We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
Nearby Hotels
Seaside Los Jameos Playa(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$222
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gloria Izaro Club Hotel(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Floresta(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
VIK Hotel San Antonio(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$204
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$204
US$142
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Morana Apartments(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel THB Flora(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$83
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Beatriz Playa & Spa(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$129
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$233
US$226
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Apartamentos Barcarola Club(Puerto Del Carmen)
US$134
US$127
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
404
102
23
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
102
23
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic suitea la carte restaurantbeautiful hotelthe guest relations managerdouble sunbedschillout areahalf boardsteep hilljacuzzi poolturn down serviceold townsun loungersvolcanic rockbreakfast buffet isthe pool snack barsea viewprivate terrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have wanted to stay here since we visited the island a few years ago and our pick up point for a coach tour to Corralejo was opposite this hotel - it looked lovely....and it is! We cannot fault this hotel - the staff are extremely attentive, everything is well maintained and the hotel itself is extremely well designed with an absolutely stunning reception area. It's one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. The hotel itself is well located with great views. The size and capacity of the hotel is just right. We had the best breakfasts ever and the breakfast staff are great and very helpful.The rooms are lovely with an excellent outdoor area with loungers which gets the sun all day. We are just so impressed that the owners seem to have paid heed to the legacy of Cesar Manrique who cared so much about the island and it's beauty - thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NervousDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement011015, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr./Mrs. NervousDebs,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about our hotel.
We cannot be more grateful after reading your review, and we can not be prouder, since this means that we are on the right path, in order to fullfill all our Guests' expectations
All the staff is deeply committed and such positive words are a real motivation for all of us.
We will pass on all your comments to all Departments involved and of course to our Owners since you have appreciated the Cesar Manrique inspiration.
Our main goal and intention is to exceed always our Guests expectations and this is not an easy job to do.
Always, seeking constantly the perfection and the so desire and demanded excellence in service.
Thank you once more for your feedback since your comments are very highly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you again at La isla y el mar, hotel Boutique anytime.
Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

7 nights just finished and all I can say is this - Yes this is a 4 star hotel but to my mind a fabulous four star without a doubt.
I agree about one or two minor housekeeping issues but to be honest any problems I encountered were so minor I never let them bother me!
To all my fellow travellers who complained about the shower leaking a quick tip - don’t rock and roll in the shower and all will be fine - three days in I developed the technique of having a good shower in this modern bathroom ( no shower door) and not a word of complaint from my wife about a wet floor.
To be very honest guys for what I paid to stay here for a week I was blown away with the value for money - I’ve paid a lot more and got a lot less I can assure you.
I can’t comment on the half board buffet as I’m not presently at least a half board kind of guy ( A big part of my holiday enjoyment is experiencing different local restaurants) but I did go to the Kentia Gourmet Club and enjoyed the experience immensely albeit the beef was a bit tough. This must be the place to be seen though as I had a British TV celeb at the next table.
So to sum up - a modern extremely well designed hotel ( and I do mean designed as its all been put together with a great deal of flair and attention to detail) at a really cool price. If I come back to PDC I’ll stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: The classic doubles are fine - if you can - get the hotel to show you one or two before setttling on yours as some are in better positions
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AllanWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement011015, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr. AllanWanderlust,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about our hotel. We cannot be more grateful after reading your review, and we can not be prouder, since this means that we are on the right path, in order to fullfill all our Guests' expectations.
All the staff is deeply committed and such positive words are a real motivation for all of us. We will pass on all your comments to all Departments involved.
Our main goal and intention is to exceed always our Guests expectations and this is not an easy job to do. Always, seeking constantly the perfection and the so desire and demanded excellence in service.
We are so pleased that you throughouly enjoyed our new Kentia, Gourmet Club. It is indeed a different experience to try.
Thank you once more for your feedback since your comments are very highly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you again at La isla y el mar, hotel Boutique anytime.
Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Admittedly it’s taken me a long time to write the review ! We contemplated returning this year but thought we would have a change , I wish we had gone back! The room was beautiful and I particularly liked the pool setting . The Loungers were well spaced out and I like the fact that you could press the button for waiter service . We felt thoroughly spoilt at this hotel and it was worthy of an anniversary break . The architecture is unusual and adds to the overall ambience of the place . The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice .Puerto del Carmen wasn’t my favourite resort however the old town is nice and has plenty of restaurants .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement011015, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Sally B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about our hotel. We cannot be more grateful after reading your review, and we can not be prouder, since this means that we are on the right path, in order to fullfill all our Guests' expectations.
All the staff is deeply committed and such positive words are a real motivation for all of us. We will pass on all your comments to all Departments involved.
Our main goal and intention is to exceed always our Guests expectations and this is not an easy job to do. Always, seeking constantly the perfection and the so desire and demanded excellence in service.
Thank you once more for your feedback since your comments are very highly appreciated.
We will love to see you again at La isla y el mar, hotel Boutique anytime.
Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel in March this year 2018 with my husband and two teenagers aged 17 and 18
We cannot fault the standard of the hotel at all, the rooms were fabulous with everything you could wish for in comfort and space.
The two teenagers just relaxed on the luxury beds each day, they didn't party just enjoyed the weather and food.
Step outside the hotel and it is a town that you feel is in a recession.
Although we did find a ZARA and LEVIS shop in the town.
We had a spar treatment too.
In the evg on certain nights there are singers, its great for the mature couple who just need to chill out, excellent staff and treatment too.
Food is exceptional especially the ala carte restaurant
10 out of 10 or five stars all the way

Room Tip: don't pay extra for a pool view, your better without
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement011015, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Samantha W,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about our hotel. We cannot be more grateful after reading your review, and we can not be prouder, since this means that we are on the right path, in order to fullfill all our Guests' expectations.
All the staff is deeply committed and such positive words are a real motivation for all of us. We will pass on all your comments to all Departments involved.
Our main goal and intention is to exceed always our Guests expectations and this is not an easy job to do. Always, seeking constantly the perfection and the so desire and demanded excellence in service.
Thank you once more for your feedback since your comments are very highly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you again at La isla y el mar, hotel Boutique anytime.
Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my wife have just returned from 9 nights at the hotel in an Excellence Atlantic Suite and were blown away by the place. From arrival, to leaving, the customer service was exceptional. On arrival we were greeted by Luis Rodriguez, on the reception, who was so pleasant, smiling, and helpful, offering a glass of cava, whilst we checked in, then taking us to our suite. He even tried to refuse a tip but I insisted - never seen that before. Throughout our stay he recognised us and was very polite and enquiring as to our satisfaction with the whole product.

We booked the holiday through Jet2 holidays and, although we had an Excellence Atlantic Suite (307), with a sea view, I just wondered whether we would have got this type of Suite in a better location if we had booked direct with the hotel, as there were the same suites with more open aspects to the sea with an 180 degree view? This is not to take away from the accommodation though as it was excellent. The Suite is spacious and comfortable. A drawback of the Excellence suites is that they do not have sunbeds on the balcony but only 2 deckchairs as the balconies are quite small. Cheaper suites do have sun-loungers on them but do not benefit from the direct seaview we had. There are a couple of issues we encountered in that, as has been stated in previous reviews, the rain shower tends to overflow into the bathroom and flood the floor, and we found the shower very hot as it's not possible to regulate the temperature! This could be a scalding problem if you are not careful. We also had to report a fault on the shower as the flow of water alternated between the overhead rain shower and the hand held shower attachment independently and would not stay on the setting chosen. This was attended to immediately on reporting it but was not fully resolved throughout our stay. The televisions in the suite are good quality and show the 4 basic English channels of BBC 1 and 2 and ITV and Channel 4. However we lost the English channels twice during our stay as the digital internet provision is temperamental but to be fair the problem was sorted immediately it was reported to reception. On a general note, it would be beneficial to have a general guide in the Suite, about the hotel services, and some detailed instruction of how things work, such as the shower, tv, and particularly the nespresso coffee maker, which you have to learn how to use by trial and error! If you do have cause to report any issues then they are attended to immediately and there is always a follow up from management to check the problem has been resolved and you are satisfied with their action.

We stayed bed and breakfast only and the breakfast is of good quality with a variety to suit most nationalities. I wouldn't say that it's any more than what you'd expect at a decent quality hotel but you won't go hungry. I do think that the diy toaster is a poor option and, several times the handle comes dislodged from the grill plate, and you have to be careful not to burn yourself. An automatic rotary toaster, as used in many hotels, or a toast provided by service would be much better.

The price of drinks is very reasonable and the pool snack bar is excellent for a bite at lunchtime. The cocktail bar is very pleasant and comfortable. We were given a token for a free prosecco with nuts and olives when we used the bar. A nice touch.

There are always sunloungers to be had with no pre-reserving allowed and the chill out area with the comfy double sunbeds is fantastic. The only downside we had was the cold northerly winds up to mid morning.

As regards the weather Lanzarote, at this time of year, seems to have developed very strong and cold northerly winds in the early evening and overnight. On our last 2 nights the wind was of gale force proportion and we had our sleep disturbed by the rattling of the door to the Suite and the whistling around the stainless steel structures within the complex!

In conclusion, a great hotel, with superb staff, and perhaps a couple of little tweaks, to make it perfect.

Well done to all concerned. From a personal perspective, it's a pity the hotel was not at the Los Pocillos end of Puerto Del Carmen, where we normally stay, as we are not too keen on this end of town, as it can be less relaxing and very commercialised, with a stag and hen type feel to the bars, and all that goes with that!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 9Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement011015, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. 9Tiger,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about our hotel.
We cannot be more grateful after reading your review, since this means that we are on the right path, in order to fullfill all our Guests' expectations. All the staff is deeply committed and such positive words are a real motivation for all of us. We will pass on all your comments to Luís and all Departments involved. We will bear in mind your appreciation about having instructions for the Nespresso Coffee Machine, shower etc. With regards to the TV and air con we do have also the instructions display in the rooms.
however, since we are a fully sustainable hotel all the information is on your TV screen. If you go to Menu you will find the Hotel info in many languages.
Our main goal and intention is to exceed always our Guests expectations and this is not an easy job to do.
Always, seeking constantly the perfection and the so desire and demanded excellence in service.
Thank you once more for your feedback since your comments are very highly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you again at La isla y el mar, hotel Boutique anytime.
Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews