We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“climb the mountain...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Long journey from the airport, last stop and very early pick up on the way home. 3.5 hours before we needed to have left. Taxi!!!
Hotel is in a lovely spot, built in the mountain side and need to be fit to climb down to the pool if weather is really hot. Well stocked pool bar and snacks if you want to stay by the pool all day.
Room was lovely, hairdryer, fridge, kettle, good size, sea view but shame about two part built houses in front .
Hotel well kept, all staff are excellent and restaurant staff are fantastic. Food is average. Good choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner give plenty of choice but its not top quality food. Choice of veggies is great, loved the beans and spinach and moussaka very yummie. Sweet selection is good too. Wines are fine as well..
Feel this is just below 4* , food needs to improve but otherwise good hotel with excellent staff but in isolated location. I feel its a couples hotel, steep slopes and steps make it unsuitable for families.

Room Tip: Pay for sea view and ask for a room thats half way down!! If you hire a car you can park outside yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank umblel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Just got back from the above holiday. It was fantastic. On arrival from about an 1.5 hour drive from airport checked in very quickly by despina. Luggage taken to our room for us. We were based in the hotel room 502. It was beautiful and big. Balcony overlooking sea and could just see the pool area. We had a large shower and bath. Big double bed and free water and fruit on arrival. The safe was charged at 3 euros a day. We then had a wander round and found the restaurant where we had breakfast and dinner. There was an infinity pool which was lovely but didn't use and indoor spa. Treatment was fantastic staff were lovely we had a chocolate body wrap and massage for 60 Euros each it was amazing. Jacuzzi is free on half board for half hour a day. The food was gorgeous. Breakfast a great selection of fruit, cereal , toast, cakes and cooked. Evening meals great selection every night you wouldn't find nothing to eat. The waiter we had was lovely. I do believe it is getting quiet there as shops were closing down in around ten days.
Courtesy bus was driven by a fab man whose name is to hard to pronounce he was very chatter and always spoke to us and made sure customers got to and from hotel smoothly. We hired a car from Greek stones in skala. Antonis is amazing as this was new to us. He made it very easy and cost us 108 euros for three days. You need a car to get around as nothing by the hotel and walk to skala around 45 mins. We visited Sami,Melissami caves, fiscardo, argostoli, lassi and mirtos beach. All fab places to visit. If you want sandy beaches go to lassi or Mirtos as great to swim in as no pebbles. The maid in our room was lovely and helpful she was going home soon to Romania as had been there all season. She was very good. The entertainment was fine a singer most nights and the fire show was good although a bit dragged out and late. Thomas cook rep not so good didn't know much really got our info from other customers and trips cheaper elsewhere. If you want to relax this holiday is a good choice. The summer months would be great and the views amazing. Just want to say a big thank you to the staff despina bus driver and waiter and maid. You all made our holiday great fun xxx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shadow5769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Lovely destination and views from our apartment.
Great spa facilities but can only use once a week for 30 minutes and most of the time the spa is empty.
Amazing infinity pool with view of the sea.
Great food and friendly staff.
Did not like that we were all inclusive and had to pay extra for certain cocktails and shorts. So had alternative for example rum as Barcadi was extra.
Steep steps and not ideal for people with walking difficulties although there is Biggs that staff will transport you to and from your room around the hotel.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Michelle19692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Over Priced. Over Rated. Canteen Food.
The Apostolata Resort & Spa was a huge disappointment and I cannot recommend anyone staying there. All the photos in the travel catalogue are accurate and the description is accurate, but in the end the whole did not add up to the parts and we came away feeling disappointed. In my opinion the Apostolata Resort & Spa falls far short of the 4 star status it claims to have. I must point out that some of the guests really liked this hotel, but in the end it was not me. I guess it is not possible to please everyone. I have stayed in cheaper hotels with better balcony views, better locations and much better food. I will be fair with my assessment and mention both the good and the bad points.
Room: We stayed in room 711. It was a very good room with hair dryer, fridge, kettle and for 20 Euro per week it was possible to hire a safe. The sleep quality was excellent and the air-conditioning was excellent. Our cleaner was very friendly and always polite.
Superior sea view: We paid the extra for a superior sea view. It was not worth the money and was a huge disappointment; this disappointment stayed with us for two weeks, and probably influence my overall opinion of the hotel. In the evening I like to sit and enjoy a quiet drink, but when seated the iron bars and a huge wooden beam blocked the view. The only way to truly appreciate the view was to stand up, and I did not want to spend the evening standing! I do not exaggerate, see the photo. Other apartments that did not have superior sea views had a Perspex wall that did not impede the view. Those higher up with a pool view seem to have an even better view. Do not bother booking a superior sea view, it is a waste of money.
Smell: I am not sure what the small was but if the wind blew in the right direction it was horrendous. I saw what looked like a small sewage works a little way down from the pool. I think if you were high up the smell would not waft in your direction, but some nights it was so powerful we could not sit on our balcony.
Food: One of the things I look forward to on holiday is a nice evening meal, but the food being served was not 4 star. The food was okay, but not enough variety or of a high quality, so if they served something you did not like you were left with chips, pizza and spaghetti. Now, I must admit the pizzas were really nice and if the chips were hot they were excellent, and I do like spaghetti, but the food was never hot. I suggest the hotel install a microwave oven for the use of those guests who desire their food hotter. Breakfast was surprising good, but there again the food was rarely hot, and often the trays were empty. I expect more from a four star hotel. Much of the indoor furniture seemed dilapidated and when you sat you sank so low you were almost on the floor. Hotel manager, please note; it is time for new furniture.
Location: The location is very remote, but has certain advantages. If you want nice scenery and sandy beaches you must stay on the West coast. The hotel is built on the side of a hill and there are many steps to negotiate, but the sea view is good. Both the restaurant and bar area have very good views of the sea. There is an excellent cove at the bottom area of the hotel. The sea is clean with crystal clear waters and has a large variety of fish. I loved swimming in the cove, but be warned as you step from the ladder you are immediately in deep water. If you walk down the road for about 15 minutes you come to a small church; just before you reach the church there is a path leading down to a pebbly cove. I loved this cove best of all. Make sure you take a snorkel mask.
The grounds: Large sections of the grounds resembled the left overs of a building site.
Excursions: As always the rep over charges for all excursions. In Skala there are many booking offices and places to change money. We only did two excursions. Both were coach trips. We did the island excursion, but because the hotel was so remote the pickup from all the other hotels took two hours and that was even before the excursion had started. So out of our day we spent two hours picking up other guests and then after the excursion we spent two hours dropping of the guests. This made it a very long day. The Drogkarati Cave and the Melissani Cave at Sami are both well worth a visit.
It is possible to take a coach trip to Argostoli, the capital of Cephalonia. Although this is the capital it is very small, no bigger than a town, and is lovely place to visit. I wish in hindsight we had book a hotel in this area. I urge you to find a hotel in Argostoli, from here you can travel all over the island by using the local busses. The beaches, scenery and walks are much nicer than where we stayed.
Entertainment: The entertainment was nothing special. In my opinion for a 4 star hotel that is remotely situated it should have provided better entertainment.
The Thomas Cook rep: We lost a day waiting for the rep to turn up for the rep meeting, but he never arrived. The rep is a waste of space, very poor service.
Conclusion: We should have not bothered with the superior sea view but gone all-inclusive. I wish we had stayed on the West coast at Argostoli. The food is a big letdown. In my opinion this is not a 4 star hotel. The hotel in the holiday brochure looks fantastic but falls short of fulfilling the promise. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not bother booking a superior sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Roundtoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed for a week (21-28 Sept). First impressions were poor and didn't really improve.
The coach drive took forever, Apostalata is last drop off, over an hour and a half, I fell asleep halfway.
The receptionist wasn't very friendly and less friendly when I went back to reception two hours later to say there were ants in the bathroom. She said she'd send a maid, no one came. Next morning after killing ants crawling over my expensive toiletries I went to reception again, again told a maid would sort it. We went to the pool and checked every couple of hours on room, eventually room cleaned after one o clock but ants were back later, one even in my bath while having a bath. I spoke to Chad (really friendly, helpful animator) who spoke to manager and we were moved to another room in main hotel.

Overall we found the staff quite rude despite our always being polite. The pool barmaid deserves a special mention for rudeness, turning her back when I'm speaking to her, pretending not to understand often, giving me coke when I've never ordered one ever, although I did see her being friendly with some guests who I suspect tipped her. The same went for the restaurant staff with odd exceptions, one waitress even looked close to tears at times, maybe they work too many hours.

The spa looked the part but when you use it you find maintenance needed. The Jacuzzi wasn't very warm and only a couple of the water jets worked, the steam room stunk of drains and the staff put scented oil in and apologized for smell and advised me to wait ten minutes before going in. The gym is basic and the cross trainer machine is broken, my favourite equipment usually.
Needless to say we wouldn't return and to anyone planning to go or who have already booked expect about 3 star so as not to be disappointed like we were.

Room Tip: Pay extra for superior room to avoid ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala
2.9 km away
Regina Dell Acqua Resort
35 km away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
1 km away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Asteris Hotel
Asteris Hotel
#11 of 23 in Skala
245 reviews
26 km away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
28.6 km away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostolata Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostolata Island Resort & Spa

Address: Porou Skalas | Kafalonica, Skala 280 86, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#9 Family Hotel in Skala
#14 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range: €69 - €268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apostolata Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to comfort at the Apostolata Island Resort & Spa. Beautifully situated on a hillside slopping gently to the sea allowing dazzling Mediterranean views. Enjoy pampering spa treatments, sailing, swimming, followed by delicious meals. Visit the village of Scala, famous for its Roman Villa or explore the village of Poros all within easy reach of our Kefalonia hotel. Discover the personal service and amenities of this hidden gem, a perfect retreat for a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Apostolata Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Apostolata Resort And Spa
Mareblue Apostolata Hotel Skala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing