We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
59
65
50
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
65
50
15
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is just excellent in terms of value for money. Although the building itself is a Soviet legacy, the management succeeded to refurbish the place quiet nicely. I loved the paintings on the walls and general design. While the rooms are not big, they are really cozy and comfortable. Also, the bathrooms are really spacious with great sanitary equipment. The location is as central as it gets, close to all the main attractions. The views from the top floor rooms are great. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with vast selection of various dishes at the buffet. We also appreciated the food at Chashka cafe very much. The “boozy” or Buryat dumplings were just excellent! The hotel is very clean. I liked the lobby, the halls and corridors very much - all the public spaces are well decorated and maintained. What I enjoyed very much is the service, which was just top notch. The receptionists were especially friendly and made us feel very welcomed. I urge you to opt for a more expensive deluxe room though, the cheaper room had walls decorated with plastic siding instead of plaster, which didn’t feel very pleasant from an ecological and fire safety point of view.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank amk2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namzhilova_Nataliya, Генеральный директор at Buryatia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Amk2f! Thank you for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will be happy to see you again amongst our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

excellent location, staff, wifi, restaurant, value for money - can't fault this place, highly recommended. I don't usually go for inernational type hotels but this one is great. it was also a good place to hang out for a morning when i was passing through again and needed breakfast, wifi, coffee, toilet, etc. couldn' believe the price!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tyddynalys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. The staff was wonderful, the rooms immaculate (when was the last time you were in a hotel and saw a bathtub you would consider soaking in?), the location couldn't be better (off the main streets so minimal traffic sounds. And the windows still can be opened for fresh Ulan-Ude air.

Minus: The downstairs coffee shop area should be redesigned to be more inviting, relaxing spot and alternative to full breakfast. Right now it's just lobby furniture and a minimal coffee bar. Also, we wanted to tip the barrista, but there was no tip box, likely because the management doesn't allow it. Not good, management. You want the coffee shop to be friendly and personable, a place where people want to hang out. Change the furniture, add some more variety in foods, and put out a tip box.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Despite the size of hotel and the gift shops in the lobby (which had some very interesting items for sale at reasonable prices) this is a pretty basic hotel.
The bed was comfortable ... the room clean.
But ...
The bathroom amenities were quite basic (foil packet soaps ... almost impossible to open, even if you do want to use such low quality).
The breakfast offerings were quite poor ... instant coffee packets.
Upgrading these items would make this hotel very good!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExPattyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namzhilova_Nataliya, Генеральный директор at Buryatia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear ExPattyO, thank you for choosing Buryatia Hotel and for taking time to leave a review! We are glad that you liked the comfort of our hotel, cleanness and the price.
We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We would like to thank you for your comments, guests’ feedback is helping us to become better. We have checked all the hygienical packs in the rooms, especially soap packets, replaced some of a worse quality ones and talked to our supplier and staff.
We also regret that our breakfast seemed to be poor to you. For our guests we offer a buffet breakfast with a choice of several hot dishes, porridges, cold snacks, vegetables, fruits, breakfast cereals, fresh dairy and bakery products, our chefs may prepare omelette by order. There are both types of coffee on our breakfasts- instant cofee and freshly made Americano.
We wish you all the best and sincerely hope to see you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel Buryatia is a good hotel for a quick visit in Ulan-Ude. It is near the main square, main street, philharmonic, and theater. The room had air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a kettle (I had to ask for it). The hotel is quite tall so offers good views of the city. Their breakfast was also very good (try the kasha!). The staff speaks English, so if you don't speak Russian it's not a problem. It is also near several good grocery stores.

The bathroom in my room was very small. This wouldn't have been a problem if the bathtub was properly separated from the rest of the bathroom by a working curtain. The one they had was not long enough to stretch the width of the bathtub so water kept splashing onto the mirror, and if I wasn't careful onto the toilet as well.

You may experience difficulties if you are sensitive to light when you sleep. The curtains were too thin to block the light and the bed is near the window.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank des d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namzhilova_Nataliya, Управляющий at Buryatia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Des d, thank you for your review! We are very sorry that you couldn’t fully enjoy your stay. We are currently cheking our bath curtains in all rooms. Thank you for drawing our attention to this. It is also very pleasant to know that you liked the work of our staff and our breakfasts. We will be happy to see you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews