We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
phstevie2002
Kidderminster, United Kingdom

Okay stay

Review of Hotel Spectrum
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2023via mobile
After reading some of the reviews I was apprehensive about staying here but it really wasn’t bad. Check in was smooth, parking can be limited but we always got a space. The room was large and the bathroom looked new. Beds were comfy and the room was clean. It actually reminded me of a basic travelodge in the UK. Breakfast was continental and was okay. The restaurant/bar wasn’t open in the evening which was a shame. We ate in the town every evening which was about ten to fifteen minutes walk away through a tower block estate which turned out to be perfectly safe. It’s a cheap hotel so don’t expect too much but we stayed for 5 nights and it was really okay.
My only criticism was there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and nowhere to get a drink of any kind after about ten pm so if you do stay here make sure you stock up as it’s either that or tap water.
Date of stay: February 2023
Room Tip: Plenty of good restaurants in the town. Don’t lose your key card as hotel is not staffed from...
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
profile 2016
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Hotel Spectrum
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Hotel Spectrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    €89
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Hotel Spectrum
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Business Double Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotel Spectrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
St. Nicolaus Basilica (50 metres from hotel)
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Hotel Spectrum
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Apartment Exclusive
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Hotel Spectrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Hotel Spectrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Hotel Spectrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Hotel Spectrum
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
2.0 km from Hotel Spectrum
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Trnava
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
12
11
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
11
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheap hotel room was clean receptionist city centre parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2022 via mobile

Arriving at the Hotel Spectrum in Trnava was not immediately inspiring; imagine you're in a dodgy-looking industrial estate in Slough that's been on Crimewatch. There's a gaggle of sketchy characters outside, some smoking enthusiastically, others spitting vigorously and some legendary multi-taskers are managing both. We enter reception and the smell-scape is an instant olfactory classic: high notes of boiled cabbage, embracing stale sweat and diesel with an undertone of despair interlaced with anxiety. The receptionist is a sullen, rude woman in her early thirties with ambitions of doing other things like pole-dancing with a snake or running escorts from a van. We check-in and, ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, our fate is now sealed for the next 5 days in Trnava - for there are no rooms or hotel places available thanks to the World Powerlifting Championships being held there. The room was thoroughly grim, think more custodial sentence than mini-break, more community service than room service. The carpet was a cunningly-coloured faecal-brown affair, no doubt serving as camouflage for the stains and odours lurking deep within its insidious fibres. The bed was rock-hard and creaked constantly, the pillows were huge and stuffed with lumpy matter that defied successful identification, even after 5 days of strenuous and committed scrutiny. The bathroom was scuzzy with mould creeping around the edges of the shower almost as if even this hapless fungal organism harboured its very own deep concerns about stopping at the Hotel Rectum which is what by now we had taken to calling it. I am 55 and have travelled and stayed in hotels in almost 80 countries, so is the very worst hotel I've stayed in? Almost folks but that notorious accolade still belongs to The Hotel Lefkas, an establishment where, unlike the Hotel Rectum, the guests spat in the actual hotel rather than just outside it. So my advice is this, unless you're a recklessly adventurous bacteriologist or a novice people-trafficker on a budget, stay far away from this place.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kleopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2018

We have stayed on this hotel for more times already, a good price/performance benchmark. The hotel has a very good location, close to the city arena. The renovated rooms offer a solid standard. Will surely come back!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 773antonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

My love and I stayed in this hotel during our visit to Trnava. Hotel has 3 stars, and overall is ok hotel. Nothing fancy, nothing much, but it is ok. Rooms are clean, wc and bathroom also clean. Lift is litlle bit too small, but it is rather fast. Breakfast is ok, but not much. I had better breakfast in other hotels. Hotel looks like a apartment buillding so you can miss it from the road. Overall place is ok, but not much.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 166juricah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Our group of nine enjoyed hotel spectrum for the clean rooms, fresh towels, comfortable bedding, and balconies. Although we didn't eat at the restaurant, it looked enjoyable! The rooms begin on the second floor of the building, and though we were never sure if the elevators worked, it wasn't much of an issue. The rooms are well-Lit and spacious, with closet space, a nice bathroom with a great shower, and a sink with drawers. The TV worked great and we felt safe. Although it's not downtown, there is super easy walking access to the rest of Trnava. Sure, Spectrum isn't the Marriott, but if you're on a budget and looking for a place to stay, it does the job.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank katiemadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Situation close to the city.large spacy room with all the confort necessary. People from the hotel were friendly happy to held , kindly and could speak enough english to communicate with non slovakian people

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 225dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews