We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A week's holiday in County Mayo/Galway”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Pio Luxury Apartment ,Cong, Mayo, Ireland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Pio Luxury Apartment ,Cong, Mayo, Ireland
Villa Pio Luxury Apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Villa Pio Luxury Apartment ,Cong, Mayo, Ireland
Villa Pio Luxury Apartment
Luxury Apartment Cong, Mayo, Ireland. Near Ashford Castle and the Lodge at Ashford a popular venue.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cong, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craig O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A week's holiday in County Mayo/Galway”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cong. The Villa Pio apartment was to a high standard, and Ann and her husband made us fell most welcome. Cong is an excellent base for exploring, and the town itself has a good vibe with places to eat for all budgets.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosan C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We so enjoyed our stay at Villa Pio... Anne was just fantastic! she maid us feel so welcome and it was home from home. So warm and comfortable everything we needed was there for us even down to tea, coffe and sugar,, the beds were so comfortable and clean white sheets and towels. Lots of information available about where to go and what to do..even down to books , and wonderful dvd's about the local area which was so helpful. Thank you so much Anne. We will so look forward to our next visit to beautiful Cong in Co Mayo. The best kept secret in Ireland. Thank you so much.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scriobhai
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is new (3 years old). It is located behind the main house which is a B & B. We had a wonderful stay with the only downside of intermittent wifi. The king size bed was comfortable and the shower was the best we had of all the places we stayed. Location was just down the road from Ashford Castle and minutes from Cong. The grounds were beautiful with many flowers in bloom. Ann and her husband, Marty were very gracious hosts and even loaned us "The Quiet Man" to watch. You can't visit Cong and not watch this movie!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Vllia Pio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the shower
Liked least: Intermittent wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonraker...
Wiltshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great find in a wonderful location and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I wanted to visit Cong because of Nora Roberts' The Dark Witch Trilogy of books set in the area. She brings locations alive with her writing and the reality was every bit as good if not better than the novels.
We like being independant and Villa Pio offers you the best of both worlds as the owner, Ann and her husband, Marty, are on hand next door if you need anything at all.
In fact Marty is the local taxi driver too and takes a pride in the chauffeur service he provides. We know this because we saw him cleaning the car before taking us to celebrate our birthdays with High Tea at Ashford Castle.
Others have noted that the hot water is in short supply and the towels are not plentiful or big enough and do not dry in time. My answer to this is you need to follow Ann's instructions to ensure all switches are on for the water, the towels are bath towels not bath sheets which do dry if hung over the shower door during the day.
You do need coins for the electric meter but this used wisely is not expensive. It take 1 and 2 Euro coins. We did not have any coins on arrival but Ann was happy to exchange a note for coins.
The apartment is well equipped, clean and has more than you would expect in the way of white goods and electronics. i.e Includes a radio/cd player and DVD player as well as the tv.
Easy enough to pick up shopping in Tesco, Ballinrobe, on the way from Knock airport to the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of welcome
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, friendly owners in quiet surrounds.”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our hosts Marty and Anne were genuinely warm, friendly and very helpful. They provided us with lots of information about the local area including attractions, shops, pubs and restaurants. The also provided transport in and out of the village for a modest fee.

The apartment is modern, well equipped and very comfortable. On top of that it sits in beautiful, quiet rural surrounds with only the local cattle for company.

The village of Cong is an excellent place to stroll around, with lots of history to explore and plenty of places to eat and drink. A walk around the grounds of Ashford Castle and a Lough Corrib cruise are well worth the effort.

Cong is also a good spot to stay when exploring other places in this part of Ireland. It is an easy drive to places like Roundstone and Kylemore Abbey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounds
Liked least: The Village was a little far to walk into at night but this was offset by the transport provided by the owners.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing