We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding meal”

Ristorante L'Antico Forziere
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Deruta
Price range: US$35 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: CLOSED ON MONDAY In their warm manner the Rodella family welcomes guests into this ancient building where huge beams, brick arches and wonderful views all lend a special atmosphere. Garden with its flowers and scents and the picturesque swimming pool overlook the wide Tiber River valley. Restaurant offers a blend of traditional and creative cooking resulting in mouth-watering dishes that complement perfectly the atmospheric dining room or the summer terrace for lunch or for dinner by candlelight.
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We ate at the restaurant as an optional excursion during our Globus tour. It was an outstanding meal in a wonderful picturesque restaurant. Everything was very well presented and the tastes were superb. We were so glad that we opted to take this optional excursion.

Thank LGC_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMLR78, Proprietario at Ristorante L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review and thank you very much to chose the excursion to Deruta with the Globus tour operator.
I hope you will come back in the future in Umbria and I hope you will choose again our restaurant.

Kind regards,
Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

We made reservations and found our way there even though our GPS gave us a hard time discovering the restaurant on the "other" side of the road. It was the most formal restaurant we ate at in the area but it was perfect. Everything was just as it should be. The staff all knew just what they were doing and they performed wonderfully. Every course was cooked and served perfectly. Waiters were knowledgeable and professional.
The courses were Italian Large and every item was done perfectly. This really deserves its reputation as the best in town and in the entire area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMLR78, Proprietario at Ristorante L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you very much ror your review, we are very happy you appreciated so much our restaurant and our dishes. Maybe from New york will be not so easy to come back very soon but I hope when you will come back in Umbria you will not forget to visit again L'Antico Forziere.

Kind regards,
Samuele Rodella
(Waiter/owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Good food and wine. Friendly host speakes english. Make sure you have dessert. Looks good tastes great

Thank winny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMLR78, Proprietario at Ristorante L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you very much for the review and the rating, I'm just sorry we did not receive your best rating and we hope to obtain it at your next visit.

Kind regards,
Samuele Rodella
L'Antico Forziere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

This was a second visit for us, the first time was just for dinner which was so good that we booked accommodation so we could enjoy the restaurant properly.
They have now, quite rightly, been awarded a place in the top 100 Italian Restaurants. There is a good choice on the menu and the food is delicious. The staff are, I think, all family and they really care. Wines have been chosen well, we had a white and a red from the house choice and they were really good.
We'll be back

Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuele R, Proprietario at Ristorante L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thanks again for all, we were very happy to welcome you and your wife in our hotel and we are very happy you appreciated so much once again our restaurant.
Thank you for your review, I really hope to meeting you again on your next trip in Umbria.

Kind regards,
Samuele and Rodella family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Had a evening meal here on 30/6/17. What a wonderful experience. The food was presented beautifully and it tasted amazing. So much so we went back on the 4/7/17 for our last holiday night meal.
It was well worth the money. Lovely food and great staff.

Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuele R, Proprietario at Ristorante L'Antico Forziere, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thanks again for your visits and your so wonderful review, we appreciated it very much.
I hope you will come back in Umbria and at L'Antico Forziere as well. I wish you the best for the summer and I hope you always recommend the Umbria region to all.

Kind regards,
Samuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante L'Antico Forziere also viewed

Deruta, Province of Perugia
Deruta, Province of Perugia
 
Collepepe, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante L'Antico Forziere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing