We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
201
24
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
24
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the lakelovely hotelrecommend this hotelfamily runantique furnituresmall beachstandard roombreakfast and dinnerfamily photographspanoramic roomlovely familyfamily hotelfive nightsexcellent englishsmall gardenferry terminalquiet lane
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Fantastic True family ran hotel. Wonderful old fashion furniture but yet modern bathrooms in all the rooms. Friendly staff almost all family members. Great decoration all over the hotel with enlarged family photographs.
Very clean place, nice but small garden, great views and lovely selection of good restaurants with in walking distance. Swimming in lake was fantastic even if the step lader was a bit tricky. What a lovely place

Stayed: July 2017
Thank hiddenmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We returned a few days ago from staying for a week in this lovely hotel as part of a large party of walkers. Gargnano is a small, quiet and pretty village not overburdened with tourists even at this popular time of year. The hotel is set down a side road away from any noise save the lapping of the stunning Lake Garda. Family run for three generations this hotel has character and charm in bucketloads. Stairs and hallways are decorated with fascinating family photographs of by-gone times and staff go out of their way to be helpful. Most seem to speak both excellent English and German (most other guests were German or Austrian). There is a pretty flower-filled garden with sufficient sun-loungers or chairs for most guests and two ladders for access to the lake for swimming (rubber soled shoes recommended as lake bottom is stony). Meals are taken outdoors overlooking the lake or in an elegant dining room also with lake views. The food is good, sometimes excellent and they pride themselves on carrying a wide selection of local wines from small growers at low mark-up prices. We certainly ate and drank well. Possibly the only downside to the hotel is that car parking is very tight with steep and curving access and exit points.
Our 'Panorama' room was of a good size with a large double bed (slightly hard mattress), large 'Belle Epoque' furniture which at least provided sufficient clothes storage space, a big problem in many modern hotels. There was a large balcony with table and two chairs and extensive views over the lake. Beautiful. The bathroom was slightly old fashioned with a tiny corner shower but two plus points for me - a bidet (how do people manage without one) and the best magnifying mirror I have ever come across. There is good and quiet air conditioning but it struggled sometimes when temperature went beyond 36C.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel and very much look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: 211 is probably best room but any Panorama room will have large balcony and wonderful views.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We spent four nights here and what a delightful place to relax. This hotel is located right on the lake and within easy walking distance of town. Our room was quite spacious and had a lovely balcony to sit on and enjoy the activity on the lake. Own room was comfortably furnished and beautifully clean. There is a comfortable lounge area downstairs as well as a small bar area. Upstairs there is a large restaurant with lake views. We ate dinner there one night and enjoyed a lovely meal. All the staff were warm and friendly. Breakfast was served each morning in the beautiful garden setting by the lake. In my opinion the breakfast was one on the nicest we had in our 5 week stay in Italy.
Overall a really lovely place to stay and would highly recommend this quaint family hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

A hotel tucked away up a quiet lane. It only has limited parking and you might have to park on the street, but the staff help with this so it isn't a problem. You can swim in the lake as the hotel doesn't have a pool. It is all very quiet with good meals and a superb location. Helpful staff and lovely grounds. You can walk easily to the ferry point in the nearby area (about 15minutes) but the first ferry is only at 10.30 and is a high speed expensive one, so a bit late for an early start. However the lake is beautiful and well worth the small inconvenience.

Room Tip: Most rooms over look the lake, all be it at an angle!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I loved this hotel. There were lots of positives. The Arosio family who have owned the house since 1925, were so friendly and welcoming – they really understand the importance of excellent customer service.

The hotel overlooks Lake Garda. The pretty garden and terrace run right down to the lakeside (with a low wall as a barrier!). You can enjoy breakfast, an evening meal or drink within a few feet of the water’s edge. There’s a pleasant walk past a picturesque harbour down to the village and ferry terminal – about 15/20 minutes’ stroll. In the opposite direction, only 5 minutes’ walk away, is a modern café overlooking a small beach.

Our room, no 309, was a-ma-zing! The view of the lake as we opened the French doors to the balcony was stunning. Lake and sky were so blue, a contrast to the luscious colourful garden. It was spacious, comfortable and quiet - apart from a blackbird singing heartily outside! Air conditioning was quiet and effective. Retaining its traditional style, the hotel has a 20’s charm with delightful antique furniture from the period yet it was light and spacious. You felt that any moment Hercule Poirot was going to shuffle around the corner! There were lots of interesting photos of the Arosio family along the corridors and even on the lift doors. The family were piano makers in Lodi, south of Milan, and I enjoyed playing one of their earlier models which was in the lounge.

Food was excellent too. Delicious dinners and we had a great choice at breakfast. Overall, I can thoroughly recommend this wonderful hotel. You won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: No 309 had wonderful lake side view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews