We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with Friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a generally good week at the Clubhotel Riu Paraiso in Lanzarote. We both agree that we would return again.

Service -

The service in this staff is very good and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Value -

This hotel is good value. 2 swimming pools and 3 restaurants. It is worthy of it's 4 star rating and is in a good state of repair.

Sleep Quality

A little disappointed as the air conditioning was still on the winter setting, although, we felt that our room was very warm unless the balcony doors were open. The double rooms have twin beds that tend to slide apart easily. Individual beds are too small to fit two people.

Cleaniless.

The hotel is kept very clean. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and there appear to be staff everywhere, cleaning up behind the tourists. the gardens and buildings are excellently maintained.

Location -

The hotel is situated on the edge of Puerto del Carmen, which is a clean and friendly resort. It is about 5-10 minutes walk to the nearest bus stop to take you into the resort. Alternatively, a taxi will cost you between 4-5 euros, if you wish to travel as far as the harbour, which is sitatuated furthest away from the hotel. It would probably take an able person 45-50 minutes to walk the length of the resort from the hotel.

Rooms -

clean, modern but a little warm at the moment. We has a pool view on the ground floor. One thing of note. In every hotel that I have been, I have read a note in the bathroom about towels and preserving water/energy etc. I have mostly found that even when trying to be green and leaving towels hanging on hangers, the cleaners still change them. That does not happen in this hotel and your towels will only be changed if you leave them on the floor. the cleaners are also proactive in trying to clean your room quite early so leave your do not disturb sign outside if you need privacy.

Food -

I can honestly say that I am well travelled and very experienced in all inclusive food menus. I don't rate the food at this hotel as the best. It is nice but does lack a little varierty. More annoyingly was the fact that you would have to wait for the chefs to cook the meats all the time. With a buffet, I just want to select and go and sit down not queue for the beef or fish all the time. It just seemed that the food trays were quite small and not adequate to cope with the number of guests. This may sound a bit picky but I am just comparing with previous experiences. must reiterate though that the food itself was good. Also, you could book for alternative restaurants (Asian, Mexican and Canarian). I tried the first two and they were nice and less congested.

Other Matters

A couple of points that are useful for me to know when I book a hotel and may be useful to you -

Sun beds - this is the first hotel that I have ever stayed in (bar one in Egypt) where it is easy to get a sunbed in a good position (up to about 12-1300). There was not much of people getting up early to put towels on beds before going out for the morning.

Gym - if, like me, you like to keep fit whilst on holiday and are looking for a good gym, do not choose this hotel. Ok. The gym has a running machine, a rower, a cross trainer and two bikes for the cardio fan. However, the weights facilities can only be described as a joke. No free weights. Only an poorly designed mini multi gym.

Drinks - Excellent. A good variety of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks are available. The variety is, in my opinion, comparitive with or better that other hotels I have visited.

All in all, this hotel is very nice and I would look to stay here again if I were to return to Lanzarote.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    1,245
    505
    124
    75
See reviews for
1,005
1,915
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,021)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Beware there are no indoor bars at this hotel !.I am not a smoker so it was not compulsary to be outside.I will say the evening bar area was under cover but not enclosed, people were sitting under patio heaters with coats on !.How this can be a 4 star hotel i do not know.sometimes people would force themselves upon others who were sitting at tables playing cards just to keep warm.The entertainment area was indoors but had no bar,if you just wanted to sit and talk to or play cards with your partner this was impossible .The food was practically the same every day, if you like pork you are in for a treat it was on the menu six nights out of seven.The pool area was very crowded there are only TWO adult size pools.The staff at this hotel were very good,and the cleaning could not be faulted. I would not return to this hotel

Room Tip: do not have a room over the bridge if you have problems walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

great hotel was there in jan would go back great food and entertaiment.rooms clean and clean towel evey day.***************

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mariboepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Having read many reviews before i though i would have my say!!.

Before going away we read many reviews most were positive but some of the reviews said there was a bug in the hotel really worried us,to the point where we nearly changed hotels.
well i'm glad we never never!!

Booked with thomson as we find it very hard to book riu hotels on line.we find thomson are very strict on the baggage allowance onli 23kg in any one case, even though we paid even though we paid for 25 kg. rip off!!!
The flight was terrible,no meal or in flight entertainment.It is better flying with easy jet and thats saying something!!!

Got taxi from the airport to the hotel.Only cost €15 saved us messing around with coach transfers. Worth every penny!

When we arrrived at the hotel we were told to go straight down for our evening meal and just to leave our luggage in the reception. We were not happy with that as we had money and our passports in our hand luggage.We just took them down with us but did see people later on in the week just going straight to their rooms.

Having stayed in the hotel before and stayed in many riu hotels before we knew what to expect. The room was very good.Room 343 which is in the main hotel looking out to the pool.The odd number rooms get the sun all day.We emailed the hotel before and asked them.They emailed us back saying they could not guarantee but they would try.

The hotel is very good! Never any trouble getting a bed bed by the pool even thoughther are still people putting towels down at 7 o.clock. You know who!!!

If i was being picky,i did think the food has gone down a bit.It's a good job i like pork! The breakfast was the same everyday which got boring but the asian restaurant was very good. They only say you can book it once a week but just be hard faced and ask again.

The entertainment team are great! Ane and his team do a great job.The best team we ever had.They work long days and have always got time to talk and help. Just don't expect las vegas entertainment, elton john does not sing here.

All the staff from the bar to the cleaning staff are very good and helpful.
Never had to wait more than a minute at the bar.If you drink whisky ask for ballintine if you don't they will just give you the local whisky. The cocktails are not the best but just ask them to top them up.

Went to fuerteventure on the fred olsen from playa blanca. Get your tickets from thomson rep as it costs €43 with fred olsen, we paid €28.

Steve the thomson rep was very helpful. We asked him was there a bug in the hotel?He said no but a couple of guests were sick but nothing to do with the food.

We will be returning to this hotel,but we do like to try other riu hotels.

Don't be put off this hotel by bad reviews. maybe people get high expectations but it's never going to be as good as mexico but you are not paying mexico prices either!!!

Just relax and enjoy.No more worries no more stress as they say!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank iwannagotoriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

when we arrived we were told we were in the second half of the hotel which was over a bridge when we pointed out my husband had walking stick they put us in the main building on the ground floor! Hotel food was best we ever had, entertainment was fantastic the team there work so hard and they mix with you day and night nothing was too much trouble, well done to the team.weather was very cold and windy which was unusual but the second week brilliant. hotel rep Steve could not do enough for you we booked a catamaran boat trip but due to the weather asked if we could cancel not an issue and full refund, which i was not expecting ! All in all would go back here best holiday I have had in a long time and we do go a way twice a year, thank you all for making our holiday!

Room Tip: well we had a room in the main hotel 219 it was so quite and over looked gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Del Carmen
1.6 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,401 reviews
1.1 km away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,620 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,626 reviews
1.3 km away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
513 reviews
14.3 km away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelUp so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing