We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We paid for three nights but left after one”
Review of Blue Wave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Wave Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Siquijor Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 March 2017

One thing really annoying about using Booking.com or similar, is that if a place is bad enough to leave, you feel robbed because you just cannot get your money back from them. We were told by the hotel that we could, but we never got a response. The reason we left is this; we were travelling with friends and one of the couple couldn't breathe in their (aircon) room as none of the windows opened. The smell of bleach was so strong and he gets asthma. He just felt really unwell in there.

We were actually quite glad they persuaded us to leave with them, as our fan room was really quite depressing. Our window screens were all torn, so mosquitos could get in. Although the bed linen was clean this place feels like a 'motel' or short stay place (if you know what I mean) Too much bleach on the floor, so I didn't want to walk bare feet, really dirty bathroom - goodness knows what was sandwiched between the sachet of toothpaste and the soap!

Toilets in the restaurant were flooded. Staff don't smile - it's like they begrudge having to serve you, and once you are there, you are cut off from everywhere, as there's nowhere to walk to once the tide is in. The pool looks nice, but is grubby at the bottom and there's not enough space to sit around it, with just three loungers. The raised platforms over the beach are too dangerously flimsy to stand on.

We'd just come from staying at Coco Grove with rooms just 1000 pesos more per night for a standard room, and it was a paradise in comparison, with fabulous staff, beautiful extensive gardens and beach, three pools and two fantastic restaurants. We rushed straight back and begged for a room!

Blue Wave is not good value. Rooms need major renovating, at the very least. Don't be taken in by the photos of the infinity pool. It isn't as it appears.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ZazuGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

I love how isolated this inn is. It's only five minutes from Siquijor port but when you're inside, it's like being away from everything. I love how quaint it is also. The infinity pool is small but enough for its guests as there are only a few number of rooms.
Downside; (1)long waiting hours for food to be served (2)basic room amenities (3)rooms not thoroughly clean (4)they should discard the organizers that are too rusty and the dirtly pails and deeper too

Room Tip: get the room with the view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeyHM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This Inn is in a good location, the staff are good and the rooms are adequate but nothing more. We enjoyed our stay here at the Blue Wave Inn. It's in a nice location close to the port. The grounds are very nice. The infinity pool is very attractive and the beach is nice. The food is OK and the service average. I would recommend a stay here as long as your expectations aren't too high.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Location
What I love?
- I trike ride away from the port.
- The resort is beachfront.

Room
What to improve?
Rooms need renovation. Don't expect too much with the room. It's more of a backpacker type of room, nothing to do except sleep/take a bath. It is not that bad for the Php1150/night rate considering that it comes with free breakfast. However, you can get a better room from other resort with this price. My group booked a little late (1 week before we arrive) so we were left with limited choices.

Amenities
What I love?
- The restaurant is facing the sea. The lounge area, which is also a part of the restaurant is where my group stayed most of the time.
- The infinity pool was under construction during our stay. This is definitely a good addition to the resort.
- The massage area was under renovation but still got to use it. Massage costs Php350/hour, and the fact that the massage area is also facing the sea made it more relaxing.

What to improve?
- The resort should have at least informed us ahead of time that there was an ongoing renovation.
- Hammocks at the garden area are nice, but placing it somewhere facing the sea will be nicer.

Food
What I love?
- Their welcome drink (house blend iced tea) was so refreshing.
- They served pretty decent free breakfast.
- Aside from ice-cold beer, they also serve different kind of cocktails.
- The price of items in the menu is reasonable considering the serving size and taste. I love the Kinilaw na Tanigue, perfect to pair with beer during the afternoon chill.


Service
What I love?
- Everyone was attentive enough to adddress our needs.
- Even if the restaurant is already closed, you can still get beer from the guard on duty.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jareriroru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

This resort has lots of potential (right on a nice beach, friendly staff, lovely clean pool, rooms with sea views) but it is let down by the very poor quality of the restaurant and the very basic and not especially clean rooms. Breakfast was included but it was so bad (waited 40 mins for 2 very overlooked cold fried eggs and some stale bread) that we ended up paying to have it elsewhere everyday. Dinner was overpriced (380 pesos for Thai curry out of a can and a tiny portion of cold lumpy mashed potato) and regularly took up to an hour to arrive. We rented a motorbike and went elsewhere but you are not within walking distance of other restaurants. Rooms were OK - nice balconies and a good size but stained bedding, water that periodically didn't work, noisy AC and a light switch that gave us electric shocks every time we used it. You can find better places on siquijor!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siquijor Island hotels
8.2 km away
Coco Grove Beach Resort
14.6 km away
Casa de la Playa Beach Resort
7.2 km away
Infinity Heights Resort
Infinity Heights Resort
#1 of 2 in Siquijor
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tori's Paradise
Tori's Paradise
#8 of 10 in Siquijor Island
56 reviews
18.4 km away
Buco Beach Resort Siquijor
11.7 km away
Gold View Beach Resort
Gold View Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Siquijor
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Inn

Address: | Dumanhog, 6225, Philippines (Formerly Dumanhog Blue Wave Resort)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Siquijor Island
Price Range: €24 - €45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Wave Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing