We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoed our dinner at Ormisson”

Restaurant Ormisson and cafe
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Viljandi
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Description: Restaurant Ormisson with its light and simple interior offers carefully selected tastes, which are influenced by seasonality and fresh ideas and made from the finest ingredients. The rich wine list perfectly complements the menu. Our cafe offers luscious cakes, pastries and confectionery, prepared by our own pastry chef from the finest ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant Ormisson with its light and simple interior offers carefully selected tastes, which are influenced by seasonality and fresh ideas and made from the finest ingredients. The rich wine list perfectly complements the menu. Our cafe offers luscious cakes, pastries and confectionery, prepared by our own pastry chef from the finest ingredients.
Reviewed 31 January 2022

We stayed in Park Hotel Viljandi - we planned to ate some where in old town.. but it was heavy snow storm :-) therefore decided to stay at Ormisson restaurant which is located in same building as hotel.
We liked our dinner. Regardless fully booked restaurant and quite long waiting time we enjoyed our dishes and drinks. Very friendly stuff. Food has excellent taste but price wise a little bit over rated.

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Keirin P, Marketing at Restaurant Ormisson and cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2022

Hello Mark T!
Thank you for the feedback. Good to hear that snow storm made you stay inside and in our resturant. As our menu has different cuisines, starters and main and also desserts then you can always choose more suitable price for you, we guarantee that all dishes are made with care and from the best ingredients. Hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

Very pleasant service, nice place in a beautiful building. Fish soup was good, ok size but nothing special. Could have some added herbs or pepper. From main dishes, fish plate was too small and plain. From starters potatoes with white fish was beautiful and tasty. In general prices are too high for what one receives.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank 12SNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Keirin P, Marketing at Restaurant Ormisson and cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Hello 12SNina!
Thank you for the feedback. Hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

The atmosphere is nice but the salmon was definitely overcooked and the mains were brought to the table before the starters were finished. The crime brûlée was overcooked as well, almost an omelette. The waitress didn’t know what some items on the menu meant. If paying 90 eur for 2 person dinner then would expect much better quality of food and service.

Otherwise the hotel breakfast was excellent.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Allusernameshavebeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Keirin P, Marketing at Restaurant Ormisson and cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Hello Allusernameshavebeen!
Thank you for the feedback. Wow, 90€ for two persons, what did you order?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

Nice place and good service. I had beef fillet and blackcurrant - medium minus and my wife had pork and celery.
Our waitress was very helpfull and friendly - thank you Gertrud.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 320valdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Keirin P, Marketing at Restaurant Ormisson and cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Hello 320valdor!
Thank you for the great feedback. You are welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021 via mobile

Went with family to celebrate son's graduation. Too of us ate salmon, one had pork. The pork was super dry with cold (?!) mashed veggies. The best element of both dishes was the salmon - maybe just a bit overcooked for me, but the skin was nicely crispy. There were 2 slices of sweet potato, one slice of carrot and quarter of a radish near the salmon, which made the dish too "fishy" for me. The Orange didnt match the combo at all. 17 euros for salmon - definitely NOT worth this price. The worst was my dessert - coffee panna cotta with berries. The rasberries were melted (!) (come on it's summer, a restaurant should have some fresh fruit this time of year!) Panna cotta itself was too mushy, not firm and tasted pretty awful - i've had better PC when visiting local store and bought one in the shop. Sorry, but i wouldnt recommend this restaurant for special occasions. And the young waitress...well, f.e brought the desserts when the finished main plates were still on the table - that should say all :)

Date of visit: June 2021
2  Thank K4di4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Keirin P, Marketing at Restaurant Ormisson and cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Hello K4di4!
Thank you for the feedback. It is very important to us and we take notes for the future to make things better for our customers. Hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Ormisson and cafe also viewed

Viljandi, Viljandi County
Viljandi, Viljandi County
 
Viljandi, Viljandi County
 

Been to Restaurant Ormisson and cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.