We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,436)
Filter reviews
6,436 results
Traveller rating
3,297
2,154
718
179
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,297
2,154
718
179
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool la laja star hotel pasta station lovely hotel half board evening entertainment a la carte restaurant plenty of sunbeds bed and breakfast all inclusive guests plenty of choice large hotel reception area something for everyone on an all inclusive basis main bar
Filter
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 6,436 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017

The hotel is impressive from the front and has a very large foyer area with small shops. The staff are excellent in every area, willing to help and very friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean as is the bathroom. The location is good with local transport on the doorstep. Having said this, we have been fortunate to stay in three other 5 star hotels this year and sadly this hotel is nowhere near the standard we expected from a 5 star hotel. Our biggest complaint was the food. The restaurant seems to major on fish which is in abundance every night. We are not fish eaters and the remaining choices were limited and very poor in quality. The food is cooked in advance and left in heated trays and most evenings (although we did not eat late) it had obviously been there a very long time as it was dried up and unappetising and virtually inedible. We were there for 10 days (November 2017) and the food was repetitive. One two occasions there was a sort of chicken casserole, which looked okay, but when we went to serve it I was horrified to find that it consisted of nothing more than chicken wings and full of bones. While variety was offered I would say that the hotel is cutting back on quality of ingredients used in their dishes as some of the other meat dishes were pretty much unidentifiable. A 5 star hotel should not be serving tinned peaches, tinned oranges and tinned pineapple as an alternative to their other deserts. The pool area is clean and impressive and there are plenty of deck beds although these are very close together. There are daily games played in the pool area, which made it a little like Butlins, one of which was pool. Unfortunately our room was located overlooking the pool table and from 4 - 5pm we could not sit on our balcony due to the noise both from the players and the over enthusiastic Animations team which were more noisy than the players. We complained politely to the management and the situation was helped. There is a kettle in the rooms, but don't expect replacements after the first day. There is a charge per day if you want more - again not 5 star treatment - no conditioner in the bathroom and only a handbag size pack of tissues. These are small things, but again not 5 star. On my birthday I was given a box containing just four chocolates - okay - nothing to complain about, but it does seem a little mean when at other hotels we have received a bottle of wine in our room just for being there. Love Costa Adeje, but won't be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Valerie,
Many thanks for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience in this review.
First, we regret that our Hotel did not meet the standards you expected.
We regret that our food was not to your liking; we strive to provide the highest quality in all our food services and we have forwarded your comments to our chef for review and to look for ways to improve our offer.
We appreciate your positive comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff, the size and cleanliness of the rooms, and the location of the hotel.
We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to offer you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based.
Kind regards.
Manager, GF GRAN COSTA ADEJE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

This was our fourth stay at this wonderful hotel. The reason we keep coming back is the great facilities, friendly staff, delicious food all in an ideal location. This was our first stay in November and we were worried if the weather would still be warm. As it happens our seven days were all in the 22-24 degrees centigrade. Yes it was a little cloudy but still warm enough for a daily dip in the sumptuous pool.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Anthony,
Thank you for sharing your kind review, we really appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and our staff.
We hope to see you on your fifth visit very soon.
With best regards
Manager, GF GRAN COSTA ADEJE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is impressive at the front and the staff were lovely. I am disabled and they gave us a disabled room with small garden, i also got a small box of chocolates for my birthday! Hotel is fully wheelchair accessible and staff really helpful. We went b&b and food was nice and plenty to choose from. Drinks were not cheap but on a par with some other places, we ordered doubles at happy hour (7.30-8.30) to last the evening! Waiter service can be slow sometimes. Entertainment is ok depending whats on, over 10 days we really enjoyed about 3/4 of them, some of its not for everyone( bearing in mind it was nov/dec.) the rooms are nice but need an upgrade, we got 2 bottles of water in small fridge when we arrived, tea/coffee is provided only for first day, so we bought our own for rest of hols (or its 3euros per day!) they provide wifi but its hit and miss with connection so dont rely on it. location is ok but no good if you have mobility problems, its up the hill, ok going down but not up! There is an hourly road train but we didnt use. Market is opp hotel on thurs and sat, which is busy. Local beaches are both nice and fanabe has plenty of bars and restaurants. I hired a mobility scooter from active mobility in Los cristianos who were brilliant, really helpful and i will definately use them again. But dont book through hotel as they charge a percentage on top, which of course active mobility has to put on the price. We had a lovely holiday here, but its 4* not 5. If you go right out of hotel theres a small 24hr shop, or left down the road theres the hippodino.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LoveTravel175075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Been to this hotel for last two years and have just booked again to return next year, you will not be disappointed with this hotel everything is fantastic, location food staff rooms are all wonderful cannot wait till July 2018

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Jan,
Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you in July.
Best wishes,
Manager, GF GRAN COSTA ADEJE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Visited for a week in mid November and had a most enjoyable stay. Arrived midday after early morning flight from UK and room was available. Excellent check-in service from Anna..........friendly, professional and very helpful. Glass of bubbly on during check-in most welcome and nice touch.
Our room (494) was spacious and well laid out. Large and incredibly comfortable king bed with pristine white bed linen. Balcony overlooking pool with sea view.......small but nice to sit in the evening for a chilled drink. Safe provided free and tea coffee if needed. Bottled water provided on 1st day.
Good sized bathroom with double sinks and shower over bath. Plenty hot water........clean towels provided morning and evening.
Agrianna looked after our room during our stay and kept our room immaculately clean.
We stayed on B&B and breakfast provided us with everything we needed to give a good start to our days. Fresh juices were very enjoyable. Cereals, yogurts etc and cooked breakfast if you wanted. Restaurant can get busy at certain times in the morning.
We spent most of our time at the rooftop pool.........very relaxing with heated pool and never too busy. Hotel does apply a no reservation policy and in the main it worked although, unfortunately, some hotel guests did not comply.
Entertainment, in general, was good and the bar area was always busy. Good atmosphere and drink prices were reasonable.
We were surprised to have a bottle of bubbly delivered to our room on our Anniversary day......very nice touch and is an indication of the great customer service this hotel provides.
All in all this was an excellent winter break and can understand why the Adeje Gran gets its high ratings. Will definitely consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GFHoteles, Manager at GF Gran Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your kind review, we really appreciate seeing all your positive comments.
Thank you for highlighting the excellent service received from Anna and Agrianna, they will be delighted to have been mentioned.
We hope you enjoyed your special anniversary stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best regards
Manager, GF GRAN COSTA ADEJE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews