We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and sun”
Review of Cinco Plazas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cinco Plazas
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed for 11 nights starting 11th October with couple of mates and we really enjoyed our stay at this basic but comfortable apartment hotel.

Previous reviews mention the cost you could pay, safety deposit box, the TV (didnt bother most local bars had the footie, Sky Sports News and X Factor etc on so no problem) and the lack of AC unless you hire it (it was cool enough with the windows open so again didnt bother this time).

Room was quite basic but did the trick for what we wanted, people with kids and teen may want to bring other entertainment and would certain need to think about hiring the AC if it was any warmer.

Complex has three pools, our room was right on one of the smaller pools and of course you had usual fight for sunbeds as only seemed to have about a dozen adjustable ones the rest were ok but you had to lay down pretty much flat, (you can hire cushions but we didnt).

We spent most days relaxing by the pool reading or listening to tunes on our ipods but the main pool has organized "entertainment" music waterpolo etc if you like that kind of fun, cant comment as we didnt try it.

Loads of bars and restuarants down the hill and on the main strip, the hill isn't too bad dispite a dodgy ankle and back but people with mobility issues could well struggle.

Lots of reps trying to get you into clubs and restaurants some take no for an answer some dont and this can get annoying but comes with the territory I suppose.

Would recommend you see the guys and girls at Spinnakers the local Irish bar, the owner was a top guy, a former fisherman who retired to the sunshine, you'll get a great breakfast or meal there and entertainment in the evening including an excellent duo called the Jager Brothers, great banter and great tunes, cheers guys loving your work! Also the guys at Spenders (large beer 2Euros) were really friendly and showed upto three games on Champions League and Premiership evenings/afternoons. Also don't miss the Usual Suspects in Mulligans, who were absolutely excellent too.

So much choice in the types of food, Indian, Chinese, Mexican, Steaks, Fish, Italian, Roasts etc etc, didnt have a bad dinning experience in the whole time I was there.

Tried a couple of organised trips including dinner at Timanfaya National Park cooked by the heat of the volcano, a little expensive for what it was but never to be repeated experience I guess. Also did the Island tour including a camel ride, this took in the volcano too so I would recommend one or the other to people, a little too much volcano otherwise!

To sum I would recommend the Cinco and Puerto del Carmen to people with families and groups of friends looking for a sunny, relatively cheap, fun time, it's a three star appartment, dont expect 5 star luxury and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrimper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,442 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2009

We stayed at Cinco Plaza from the 11th October for one week, [two adults and child aged ]. We stayed in one of the apartments at the back pool on the ground floor.
Rooms: Very spacious and clean. It was easy to keep the apartment tidy because there was so much wardrobe space. Maids came once every other day we got clean towels and they emptied the bins, to be honest there wasn't much else for them to do. There were plenty of plates, glasses, cutlery etc even a sponge and wash liquid. Would point out that the rooms do get very warm at night, think that air con should available, especially in summer months [we had fan provided with the apartment]. Safe is available for 15 euros per week and you get 5 euros back at the end of week.

Pool: We only went to the pool near out apartments, it was very nice. Loads of sun loungers available, people only started to go out about 9 -10 am. However, suspect that this would be different in peak times especially when loads of familes there.
Food/Drink: Didn't have any food or drink at the hotel as we prefer to eat/drink out, hotel restuarnt looked nice though. Would recommend to go the supermarket accross the road as it is cheapest and had loads or fresh food [we went to spar because we thought it would be chaper but it wasn't]. Supermarkets close at 10pm so if on a late flight like we were would make it a priority even just for a bottle of water. Prices are pretty much the same as at home in the supermarket and to eat and drink out, so not cheap but resonable and loads of choice. Would not recomend The Travellers in next to mcDonalds, I ordered jacket potato and cheese and couldn't beleive it when it arrived, micro waved to death [looked like a meal that you'd make when you can't be bothered after work!!] Toby Jug is a must, really nice food and reasonably priced. Also recommend Chiccitos[mexican] and Pinnochios[Pizza].

Beach:spent two days on the beach 8 euro for two loungers and a parasol, pedelos 15 euro for an hour ish. Beach is clean and well looked after.

Overall: a great holiday, in a good hotel that would definatly return to again and recommend to anyone :)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorraine1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

My wife and I spent 7 nights here in Oct. 09. The Apartments were better than I expected, with Toaster,Kettle, Micro wave, plenty of Cutlery,Dishes etc. Close to Beach, Shops, Restaurants etc. Three things I did not like about it were. All good loungers were always reserved from early morning. The matresses for the Loungers should not have needed to be hired, and I feel that new Clients should be escorted to their Accomidation by Hotel Staff or Holiday Reps.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddyjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I stayed here from 20th Sept 2009 for 2 weeks (below the people that wrote the last review i think) and we had a wonderful time. I have 2 daughters age 9yrs and 4 months so was a bit worried about finding things that would suit us all, but there was no need. My eldest Daughter loved the kids club which gave me a bit of time to chill out and there are plenty of trips around Lanzarote that we did to include all the family, although myself and the baby did give the submarine a miss. The beaches are lovely and the whole town is spotless.

The Apartment was huge and extremely clean, our cleaner even washed my dishes one day and the baby's bottles!!! The Pool area is immaculate. The staff are extremely friendly. We had water leaking out of our fridge on arrival and within 10 minutes someone had been to fix the problem. Some reviews have said a lack of loungers but believe me there was plenty and they are locked up till about 9am so i dont know how people were getting on them at 6am according to some reviews!!!!

We are definately considering returning next year and would recommend to anyone, although there is a hill up to the apartments from the main strip but not too bad.

The only downfall i thought was the cochroaches and the annoying people getting you to come in their bar/restaurant for a drink/meal (even the night club when they can clearly see i have a young baby!!!!!) but you get that in most holiday resorts.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstin1Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed in a privately owned apartment at Cinco Plazas for 2 weeks from 21st. September 2009. This is the 7th. time we have stayed at the same apartment over the past 7 years. The apartment is around one of the smaller pools (Plazas Amarillo). We also go to other locations such as Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Tenerife etc. and we have enjoyed them all but none of them, in my opinion, are as good as Puerto Del Carmen.
I cannot comment on the Thompson owned apartments but the one we stay in is immaculate and the location on the first floor at the far end of the pool (from the steps) is perfect.
Some people on this site have complained about the "sunbed rage" in the mornings but we found that after a couple of days, people respected where each family put their beds(usually in front of their relevant apartments) and there was never a bad word exchanged between anyone. If you are a "late riser" you may struggle to get a good position but there are always plenty of beds spare.
I have to say, we didn't use the complex for eating as there are dozens of bars and restaurants along the main strip, which is a 3 minute walk down the hill from Cinco Plazas.
There are places to satisfy all tastes but as i am not too adventurous with my eating, i loved the food at Top Gun, which is about 200 metres left at the bottom of the hill. The building is basic but the food is fantastic and reasonably priced.
As for entertainment, the main area is about 400 metres right at the bottom of the hill. As someone who loves live rock music, i strongly recommend Charlies Bar, the resident band are called Skin & Hide and they really are sensational, the guitarist is unbelieveable.
If you enjoy a more relaxed evening then i strongly recommend The Barge which is about 600 metres left at the bottom of the hill. They do quizzes on Mondays, Thursdays and Fridays and they are great fun.
Ged, the owner and quiz-master, is excellant and gives away loads of free shots(drinks not bullets !) during the night. You can also win Meals, Breakfasts and Toasties.
Over-all, i would strongly recommend Cinco Plazas and Puerto Del Carmen and i can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiebaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 km away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#43 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
552 reviews
0.3 km away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
787 reviews
0.7 km away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#23 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
329 reviews
0.9 km away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#45 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
376 reviews
0.9 km away
Bitacora Club
Bitacora Club
#27 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Plazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Plazas

Address: Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: €58 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cinco Plazas 2*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cinco Plazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinco Plazas Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Puerto Del Carmen
Cinco Plazas Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing