We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$2,060
View deal
TravelocityUS$2,060
Ashford CastleUS$2,059
Hotels.comUS$2,060
TripadvisorUS$2,060
FindHotelUS$2,060
Orbitz.comUS$2,060
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,852)
Filter reviews
2,852 results
Traveller rating
2,563
181
61
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,563
181
61
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george v afternoon tea horseback riding hawk walk once in a lifetime like royalty falconry school front gate boat tour bucket list high tea drawing room lough corrib irish wolf hounds prince of wales quiet man zip lining
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 2,852 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2022

Second trip here and it didn't disappoint the second time around either. Stayed for 2 nights, if you can stretch the budget, do, it's definitely worth luxuriating in the idyllic surrounds for as long as you possibly can!
Every single member of staff go beyond and above to cater to your needs - nothing is too much and it really does feel like a home. Felt very safe with their covid safety protocols in place.
Dinner in the Dungeon was a bit underwhelming - not sure what we expected (separate review).
Dinner in the George V room was lovely, you're made to feel like kings and queens! Food choices were great and enjoyed not being rushed during the courses.
Breakfast also in the George V room was lovely - they have a juice sommelier - who knew such a thing existed!
Went on a trek on horseback around the grounds and lake - blessed with the weather and a very sturdy, comfortable cob called Rocky! Staff in the adventure centre friendly, experienced and pleasant to chat to for the hour or so going through the grounds.
Walked back from the village along the river - the grounds are really superb, but bring your wellies, especially in winter, can be a bit mucky.
Have already started saving for this years trip!
Thanks to all the staff who really do make this place even more special.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2022

Dear KatB15 ,

I am thrilled to learn that you were made to feel like royalty during your stay with us at Ashford Castle and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

It is a pleasure to read that it was the staff who contributed so highly to the enjoyment of your stay. Please know your comments have been shared amongst everyone here and it provides the team with a real sense of motivation to read such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ashford Castle soon.

Warmest regards,
Niall Rochford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2022

The warm, friendly, genuine welcome greeting at the Gate sets the tone for this experience before you even lay eyes on the Castle! The staff have a way of making you feel as if they know you and are welcoming a friend to their home. The concierge greeted us immediately upon pulling up outside the door and from then on we felt everyone we encountered just couldn't do enough for us.
Marie checked us in and made us feel so comfortable and at ease and served our special welcome drink. She showed us around and we felt settled straight away. The bedroom was so beautiful and cosy. Our daughters had a lovely hand written note from the pastry chef as well as a welcome pack from Guest Services which was so appreciated.
Afternoon tea was delicious and Daryl was very nice, our 8 year old daughter was won over by the candy floss and chocolate milkshake! This experience is so relaxing, you could spend hours! We had a lovely wine tasting with Louise who taught us a thing or two! Dinner and breakfast in George V was divine. Drinks and music in the lobby after dinner were the perfect way to end our night. We felt Cathal in Guest Services is just made for his job, so friendly and genuinely wanted us to get the most out of our stay.
The Castle is so beautiful inside and out, and the grounds are so peaceful. You feel immersed in nature wherever you go for a walk. Horse riding was a wonderful experience for our 8 year old.
We met the Wolfhounds in the Billiards room and Catherine went out of her way to show us the cinema before we left so we didn't miss anything!!! And back to the rest of the staff who really did make our stay, they all seemed so happy to have us visit and showed real interest in chatting and enhancing our stay. Thank you all!

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2022

Dear Niamh Q,

Greetings from Ashford Castle.

The team at the estate are thrilled to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you felt welcomed from start to finish.

We are proud to understand that alongside our beautiful surrounds and many experiences, the team at Ashford Castle were a standout memory.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Ashford Castle in a not too distant future.

Warmest regards,
Niall Rochford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2022 via mobile

We booked Ashford Castle three days before we arrived. We had exceptional expectations of this hotel. When we pulled into the driveway we were met by an exceptionally friendly gentleman who gave us a very very warm welcome. We drove up the driveway which takes about five minutes you turn around to the right there is a spectacular view of this sensational Castle. On arrival to the footbridge we were met by another gentleman again terribly terribly friendly very warm welcome.
We pulled up to the front door and three concierge arrived before I knew I was inside the hotel checking in with a beautiful hot whiskey drink.
This hotel is spectacular and it should be on your bucket list to do at least once in your life time. The food is exceptional the welcome and service is the best I’ve ever had in my whole entire life. We took the boat journey across the lake and again service sensational had a fantastic history lesson on the local area not to mention John Wayne and the quiet man. We were to stay for one night and stayed for three it’s that good. I can’t wait to get back to this Hotel
Karl

Room tip: If your in the Hotel Sit back relax and enjoy the 6 Star Service Nothing is to much and to much is nothing !! It’s really that Good 😌!!!
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank karlhannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2022

Dear karlhannigan,

I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you after your recent stay with us at Ashford Castle. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and all we have to offer both here in the Castle and on the Estate.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your 3 nights stay and that you found the team to be exceptionally friendly and the service warm and the best you ever experienced.
Thank you also for your high words of praise regarding the food, your history lesson and of course The Quiet Man.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us and I hope to welcome you back to Ashford Castle in the near future, hopefully you might catch a fish on your next visit!

Warmest regards,
Niall Rochford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

From arrival at castle gate, we (family of 2 adults & 2 teenagers) had the most wonderful experience on return visit to very special place! Dinner in George V was sublime - service so good as was food. Cosy bar area & after wonderful night’s sleep,an equally wonderful breakfast !
Can’t recommend highly enough !

Room tip: Valet parking impeccable - if you get chance, avail of on-site activities - this time we did Archery (with instructor Dillon)
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nanseroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2022

Dear nanseroh,

I am thrilled to learn that you were were made feel welcome during your stay with us at Ashford Castle and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

It is a pleasure to read that it was the staff who contributed so highly to the enjoyment of your stay. Please know your comments have been shared amongst everyone here and it provides the team with a real sense of motivation to read such positive feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ashford Castle soon.

Warmest regards,
Niall Rochford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2021

This was our second visit this year and was again really excellent . Everything from when we arrived to when we left was just perfect. Every member of staff we met during our 3 day stay were excellent. We felt very safe with the Covid Protocols in place in the Hotel. Cant wait to return again in 2022.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skull0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2022

Dear skull0107,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share you review after your recent stay with us at Ashford Castle. It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were made to feel comfortable and safe all the way from check in to check out.

Please know I have since shared your comments amongst everyone here and it provides the team with a real sense of motivation to read such positive feedback. It is always such a pleasure to read that the staff contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

I do hope that we will welcome you back to Ashford Castle in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Niall Rochford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews