We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
106
34
13
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
34
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful setting great dinner michelin star last night an amazing view nice hotel dessert maggiore garden charm lake renovation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

I still give it 4 points, because the location is absolutely stunning, the views from the room, the breakfast patio and the pool are beautiful.
However, the owners should take care of a couple of things as the Hotel kinda gives the impression that its best times have passed. Wifi is only available near the front desk, certain interiors need a renovation and the restaurant still prices as if it still had its Michelin star but does not live up to that anymore (see separate review for the restaurant).
The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the cleaning service is phenomenal (twice a day, very attentive). Rooms have a certain, kind of old-fashioned style, they have their charm though. A/C is working fine but should be cleaned thoroughly.

Would I come back? Not sure... for people seeking quiet and a stunning location at a bit of a too high price it is still a good choice though.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kinimod88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIORELLA N, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Sole Di Ranco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per la sua preziosa recensione. Provvederemo entro breve a potenziare la nostra rete Wi-fi in modo che sia disponibile da ogni parte dell'albergo e del ristorante. Lo stile che caratterizza la struttura è quello che ci identifica dal 1850, curato nei minimi dettagli che, a volte può sembrare datato, ma indubbiamente molto caratteristico. Speriamo vivamente di poterla rincontrare presto.
Fiorella Nicotera (Ufficio Stampa)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We had (again) a very nice and tasty dinner at this restaurant overviewing Laggo Maggiore. The staff is also very helpfull and friendly. I can recommend the restaurant if you are looking for a high quality dinner in a beautiful and friendly environment.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martje D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIORELLA N, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Sole Di Ranco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for having shared your experience. We hope to meet you as soon as possible.
Fiorella Nicotera (Ufficio Stampa)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Stopped here on our last night for a celebratory dinner and will look back on it with fond memories for many months, probably years to come. Certainly not cheap, but worth every penny, and a view that is absolutely priceless. If you're looking to spoil yourself, look no further!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night at this charming hotel. The perfume of jasmine as we walked up the garden path was breathtaking as was the view over the lake. Ok, the room was a bit dated and we didn't need the upstairs lounge, but the bathroom was modern with a large shower and fluffy towels.
We had booked a table in advance and decided on the "Menu surprise" which at 100 euros is not cheap but it was well worth the money. The homemade ravioli with ricotta and walnuts, served with tomato coulis and prawns was delicious. The pigeon was beautifully cooked and the dessert a wonderful conclusion. The accompanying wine selection passed perfectly to the food.
Most of all, the attentative service personnel who all seem to enjoy their work and the romantic terrace with view over the lake made this an unforgettable experience for us.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We are quite pleased that we found this hotel + restaurant for our last stay in Italy. Friendly staff, funny room (bedroom in etage), big warm pool, beautiful lake view from the room and a very good restaurant. The breakfast however consisted mostly of sweets and was a bit of a disappointment considering the connected restaurant.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews