We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
164
172
97
54
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
172
97
54
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews building work vanity room pool bar holiday club la pinta beach sea view refurbished apartment puerto colon bbq night these apartments a stones throw plenty of sunbeds restaurants and shops great holiday walk in shower cleaning staff large balcony
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Although there were renovation works taking place both in a number of apartments and some common areas, we really enjoyed our stay at Flamingo with our 2 children aged 8 and 10. The bar/pool area has been renovated to a very high/classy standard, and we noticed a good number of apartments were being completely refurbished, too. Ours, the 501 has now air-conditioning, and extended kitchen/living rooms with high quality fridge/oven/microwave/kettle/vitro-ceramic hob/, all stylishly finished with excellent materials. Rooms have been nicely redecorated, and the new bathrooms with walk-in showers are a pleasure to use, and very hygienic and easy to clean. 2 flat-screen tvs, one in the lounge and one in the main bedroom.
The large terrace has been nicely refurbished. Reception staff were extremely helpful,a great improvement from previous years.
Cleaning service was also impeccable, and no issues with cockroaches any more.
When all renovations are finished, Flamingo will definitely become a excellent aparthotel

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Flamingo Beach Mate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that the renovations met your expectations and that you had a pleasurable holiday experience on the resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
The Flamingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Very disappointing experience. We were first allocated a room in the basement on a corridor not dissimilar to that on a prison documentary. The shower flooded the bathroom on each use, the room was boiling and the ceiling fan very noisy, cockroach scampering around, little lumpy twin beds close to the ground. We requested to move and were told they would put us on 'the list'. They were more concerned about people who were yet to check in than those already there. After asking several times and being refused a refund to go and find another hotel we were allocated a new room on the ground floor. This was marginally better. Below are a few points we experienced;

Negatives:
- Heavy construction work continually taking place around 8am-8pm daily, so no relaxing on the balcony or by the pool for long.
- Housekeeping service very poor, rooms were 'cleaned' and bins emptied about 3 or 4 days out of 7, which is not good enough when self catering. Towels were never changed so had to purchase some from the shop to have clean towel.
- Staff disinterested and frequently seen bickering with each other at the desk
- No air conditioning
- Uncomfortable room , particularly the beds with holes in the sheets
- WIFI including public areas was at a cost
- Difficult to get a sunbed as people are allowed to 'reserve' from 9am and not use until the afternoon.

We heard several other couples voicing similar problems to the above during our stay. The only positive was that it is in a good location. There are many properties in this area i'm sure would be better value for money.

Room tip: Do not accept a room in the basement level (328)
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Flamingo Beach Mate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that the resort and accommodation did meet your expectations on this occasion. We will of course share your feedback with the relevant departments so that action can be taken where necessary.
The Flamingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I'm not one to moan and I always write a review on here wether good or bad,

Firstly we arrived about 10pm checking was very simple, we had a two bedroom apartment number 210, very modern however there was only one ceilling fan in the main bedroom, the other was like an oven due to no air con, the balcony which had a sea view was lovely but as big as a postage stamp there were 6 of us 4 adults and two kids this didn't sit all of us which was a massive shame as we came as a family and wanted to eat out there as like I said earlier the apartment is so so hot and very uncomfortable.WIFI save your money this only worked after midnight and before 8am so basically when your sleeping.

The pool area and the sun bathing areas are really lovely and so is the pool bar, but as mentioned in other posts the construction work spoilt every single bit of the relaxing holiday we were looking forward to, the noise from morning till night was awful and no we weren't advised of this before our departure so we were extremely dissapoined to be woken up after eventually getting to sleep with the horrendous banging that continued throughout our stay, we in fact got used to it. At one point we left our apartment to turn to the stairs and there was an electric saw in the middle of the footpath.

The complex is situated in an excellent location but very hilly if you want to visit the beach, there is a lift tho which we only found a few days before we left which was extremely useful.

We ate at Harleys on one occasion and the staff/food/service was amazing well worth it, other places we found were lovely is Ghandi's an Indian we had a few Take Away's and The Sun Inn lovely home cooked food.

I am a regular visitior to Tenerife 3/4 times a year and I have never stayed in Adeje before so it took some convincing as I like what I know and I know what I like, would I stay at the Flamingo again yes but not for a few years,

Thankfully we were never approaced by the time share people as we had a buggy, so take one they leave you well alone,

I hope this helps but if you are due to stay there in the next few months, Good Luck !!!

Room tip: None at the moment you will always hear the builders
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JaneFerriby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Flamingo Beach Mate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your feedback which has been discussed with the relevant departments.
We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We are undergoing refurbishment in some of the units so that we can improve our facilities and services. We do however hope to be able to welcome you back to the resort at some time in the future.
The Flamingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

I was really disappointed in this hotel. We looked forward to this vacation as a family we only get one holiday a year and work and save really hard.

This hotel could be amazing but really let it self down. We arrived on 10/07 a Sunday, we booked a superior one bedroom apartment and was given a standard. The pull out bed was so thin and the end curled so you couldn't lie straight.

The moment we seen our room we went to reception; he told me it was to late the manager wasn't around and he continued to listen while watching football on tv 'so rude'

I went down next morning to sort out room and spoke to Rubén the only good thing this hotel has, he was so helpful, moved rooms and offered us a complementary meal, things seemed to be looking up.

Then the rooms wasn't cleaned to a standard they look nice but the floor and balcony floor was filthy. The towels were new but unwashed so you was full of white bits.

No to mention getting out of the room to try and relax around the pool was a nightmare. Men walking round pool area with hard hats on and with clip boards, non stop noise!! The nice comfy couches you see on pics thinking you can sit to have a nice drink, that's being renovated so forget it. The hot tub you see and imagine your self relaxing in forget it was broke.

We seen a few cockroaches in our room. We have been to Tenerife every year for 14 years they are common however, I think this is made worse because the standard of cleaning. There were behind fridge my husband pulled out and sprayed insect spray. The next day we checked and they was a lot dead. We then went out for full day and informed reception and asked for room to be cleaned and the dead cockroaches to be removed for when we got home. We returned to a room that hadn't been touched. We told reception who told us maids had left for the day, they just sent someone who brushed them up and they still left some behind.

That was the last straw we checked out early and went to stay at the Bahia principe a fabulous hotel I would recommend if you want a holiday. It is a bit more expensive; we paid 115euro per night for flamingo and 197euro per night for Bahia it was all inclusive and also has air con, that was for 4 people.

I left a message at reception to be contacted by manager still nothing; seems they only reply to good comments thanking them.

As far as I can see this hotel is a lottery; you may or may not get a nice room, building work, cockroaches but I would not gamble again with a holiday I have looked forward to and worked so hard for.

Hope this helps

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank lenlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent place to stay ,could not fault it at all.prime location. Excellent staff and very clean .we had apartment that had been modernised. Would definitely go back it was so relaxing could not have wished for a better holiday

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Flamingo Beach Mate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing such positive feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that that the resort and accommodation met your expectations and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.
The Flamingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews