We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
377
236
39
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
236
39
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews these apartments the main strip air con cleaned every day pool area nice apartments kids club table tennis cleaned daily old town lovely complex apartment was spotless great holiday fridge freezer water polo your doorstep plenty of sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We stayed at the Barcarola from the 17th to the 27th of February. We have stayed at the Club del Carmen, Costa sal, Lanzarote Village, Hipotel la Geria, Atlantic View and the Sol Lanzarote. With mum being nearly 75 we decided to try and stay somewhere more central so it wasn’t a major walk to restaurants in the evening. The Barcarola was ideal!
We arrived at around seven in the evening on the Saturday right in the middle of the Carnival so we had to drag our cases through the crowded pavements as no vehicles could access the playa avendidas. Check in was smooth and we were given a map of the complex which was helpful. We were allocated J4 on the ground floor which is very close to reception and the restaurant.
The apartment was spotless. Yes we have stayed in more modern hotels/apartments but it was roomy, we had everything in the kitchen we needed as we don’t tend to cook much but if you are not very tall you may struggle with the microwave as it’s quite high up. The bedroom again was clean and there was plenty of storage space in the wardrobe. Beds a little hard but after a couple of sangrias wasn't a problem !! The bathroom was fine. The shower was good although I don’t like having a shower curtain nowadays. The confusing bit was that the bath didn’t have a tap so we filled it up by the shower. The bath isn’t very deep which was great in terms of mum getting in or out safely. I would advise if you have longish hair bring your own hairdryer as the one we had was very weak and not very easy for styling but we managed so nothing to worry about. One great thing about these apartments is they have aircon so when it got a bit chilly at night we could warm the rooms up, most apartments in Carmen don’t seem to have it so it was a big bonus.
The terrace had a couple of chairs and a table. Again very clean and the gardens are very well maintained. On a few days we watched the maintenance guys jet spraying the roofs and re lining any flat roofs. They had no safety equipment really so I don’t think the Health and Safety here would have been happy but that’s their choice!! There again the H&S here have banned snowballs, pancake tossing races so it says everything!! Unfortunately the sun didn’t come on the terrace till late afternoon but I’ve made a note of which apartments get more for next time!!
I’ve got to mention the maids (especially Laura!). So friendly and do a fantastic job and even made little things from our pyjamas.
We had breakfast included and it was fine!! Normal fry up stuff, cereals, yoghurts, cooked meats , croissants, cakes and toast and jam etc. Staff at breakfast were very friendly and would find you a table and if needed reset it very quickly.
The complex is very central but still very quiet. Nearby are a lot of bars/restaurants/shops/supermarket. Our favourites were the plough (come out of the entrance turn right and then the first road you get to its about 50 metres up) which can get busy but well worth a visit, the hotspot which we have been going in for well over a decade (left at Entrance and in the first little square you get to), Arthurs Bar which is a Man City Pub and had a good snack menu and staff very friendly. Another place we found was the Codfather Chippy, ideal if you can’t be bothered going out especially as we had a storm one night so mum wasn’t keen on going out so I just nipped out and got Fish, Chips and Peas, a chip butty and a lager while I was waiting . Came to about 11 euro but was lovely!! (ended up having chippy 4 times in our ten days). Oh and I nearly forgot straight opposite the entrance is the Tiny Bar which is as it says Tiny but so friendly and the views are to die for. Also they encourage conversation so there is no TV or idiots about. Dennis and the other staff were great.
One good thing about being so central it’s not too longer walk to Matagorda or the Harbour and even if you don’t want to walk the taxis/buses are really cheap.
The day before we left I popped into reception to put the questionnaire in the box and considering this was the only visit since check in the gent behind reception piped up “Hello Ms Grim. I have your transfer details for you” Yes its grime but how he knew who I was seemed freaky ! There again I get Grim in the UK so not worried!! Very polite man! On leaving they have a room to store the luggage which was locked and they ordered us a taxi as coach pickups wind us up!
Yes as people have said the apartments are not too cheap but the fact it’s so central, so clean, you have aircon which in the winter months can be a blessing, the staff are lovely and although we didn’t go in by all accounts the pool is one of the warmest in the resort!
Will we return?? Yes definitely!! Will ask for H or I block probably next time but if I ended up in J again I wouldn’t complain! I’d avoid the D block even though they are private but you look at the back of the Music Hall Tavern and their bin noise can be a bit loud!!
Overall except for the mixed weather we had a lovely holiday made better by the good standards, beautiful grounds and room and definitely the staff! Can’t wait till we return which hopefully will be September.
Thanks all at Barcarola !!

Room Tip: Avoid D Block. All rooms seem nice but check which get the sun !
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ellyg182473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celia e, General Manager at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Ellyg182473,

It is very nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Barcarola complex. Thank you for your nice words about our staff specially to Laura, she is very happy that you mention her.
We would like to thank you for mentioning the good and also the bad points , all this helps us to improve our service every day. And thank you again for the nice description you made about our sorroundings.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Complex is in a great location off main strip, close to bars, restaurants, shops and sandy beaches just a 10 minute walk away. Yet peaceful in the grounds and around pool, which were all well kept and attractive. Rooms basic, typical 1980s style Canarian which we like, but very clean, well decorated, excellent maid service and regular changes of towels and bedding. I found the bed rather hard but my Mum was OK. So I put the sofa bed mattress on top of my single bed mattress each night, bit of a faff but I slept well and was fine.

Lovely big pool heated which is not always the case in cheaper places. Breakfast buffet 8- 10.30 am very good quality, but it does get a little frenetic around 9am to 9.45 am. However, we went once at 8am and we almost had the place to ourselves. It also gets quieter around 10 am. If there wasn't a table immediately available, staff quickly saw to it and sorted us out.

Rooms were of varying quality regarding location, some ground floor ones facing a wall, so make a request for a pool view. We requested a top floor and were lucky to be upgraded to a spacious two bedroom apartment K1. However, we were behind the Antica Trattoria with some noise from extraction ducts. This was not a problem as weather cool in the evenings with tropical storm one night, but would not have liked it in summer as it would have spoilt any sitting outside on balcony.

All the staff were so friendly and happy in their work, and that translates into great service for guests. Even the maintenance guy saw us struggling with our cases on our departure and carried them down the stairs for us.

All in all, not the cheapest place to stay, but the service, location, food and facilities are very good. Suitable for older people and families with young children who enjoy a sedate and relaxing atmosphere with no pool activities and pumping music thankfully. Guests a nice mix of Brits, Germans, Northern Irish and Dutch.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celia e, General Manager at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Lorna W,

Thank you for your nice review about our complex and for the nice description you made about. We are very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday in our complex , how pleased to read that you were enterely satisfied with the service of our staff.
Your words make us we will continue on the same way. We hope to take the opportunity to see you and your family in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Well maintained apartment complex right in the heart of the resort. Helpful, friendly staff. Include the breakfast option when you book. Lot's of bars and restaurants right outside the front entrance so you'll be spoiled for choice.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celia e, General Manager at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear patrick l,

First of all, we would like to thanks you very much for having chosen our complex for your recent stay in Lanzarote. We are really happy to hear that customers enjoyed their holidays.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Could not find any faults with these apartment, Lovely place to stay, so clean & quite at night and staff were very friendly. We went B+B and the breakfast each morning had a great choice of food. The location is amazing your on the main strip, and a Spar just beside you. I will be returning hopefully soon.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celia e, Manager at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Rita S,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you have a spent a nice time with us. Thank you for your nice words about our staff.
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Celia Espino
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Just got round to writing this review after a visit in August 2017. Very clean and tidy and although a little dated were ideal for our stay. We asked for and were given two apartments next door to each other and my teenage children stayed in one and my wife and I in the other. The apartments had everything we needed. In a great location just off the main strip in Puerto Del Carmen, so handy for bars, restaurants and supermarkets as well as the beach. Very nice buffet breakfast and a great pool area with laid on activities throughout the day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveMcKelvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celia e, Manager at Apartamentos Barcarola Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear SteveMcKelvie,

Thank you for having chosen Barcarola Club and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your holidays here. We really appreciate your nice review about our complex and our surroundings.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Celia Espino
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews