We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a magnificent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We spent last week at this hotel and had the most wonderful time! This is a superbly comfortable family owned and run hotel with faultless attention to the comfort of customers. It is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean and the food that comes from their kitchens is delightful. We had room 308 which was beautifully furnished with TWO balconies with stunning views over different parts of the lake. We have never had a bad holiday in Italy but this was our best. A lovely family who really care about their guests from 'Maman' elegantly and delightfully in the background to Georgio on the front desk who was a veritable font of local knowledge and the wonderful Andrea who could not do enough for us and he looked after our dining preferences magnificently. Other family members behind the scene and the staff in general (
with a special mention to our Daniel our waiter)are one cohesive unit who really know how to run a hotel and look after guests. A delightful stay and we will most certainly return, thank you!!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Watchman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Fantastic True family ran hotel. Wonderful old fashion furniture but yet modern bathrooms in all the rooms. Friendly staff almost all family members. Great decoration all over the hotel with enlarged family photographs.
Very clean place, nice but small garden, great views and lovely selection of good restaurants with in walking distance. Swimming in lake was fantastic even if the step lader was a bit tricky. What a lovely place

Stayed: July 2017
Thank hiddenmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We returned a few days ago from staying for a week in this lovely hotel as part of a large party of walkers. Gargnano is a small, quiet and pretty village not overburdened with tourists even at this popular time of year. The hotel is set down a side road away from any noise save the lapping of the stunning Lake Garda. Family run for three generations this hotel has character and charm in bucketloads. Stairs and hallways are decorated with fascinating family photographs of by-gone times and staff go out of their way to be helpful. Most seem to speak both excellent English and German (most other guests were German or Austrian). There is a pretty flower-filled garden with sufficient sun-loungers or chairs for most guests and two ladders for access to the lake for swimming (rubber soled shoes recommended as lake bottom is stony). Meals are taken outdoors overlooking the lake or in an elegant dining room also with lake views. The food is good, sometimes excellent and they pride themselves on carrying a wide selection of local wines from small growers at low mark-up prices. We certainly ate and drank well. Possibly the only downside to the hotel is that car parking is very tight with steep and curving access and exit points.
Our 'Panorama' room was of a good size with a large double bed (slightly hard mattress), large 'Belle Epoque' furniture which at least provided sufficient clothes storage space, a big problem in many modern hotels. There was a large balcony with table and two chairs and extensive views over the lake. Beautiful. The bathroom was slightly old fashioned with a tiny corner shower but two plus points for me - a bidet (how do people manage without one) and the best magnifying mirror I have ever come across. There is good and quiet air conditioning but it struggled sometimes when temperature went beyond 36C.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel and very much look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: 211 is probably best room but any Panorama room will have large balcony and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We spent four nights here and what a delightful place to relax. This hotel is located right on the lake and within easy walking distance of town. Our room was quite spacious and had a lovely balcony to sit on and enjoy the activity on the lake. Own room was comfortably furnished and beautifully clean. There is a comfortable lounge area downstairs as well as a small bar area. Upstairs there is a large restaurant with lake views. We ate dinner there one night and enjoyed a lovely meal. All the staff were warm and friendly. Breakfast was served each morning in the beautiful garden setting by the lake. In my opinion the breakfast was one on the nicest we had in our 5 week stay in Italy.
Overall a really lovely place to stay and would highly recommend this quaint family hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

A hotel tucked away up a quiet lane. It only has limited parking and you might have to park on the street, but the staff help with this so it isn't a problem. You can swim in the lake as the hotel doesn't have a pool. It is all very quiet with good meals and a superb location. Helpful staff and lovely grounds. You can walk easily to the ferry point in the nearby area (about 15minutes) but the first ferry is only at 10.30 and is a high speed expensive one, so a bit late for an early start. However the lake is beautiful and well worth the small inconvenience.

Room Tip: Most rooms over look the lake, all be it at an angle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gargnano hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
70 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
24 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#9 of 19 in Gargnano
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#11 of 19 in Gargnano
91 reviews
0.9 km away
Bogliaco Hotel
Bogliaco Hotel
#17 of 19 in Gargnano
102 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Tiziana
Hotel Tiziana
#13 of 19 in Gargnano
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Address: Via Colletta' 53, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#8 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range: €91 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite and charming House located directly on the water in a splendid and peaceful position. The renovated rooms are furnished with old period furniture, are air-conditioned and have a balcony with lake view. The garden with its olive trees, palms and Mediterranean vegetation is the ideal place to relax, wrapped in a triumph of flowers and silence. When the weather is nice, breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the magnificent garden facing the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gardenia Al Lago Gargnano
Gardenia Al Lago Hotel
Hotel Gardenia Al Lago Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing