We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST”
Review of The Hungry Monk Cafe - CLOSED

The Hungry Monk Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

The good news is that this restaurant serves the best food and the ambiance is magnificent. We loved the seafood chowder and the fish cakes. In fact, for the rest of the trip I tried to find equally good chowder and cakes.... a great place to stop after the Cliffs of Moher and the Burrens. A lovely harbor. I would come back in a flash!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank BASTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

The place only has a few tables so if you go around noon time you will beat the crowd. The menu is printed on a large chalk board of about 7-8 items. I chose the tuna melt that was very good, which came with a small salad and potato wedges. The other got the “Lovely Salad” that came with a nice slice of ham ( delicious), 1/2 slices of egg and sliced Parmesan. It was very good. Prices were very reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 805nsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

A nice little place with good selection for lunch. We had the tuna sandwich and it was just delicious. The deserts are all home made and were yummy!! Coffee was good, excellent Cortado. The service was great, very friendly. We sure will return there to try other dishes.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Orna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

While driving through Cong, we spotted this beautiful little place and decided to go inside through the welcoming half door. Food, service and variety were excellent, all served up by a friendly waitress.
Do call if you are passing.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Johndefender110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We have just had breakfast here and I have to say it was one of the best breakfasts we have had anywhere. The hungry monk is cosy and welcoming and you definitely won’t leave hungry!! From cook breakfast to coffee and cake everything is locally sourced and presented beautifully. The girl who served us was very friendly and welcoming. We can’t wait to come back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Becs674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hungry Monk Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing