We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved by Lisloughrey Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Saved by Lisloughrey Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Lisloughrey Lodge staff saved me from a terrible B&B and reminded me how well we do food, service, craic and weddings in Ireland!

Wonderful wedding, beautiful room, great service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    163
    59
    19
    13
See reviews for
167
450
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed in Lisloughrey (as it was known then, wish they didn't change the name!) on a Sunday night, having taken a very rare Monday off work after a Christening in Achill. We were going to head to Westport but en route a friend recommended Lisloughrey, I rang and was shocked to get the room for €85 for the night - incredible value, we actually thought that might have been per person sharing but no that was for the room and included breakfast! Now in saying that I've often had a look to see if we could get a similar deal but it seems to be €90 PPS.

It was the most amazing stay I've had in any hotel anywhere, the decor was out of this world, with fabulous candles lit everywhere and flowers all over the place. Fabulous little touches all over the place too, a book shelf filled with wellies in every colour and size that you can borrow, a games room with padded walls, bean bags and couches, the whole place was just beautiful. The Salt room was closed as it was Sunday so we had dinner downstairs, the menu looked great but the food was only average, the only not totally impressive experience we had. Our room was just out of this world, absolutely loved it. I can't believe it's a 4 star! Far superior to most 5 stars I've stayed in. After dinner we borrowed a DVD from their big DVD collection which was just so relaxing. Unfortunately we slept in and missed breakfast but got a late check out and ordered scones with cream and jam and cappuccino's to the room which was just bliss for a Monday morning. We wen t for a walk around the grounds of Ashford Castle afterwards which is just spectacular (the inside not so much!).


Overall would highly recommend - such a lovely place for a quiet get away. They seem to have changed their website and it's really hard to use now, I've never heard of anyone downgrading their website before! I don't know why they changed the name, it had such a lovely identity by itself, I think the Lodge at Ashford sounds like an outhouse! I've seen some of the pics of it recently online and it looks like it's lost a little of it's charm since we stayed there but hopefully not! The yellow in the hall looks nowhere near as warm and welcoming and luxurious as the red but hopefully the pics just aren't doing it justice. We loved it so much we plan on getting married there but want to have another look first!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zara_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here when we attended a family wedding, the rooms were so large with great bathrooms, nice comfy beds and lovely views. The staff were friendly and nothing you asked was too much trouble for them. A really gem, if you are in the area it is worth a stay. There is a hot tub however we didn't manage to make use of it, because before we knew it, it was time to go home.

Room Tip: all the rooms i saw were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ireallywanttogothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is a stunning property - fabulous views - lovely food - the staff were very friendly and helpful - well worth a trip to cong.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty42Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Lodge at Ashford was formerly known as Lisloughrey Lodge and is or was a lodge on the Ashford Castle Estate. The world famous Ashford Castle that is.

The Lodge itself is a real gem. Front of house we were greeted by charming and helpful staff who couldnt have made us feel more at home. Our room was elegantly laid out and very comfortable with a marvellous sweeping view of the Estate. One of the real delights of this place is the beautiful woodland walk from the Lodge down to the Castle itself, there is a old Irish cottage style pub en route just outside the Moat and the Castle Walls, take some time to enjoy a slow pint of stout and marvel at the beauty thats around you.
Fine dining is available also at the Lodge - both myself and my wife throroughly enjoyed our meal.

Cong itself is the nearby village - is very pretty. The Quiet Man film was shot here and at Ashford and the village itself has changed little since then.

In short the Lodge is a beautiful place to stay, but add in the setting of Ashford Castle and Cong Village the whole experience is just perfect. Perfect for a weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrackerMackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.7 km away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
28.6 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
32.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.7 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
33.2 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
9.3 km away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Property: The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing