We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
112
21
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
21
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving bar great hotel hotel restaurant train trip train station top floor lake baikal lenin head sauna trans centre city english russian suite
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We came from a lovely train trip around Lake Baikal to Ulan-Ude. What a great city! We loved every minute of our short stay. And the Mergen Bator Hotel made our visit to Ulan-Ude even more memorable. The location of the hotel is perfect - 7 min taxi drive from the train station and a 5 min walk to the city center (Lenin head). The check-in was very swift and all staff member spoke good / very good English; especially Mrs. Dara was all the time extremely helpful. Our room was spacious and very clean and the beds allowed for a very restful sleep. The hotel restaurant was also very good and we ate twice there. It is a pity that we did not stay longer at this nice hotel in order to enjoy more of Ulan- Ude. We fully fully recommend the Mergen Bator!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMergenBator, Управляющий at Mergen Bator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Guest! Thank you so much for your choice and for such a great rewiew. We are very pleased that the stay in the city of Ulan-Ude and our hotel has left a positive impression. We are glad that you highly appreciated the work of the staff, our rooms and the restaurant. We hope to see you again at the hotel Mergen Bator! With best wishes, General Manager Baklanova Olga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We stayed two nights while travelling the Trans- Mongolian Railway. The hotel is a comfortable place for a stop over. It is within easy walking distance of the town centre. There is a revolving bar/restaurant on the top floor which has great views. The food there is very nice too.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JKM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMergenBator, Управляющий at Mergen Bator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your choice and your responce! We are glad that you liked the hotel and its location, as well as a panoramic bar on the 12th floor. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel "Mergen Bator"! With kind regards, General Manager Olga Baklanova.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

The day we arrived some strange things happened:
When we arrived at the reception we got a very warm welcome.
Unfortunately our room cards didn't work at all.
We could not use the elevator nor open the door to our room.
Thus we always had to call somebody from the reception what was really annoying. Our cards needed to be changed three times in the end until everything worked well.
Moreover we didn't get the room we had booked so we had to wait for a while until we got another room. At the same time we were told that we could only stay two nights in that room although we had booked three nights.
Nevertheless they managed it somehow and we could stay in our room.
Big plus: the fitness area, the pool and the sauna and the great view from the bar.
The breakfast was also very good.
The staff is always very friendly and thy also helped us to book a tour to main attractions nearby.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 570mauriceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMergenBator, Управляющий at Mergen Bator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Maurice B! Thank you for your choice and for taking the time to post a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our fitness club, the panoramic bar and our staff! We are very sorry for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards,
General Manager Olga Baklanova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I never know when I read a hotel review in a exotic place whether reviews are adjusted to geography or are using world standard. In this case, the Mergen Bator is a world standard 4 star. The room was lovely and the front desk and restaurant staff were very good and understood my bad Russian and have a decent English vocabulary. The staff in sky bar are not as good as restaurant but ok. Only glitch in our stay was it was first heat wave in Ulan ude of season and the AC was not yet working. Staff found us a large fan and all was well. I would stay again,if in area

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank voyager52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMergenBator, Управляющий at Mergen Bator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Guest! Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our rooms and staff. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, General manager Baklanova Olga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Amazing hotel! The best in Siberia, the best in my personal choose. It situated in useful place from airport (20 min or 45 min - it depends from the city's traffic jams) and railway station (5-15 min). Helpful staffs, excellent service. I had book only standard rooms, but very often I got luxury rooms or suite. I think it was due to the fact that the hotel is small and often all standard rooms were occupied, for regular clients they provided upgrade of rooms. Amazing POOL, I like it so much! Thank you!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Лина Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMergenBator, Управляющий at Mergen Bator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Dear Lina,
Thank you so much for your choiсe and your positive feedback!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and liked the stuff as well as service generally.
We look forward to see you again in our hotel "Mergen Bator"!
With kind regards, General Manager Olga Baklanova.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews