We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and delicious”

George V Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
George V Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$228
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The graceful setting, with rich, panelled walls and twinkling Waterford Crystal chandeliers bestows a grand sense of occasion. Our resident pianist plays softly in the background while you relax and enjoy exceptional dishes from the kitchen of acclaimed Chef Philippe Farineau, recently awarded two rosettes by the AA Hospitality Awards, combined with much loved recipes of Beatrice Tollman and complemented by a fine selection of wines from Chief Sommelier, Robert Bowe.
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We stayed in the Castle and had a fabulous dinner one night. The service and treatment was excellent. It was pricey but worth it for the fine food and service. Note that men need to wear jackets to dinner and they have some on hand to lend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at George V Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Mike P,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your "George V" Dining Experience, we are delighted to learn you had an enjoyable evening.

I look forward to hopefully having the opportunity to welcome you back in person again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018

What a special room for a 5 course meal. The victorian decor and period antique furniture give expectations for a fine meal. We were not disappointed in our dinner meal and service - breakfast was equally as pleasant. Gentlemen MUST wear a jacket for dinner (they do have loaners...)

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank bonitabuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at George V Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear bonitabuffalo,

Thank you for your feedback and sharing your thoughts.
We are delighted you had an enjoyable experience with us in the George V, and do hope we get the oppertunoity to welcome you back to us again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Fantastic food but what make its exceptional are the staff and the level of service they provide. Breakfast is a special treat best eggs bendict Ive ever had, but even that is overshadowed by the like of Breege an absolutley charmer of a server who not only do a brilliant job but do it with charm and elegance and make a great experience unforgetable.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Grumpy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at George V Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Grumpy47,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are thrilled you enjoyed your breakfast experience and delighted you met our Wonderful Breege. I will be sure your share your comments with her and the team.

We look forward to hopefully having the opportunity to welcoime you back to us again in the near future,.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Where do I begin? This was undoubtedly one of the best meals I’ve ever had! After being seated by the Maitre’d, Martin Gibbons, We had our own waitress throughout the evening.A five course dinner, beginning with the warm Connemara lobster in a light crust. Absolutely delicious! Creme of Prawn Bisque soup was next, followed by a palate cleanse. The main course, beef sliced to our wishes (next time I’ll have the lamb). The deserts were decadent chocolate accompanied by a simply wonderful hot cocoa.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Pamela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at George V Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Pamela55,

Thank you ever so much for your review, which are delighted to read.
I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Martin and his team.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to us again soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Being within Ashford Castle, the environment as one walks to the restaurant sets the stage for a special experience, which includes the historical ambiance of the room itself.

The tasting menu options were varied enough to find what suits one’s palate and the food was delicious and not too over the top in style for those who aren’t foodies.

The wine list is quite extensive with a good range of wines by the glass including more important or vintage style wines, perfect for matching to individual courses or dining with someone who doesn’t drink alcohol. The woman who was our sommelier was excellent in her recommendations and manner.

The annoying part of the experience was at the beginning; the wait staff seemed eager to get us ordering and move our meal along into progress, likely to keep the balance of servers to tables at optimum levels throughout the evening. Because I was with my 16 year old nephew, we needed time to examine the menu and discuss what would please him the most. It should have been clear, with our menus open and constantly referencing them in our conversation that we were not ready. Despite that, in a short period of time, two different waiters came to ask us if we wanted to order three times and even though we’d not fully finished our discussion, realized that it would not stop until we did, so we ordered. In no way did we take a long time and it’s a good thing that the meal smoothed and was quite enjoyable once the service began.

The other small thing was a spoon with an obvious piece of food not cleaned and when asked for another, no comment was made by staff, they just replaced it.

It’s a shame, other than these items that I pointed out, it was a good meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BorderTerrierMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at George V Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear BorderTerrierMom2,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your George V Experience.
While we are delighted you enjoyed your meal and the journey once your order was place, I am sorry to read you felt rushed for your order to be placed and that unsuitable cutlery was presented.
I will be sure to speak to our Restaurant Manager on this, and investigate further as to how these bumps occurred.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to us again in the near future, thanking you once again for your review.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George V Dining Room also viewed

 
Lahardaun, County Mayo
 

Been to George V Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing