We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the view”
Review of Vista Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista Lago
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

As other reviewers have commented, this hotel's primary asset is its view - perhaps one of the most beautiful in the world. Ask for a top floor room to see it at its best - the twin bed option has an enormous terrace with room for sunbathing and simply enjoying the visage.

The hotel itself is somewhat dated. My room lacked air conditioning , although the hotel provided a useful fan, and mosquitos were an issue. The bathroom, whilst clean, was small and dark. Service was very good and the staff polite and welcoming.

Despite its shortcomings, I would recommend this hotel on the basis of its magnificent view. It may also be worth looking at other options in Brunate.

Room Tip: Top floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acf90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    31
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
15
62
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
København
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The funiculare is being repaired for July sothe only way to go to Como is by bus.
The breakfast was below average, but the staff is helpfull and the rooms were clean. .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rostedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Amazing view from this hotel with very friendly and helpful staff to ensure you feel right at home. The rooms are modern and clean but could do with some sound proofing between the rooms.

Location wise it is worth checking the Como to Brunate Funicular is working as travelling via bus up the mountain can be a little tiresome and limiting. I believe the Funicular is closed for maintenance from June to July 2011 but worth checking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_skys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

It's quite obvious that the main reason to want to stay in this hotel is the spectacular view over the mountains that the hotel's high altitude offers. This is why we chose it, and we weren't disappointed.

Also, the rooms were modernly equipped, and very clean. Breakfast was alright, and the staff reasonably helpful/friendly.

Sleep quality was not great, although it wasn't the hotel's fault: the church (which is right next to the hotel) rings its unbelievably loud bell every morning at 7, and then later at 8AM or so we would be awoken by some rather uncivilised tourists who wanted to make an early (and noisy) start to each day.

Other than that, this is definitely the kind of hotel you'll want to be coming back to.

Tip: unless you have lots of luggage, park your car at the bottom of the hill (at the level of the lake), and take the funicular to climb up to the hotel; it will probably not be more expensive than the fuel, and you will be much more relaxed, as the drive up the narrow road is long and brutal, and on the other hand the funicular is fast and fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxahatchee, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I truly love this hotel it is the second time I stayed here, the view is unbelievable o lake Como, you go out the back door and you can walk up to the famous lighthouse, everything was abulous again. The staf Christine and the owner and the lady who cleans the rooms Lucciano are so friendly and nice I would stay there even if I had to drive a little ways to see other places. The staf goes out of there way to make you feel great! My husband and I went there in June and he loves it there, too. I you go tell Christine that katie says "ciao" you will be very pleased with your stay.
Sincerely
Catherine Capoccetta

Room Tip: Room facing Como but the side room good view also
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
0.2 km away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
103 reviews
3.9 km away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
253 reviews
2.5 km away
Ostello Villa Olmo
Ostello Villa Olmo
#24 of 32 in Como
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Hotel Il Nibbio
Hotel Il Nibbio
#1 of 1 in Magreglio
115 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#13 of 32 in Como
240 reviews
0.1 km away
Bellavista Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Lago

Property: Vista Lago
Address: 25 Via Roma, 22100 Brunate, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Vista Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Lago Brunate, Lake Como, Italy
Vista Lago Hotel Brunate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing