We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Not up to 5* standards'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“'Not up to 5* standards'”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here at the end of February for 7 nights. We looked at previous TA reviews and decided for the first time ever to e mail the hotel in advance to ask for a room which is quiet, away from road noise etc. When we checked in the receptionist said that the hotel was full but that we had been located a quiet room on the 2nd floor of the hotel. Unfortunately this was not the case. Alot of the rooms on the left hand side in this hotel are located just above a very noisy very busy road. Some evenings it would have been nice to leave balcony doors open rather than have to use the very noisy air conditioning however this was not possible due to the noise. The traffic noise when sitting on the balcony was so loud you couldn't hear other speak, and because it was a main road the noise continued all day and during the evening.

We booked an upgraded room with side seaviews. The towels were threadbare and so rough they could be used for exfoliating! Beds were probably the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel, it felt like you were sleeping on bare springs!

The air conditioning units very noisy and you could hear loud rumbling noises when other rooms switched on their units mostly at night.Pool areas were good with quite a few different areas to sunbathe. Only one pool was heated which was the smaller main pool situated by the restaurant which was quite a busy area and therefore not so relaxing to sit by. The other pools were unusable as they were so cold.Good breakfast selection each day and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Hot buffet selection at times was lukewarm and the water which is brought to your table for tea and coffee was sometimes cold and had to wait a while to get a replacement. As you would expect in 5 * hotels prices of drinks very expensive although I cant see that 10.86 euros for 2 very small bottles of water is justified. Hotel located at top of a hill but only a 10 min walk to restaurants and beach. This area has good selection of restaurants wld highly rec La Torre del Mirador fantastic food & staff , excellent service.The promenade is pleasant and you can walk to other resorts if you wanted a long walk. We requested a later checkout a couple of days before we left and the receptionist said that she did not think this was a problem at all but to check the following evening. She made no mention that there would be a charge. We were only asking to check at around 3pm. When we spoke to another receptionist the following evening she advised that we could stay until 2 for no charge but if we wanted to stay until 4 pm it would cost 33.33 euros, not that expensive but it would have been better customer service to offer for free or least advise us there was to be a charge. As a previous reviewer has mentioned these type of problems should not be occurring in a SLH brand 5* hotel. Whilst I can't say that they completely ruined our stay we expected much more considering the cost and more importantly we expected peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Full seaview rooms located away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sls1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sending your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. We are happy that you were satisfied with our staff and our breakfasts, although we are sorry that we did not completely meet your expectations and that specific details were not to your liking.
We would like to inform you then that we take note of each and every observation, complaint, suggestion and comment, always with the goal of improving. However, we would like to clarify a few things.
First off, we would like to make clear that, as requested, we assigned the quietest room we had available at the moment from among those that fit the type of room you reserved so as to make sure your stay was satisfactory.
In reference to our beds and towels, we would like to point out that most of our mattresses have been replaced throughout the previous year and that all our sets of towels are replaced every two months.
We would like to further clarify that we currently have four heated swimming pools (two for adults, one for children and one with a spa that has an extra charge) and that the price for a small bottle of water is 2,70 Euros.
Lastly, we would like to note with respect to the air conditioning that the equipment we have is completely silent, so we apologize if there was some mechanical breakdown that caused the noise you mentioned.
Ultimately we work hard to satisfy our guests and your opinions are what always guide us.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    447
    148
    45
    34
See reviews for
574
1,473
29
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here on the 23January for 7nights. Hotel and staff were superb, very clean and food was delicious! Would recommend to anyone. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in November 2011.we enjoyed it very much.....everything very well presented and staff wonderful. One comment I have is that more than one heated pool would be very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Everyone from the porter to the chamber maids were absolutely charming. The waiters could not do enough and the receptionist even remembered that we live close to the beach when we left 7 days later.
The buffet breakfast was varied and delicious and lots of items were cooked fresh at a griddle station. You can also have sparkling wine at breakfast at no cost. Buffet dinner was also delicious with a choice of 7 or so fish and meat options that were cooked fresh to order. The only downside was the desserts which were disappointing.
Rooms were large, clean and luxurious and the bathroom sumptuous.
It is a long walk up hill from the seafront, but it helped us burn off some calories. The walk to La Caletta is pleasant and there are some nice restaurants there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have visited four other five star hotels in this area and I must say I was not disappointed in La Plantacion!

I travelled with my friend and we stayed in this beautiful hotel two weeks at the end of January. This hotel is not, however, for people who love noisy evening program, or spectacular lobby bars and so on...

The secret of this hotel is its really cordial and helpful staff. Secondly, the hotel rooms are extremely elegant and comfortable. Also great plus points are the wonderful pool area and the nice SPA.

We had paid for a full seaview room and this was a good choice. The variety of food in the buffet restaurant was moderate: I missed more salads and cheese. However, all food was tasty and the service was even better than one could expect. Nothing was too much for them!!!

Last, thanks for the management: Your team is really a professional one and made an unforgettable winter break for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canarysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.7 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,382 reviews
0.9 km away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Baobab Suites
Baobab Suites
#8 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.4 km away
Gran Tacande Wellness & Relax Costa Adeje
0.2 km away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur

Property: Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Address: C/ Roque Nublo 1 | Sector 8 Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful hotel is located in the privileged zone in the South of Tenerife, Costa Adeje. Given it offers privileged views. It is of Colonial Canarian style, with tropical gardens and has an exquisite decoration full of harmony and elegance in each corner. Located only 500 meters from the Bahia del Duque Beach, it is in the proximity of the best Golf course on the island and is only 20 minutes from the Airport Reina Sofia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Hotel Costa Adeje
Seleccion La Plantacion Vincci
La Plantacion
Vincci La Plantacion
Vincci Playa De Las Americas
Vincci Plantacion
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion Del Sur Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing