We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,105)
Filter reviews
12,105 results
Traveller rating
8,530
2,130
765
423
257
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,530
2,130
765
423
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martini bar health bar santa fe swim up room sand bags casita section k team fuentes pool la isla pool our honeymoon outdoor shower room service swing bar greenhouse tour personal concierge wine pairing jo jos
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 12,105 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

I really hate to be "that" reviewer - so let me set the landscape.... My wife and I, (17 years married) got to take a trip with some friends for 4 nights...without our kids! Just the idea of not having our kids was vacation-enough! but wait...this is supposed to be a 4-5 star resort right? and we don't have our kids with us!? Sounds great!
Time out.
The rooms are dated....which i didnt care at first - but when the AC started to slow down on day 2, that was concerning - and when the room keys didn't work on Days 2,3,4 - that was downright frustrating!

The dining was a solid 4 out of 5 - but the service was a JOKE. It was incredibly slow, regardless of how many people were in the restaurant. Everyone was so nice, but then it was as if they had short-term memory - and some of your order just didnt make it. What?

The resort is enormous. ENORMOUS. So you'll have to get shuttle rides to get around - which is fine, but you have to coordinate with when they're running - so that's it's own challenge - just another thing I didnt want to deal with.

The pool bars closed at 5PM daily. 5PM! What? and you couldnt get food service at the pools - so that was a pain. So you hang out at the pool all day drinking - but you have to go hunt for food! what a pain.

We opted for the swim-up pool, but there's virtually no privacy because the pool is connecting multiple buildings, so it's more of a little lazy river rather than a private pool.

My advice, at least look around at your options. Would I go again? It'd have to be incredibly cheap, otherwise - nah, i'll look at my options .
Check out Finest resorts, or Excellence Resorts - both worth considering.

Room Tip: if you go, ask to stay in the NEW SECTION
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Daniel M ,

Thank you for your recent review , sharing your experiences of you most recent visit to El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma

Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection ensuring our guest with the most relaxing experience and we are very sorry if you fell short during your stay with us.

Please rest assured we have addressed your experiences with the corresponding department heads for their internal review, which will help us to perfect the quality of our service and ensure our guests have a luxurious environment to enjoy their vacation experience here in Mexico

Thank you once again , your feedback is truly invaluable to us.

Kind Regards,
Your Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned from 11 nights, mostly very good with a few reservations. Restaurants generally good with Kampai being excellent, wish we had discovered it sooner than our last night! We stayed in a swim up room, the room itself very dated with, we discovered on the last day, a very mouldy bed base (check yours!). The swim up was a god send on the very hot days after the beach in the morning. The room itself was a good size but as mentioned very dated. The mini bar was filled up every day except one, but when mentioned this was rectified straight away.
We booked a trip through the TUI reps to Sian Kahn, which turned out to be much more expensive than the reps from Lomas travel in the hotel lobby. The trip was overpriced and not what was described, would not recommend booking any trips through TUI.

The hotel grounds were immaculate and continually tended to . The service in all restaurants we visited was very good. We went to Cocotal every morning for breakfast, the choice there was amazing, would definitely recommend it. We went to the Italian which was nothing special, but jo Jo’s was good. By far the best was Kampai. You have to watch out for additional charges if you are not careful. The restaurants charge extra for steak and it’s very expensive and also for any wine other than house wine, starting at around £50 a bottle!! The house wine was fine.

The staff were all very good, never had to wait for service at all, very attentive. The beach itself is full of seaweed, which is a natural thing and can not be helped but there was an army of people clearing it every day. Unfortunately you can’t walk into the sea as it’s very rocky so if you want that sort of beach this is probably not the place for you.

The hotel is obviously very popular with Americans, who seemed to congregate round the big ‘party pool’ which makes it a very loud place to be but there are plenty of other places to get away from it. We did have an incident where some guests on our last night, a few rooms down, were very loud and drunk and using the swim up after 8pm which is not allowed. I did call reception as they were creating a lot of noise with music etc and they did send security round quickly and it seemed to quieten them down. That would be one of my reservations, noisey guests spoiling the beautiful serenity of the grounds and possibly putting me off going back.

On balance a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds and excellent staff but not quite 5 star.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank nadinepurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hola!

Dear nadinepurcell,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express my gratitude for taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

We have worked very hard in this area in order to avoid other guests get the same impression.

Our customers’ opinions and suggestions are really crucial in the process of improving our performance, so we thank your valuable comments which undoubtedly help us take a step forward in terms of client´s satisfaction.

All the best!

Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

This was our second time down south, first time at a 5 star resort. While we found the resort very clean and very beautiful, and the staff friendly and helpful, we did have some issues. The biggest problem I had was with the inconsistency of enforcing the dress code. We were asked to leave a restaurant on my birthday because of my husband's footwear - he was wearing flip flops (we didn't know about the dress code before we left Alberta). Later during the week, we saw another guest wearing flip flops and a t-shirt (both "not allowed") at a different restaurant. Be aware that if you're planning on dining in an air conditioned restaurant, men need to have "casually elegant" footwear. There was a nice variety of restaurant choices. The food and drinks were good, the portions were quite small though. Pools were plentiful, but if you want a space on the poolside beds, be prepared to get there very, very early.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best from a second floor room
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dustinandmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hola!

Dear dustinandmander,

Allow me to thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience with us, as our guests’ opinion is very important and it is thanks you to valuable feedback like yours we will continue to improve and perfect the five star service to all of our guests.

Your comments are a very good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ full satisfaction.

If there’s anything we can do to help plan your next perfect getaway, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Sincerely,

Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

I'm not sure if this was the pool that Alfredo was tending at. He tends at the swim up bar. Anywho, this man is amazing! He is so personal, he remembered the entire group of names I was with. He also went out and got palm leaves to make us origami out of the leaves. He is seriously amazing and we went back to visit him the entire stay. He is a character from a movie almost! Alfredo the bartender, go find him!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hola!

Dear Kelley A,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and lovely comments on TripAdvisor.

We will address your kindly comments with all our staff.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcome you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Still here at the mo hotel looks lovely but is very dated needs some money spending on it. Most of the staff are great some not so much. We are here on honeymoon but received no little touches that the American or Canadian guests received and they do get better treatment throughout the hotel, The British are not as worthy well thats how most of us feel.

Rooms are damp, smell mouldy, dark and very very dated. Our room cleaner leaves a lot to be desired mouldy fruit left for 5 days, had to be put outside eventually half got taken away before the strawberries ran off the plate but other half still on the plate not good.

We have been just been informed that one of the pools is closing down for referb not happy about this as it's right opposite our room and the main pool is really busy and I'm on crutches due to an accident back in April. Not easy to get around and the golf buggies stop running at 11pm and the walk back is about 3.5miles

Weather is great food is amazing drinks are hit and miss. Got 8 days left wouldn't come back not 5* that is for sure

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank floss04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear floss04,

On behalf of the staff and management at El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma we would like to thank you for sharing your review detailing your current experiences with us.

As you are at the hotel , we would like to urge you to contact our chief concierge and guest service at the lobby of the El Dorado Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA resort by Karisma as unfortunately we can not identify you or your reservation from the information shared on this website

We are truly very sorry to hear of you experiences and challenges encountered to date however we would like the opportunities to change your perceptions and ensure we go above and beyond for you during the remainder of your stay, surpassing all expectations

Kind Regards,
Your Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews