We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
21
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stay there again train station the kitchen freezer toilets advice wifi shower hostel beds city
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Excellent location, just opposite to the train station and not too far from the city center and walking distance - 45min to buddhist temple Datsan 'Rinpoche Bagsha' Cleanliness at its top, with perhaps the best bathrooms of hostels I ever stayed. Bike hire possible for 500R. Unfortunately staff doesn't speak English wich unable them to give you tourist advices etc.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichaelaK1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This hostel is located within 5 mins walking distance from the main station. It's situated over the back of the station by the bridge which will save you having to walk around the block.

The hostel accommodation was great. The dorm I stayed in was a six bed and everyone in there was lovely.

There is a kitchen facility with electric hob, fridge, freezer, kettle and microwave.

Sacha was brilliant and really helpful as were the other staff who assisted us with our questions.

The only negative I would say is that there is a lack of communal space. On one evening some of us were talking in the kitchen as we cooked and we were being told to be quieter by a member of staff when it was only 21:00. I found this to be somewhat oppressive. However it's because walls are paper thin and rooms are very close in proximity. There is also only one shower for the whole of the hostel which in my opinion is inadequate.

The hostel certainly lives up to its name as it was very clean. It is also a good hostel for those who are above 25 years who are travelling as there was a good mix of people in their thirties and forties whilst I was there.

All in all it was good experience!

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank 918ellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

This place is so clean... the staff are constantly cleaning! It’s right near the railway station but not far from the big Lenin head and restaurants, pubs etc. We stayed here for nine nights which is overkill for a visit to Ulan Ude but we had a lot of stuff to sort out as we finished the Mongol Rally here and had to get rid of our car, post our belongings home etc.

Staff were friendly and helpful, even when we arrived back at 1am and had to wake them up to let us in (sorry!). Other reviews here mentioned the language barrier but we didn’t really find it a problem... this is Russia so no particular expectation that people speak English (plus we have google translate). The room was clean, plenty of space... we stayed in the 6-bed dorm which was absolutely fine.

The only negative was that there was only one toilet and only one shower, which was shared between everyone staying at the hostel (which I guess could be up to 20 people or so, maybe more?). This wasn’t a major issue, but it takes me ages to wash my hair (I have a lot of it), and although I washed as quick as I could I found an angry man waiting for the shower when I finished. Not the hostel’s fault that this particular man couldn’t be more patient, but if there were more toilets and showers this would help.

Overall it was a great place, especially for the price, and I would stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Georgia1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

It is nice place. Clean and helpful staff. They helped us for registration papers. If there are some staff could speak in English would be great. They speak Russian and Buryat Language. Also if they have 1 more Restroom and Shower room would be nice. Location is great. Can walk to any place I needed.

Room tip: Rooms have 2 beds and with window one is nicer.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bold-Erdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Nice place. Clean, good kitchen area. Only one shower, more would be better. Staff helpful, they accommodated us for an extra night at short notice and registered our visa for us. Also we were able to do some laundry there. Free tea/coffee.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ktfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews