We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
28
28
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
28
12
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this campsite during August in a tent on one of the front row pitches (definitely worth the extra fee).
The site is quite small, but still has all facilities with amazing views of the lake. The beach is mainly pebbly, but there are beach showers dotted along the front. (No pool, not needed with the lake infront of you!)Smaller boats can moor up on bouys or boats over 5.5m can use the adjacent Solcio marina (cost for launching/crane and moorings on pontoon)
There is a small shop but only sold water, drinks, beers and wine. However at the end of the road to the site there is a small supermarket, selling most things needed including fresh bread. There is also a larger supermarket about a mile from the site.
There are 2 toilet blocks that are regularly cleaned as well as facilities for motorhomes.
The restaurant on the site has a pizza take away as well as eat in. However they do not serve food between 2.30pm and 6pm.
This site is perfect for a peaceful holiday away from the more commercialised campsites that you pay more for and don't necessarily use the facilities.
It is next to a railway line (We got used to the noise as it wasn't constant) and the village church does chime every hour (& half jour)from 7.30am until 10pm, but that's part of being in Italy. I would definitely recommend this site to all groups of people. If you have a boat there are so many places to visit, you can leave the car on site.
Remember to take water shoes and mosquito spray, although we weren't swarmed by them, no different to most campsites in the Mediteranean. The people on the site were very friendly as were the Italians as we visited the surrounding towns.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Holidaymaker014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived early evening had to show passport to book in , none of this a problem. BUT the mosquitoes were horrendous , all three of us were eatan alive. Even when we'd put bug repellent on . We were put on the grassed play area just outsidethe camp site, had smiled and commented to each other about people's large mosquitoe bites so applied bug repellent. BUT these bugs are on another level !!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank loui r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The place is next to the Lago Maggiore, beach is small but lovely. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a mobile home and it vas nice and spacious. There is a small market and restaurant in the camp, bigger market just outside the place and a bus stop with buses to Stresa. Loved it!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank viv19742013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We loved this small, well run campsite in the sleepy little town of Solcio. The campsite doesn't have all the facilities offered by the more touristy campsites in Lake Guards but it is very clean, has a supermarket just outside the campsite that sells fresh bread and an excellent take away pizzeria in the village.
This is an ideal family destination as the campsite runs and excellent kids club that will keep your little ones entertained and happy for six and a half hours per day.
We loved this campsite so much that we booked again for next year before we left this year.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived mid afternoon on a Sunday in June, plenty of space available & good size pitches for a motorhome 7.40 mts long, (there were other motor homes longer but probably advisable to book these as only a few spaces) Pitches are well defined. All the lakeside pitches were taken but as we wanted to use our ACSI discount card these are not available anyway so found a perfect spot one row back from the lake so still had a view.
Very nicely run by friendly people, not all speak English but that wasn't a problem.
Very good toilet & shower facilities which were modern, clean & a pleasure to use (unlike some we have experienced recently in France) Hairdryer available in the shower rooms to use freely.
Excellent laundry room, washing up & disposal points all kept very clean & accessible.
My one negative comment would be that the official photos are rather "flattering" taken with a panoramic lens & give a rather unrealistic view of the site. However it is a beautiful spot, right on the edge of the lake, with a boat yard & marina next door to watch boats. Also the train can be heard but not intrusive.
There is a bus stop very near by with a regular service into Stressa & also a service to Milan. By car very good spot to tour the region.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank RetroGirl_Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews