email us directly. have a pleasant day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Pulling up into the hotel , tired and hungry at about 11:30 pm , we were greeted both by the owner of the hotel and the receptionist. Quickly and efficiently our rooms were allocated to us and as a group we were taken off and shown to our rooms and then told that they had kept the restaurant open for us and that regardless of the type of board we had opted for there was food available! Sat down to a gorgeous meal and felt instantly at home here!!

We had a very nice room always clean and very comfortable, with a balcony looking over the pool and bar area , we had a complimentary bottle of wine and there was always a fresh flower left for us !

The pool area was always clean and well laid out, although small in comparison to larger hotels, we had never a problem getting sun beds and there was never the rush to get there first as you sometimes get! The bar offered drinks and snacks throughout the whole day and the bar staff worked tirelessly either serving or cleaning and tidying! Athena who has been mentioned here before was constantly working and keeping busy!

We had opted for half board , breakfast was always nice with plenty on offer from hot cooked food to fruit and cereals and pastries too! We ate here every evening in the restaurant and never had a problem finding something on the menu to eat! Plenty of selection and the lamb kleftaca and prawn saganaki were particular favourites of ours ! The staff were very friendly particularly Alex and Marie !

We had a couple of days out. We hired a car through the Thompson rep and had a wonderful day exploring the island , visiting Argostoli the capital where we saw turtles by the fishing boats and the famous Myrtos beach which was absolutely stunning! We also went on Captain Vangelis cruise to fiskardo which was amazing and I shall be writing a review for them separately ! Well worth the money and got to see different aspects of the island!

The hotel, the Greek people, kephalonia itself , just perfect ! We are sad to be home and wishing we were back ! We will be back! That's for sure !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank petaw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamatelatos, Owner at 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are extremely happy that you had such a nice stay. The positive words are much appreciated and we will definitely pass those kind words along to Alex and Maria. We look forward to your return and will do our best, as we always strive for, to make your holiday just as wonderful... if not more wonderful then this one. have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
0.6 km away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
0.1 km away
Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
#6 of 23 in Skala
441 reviews
3.2 km away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
3.5 km away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
30.6 km away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range: €90 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing