We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Dream, Indeed”

Review of Nonno's Dream

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anonj
USA
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable and Dated”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Pros: Elevator, prime lot on Pine Knoll Shores, lots of square footage.

Cons: Very uncomfortable mattresses- hard and cheap, encased in plastic with a thin mattress pad. No mattress upgrade for the master bedroom- equally awful. Very sweaty, sticky experience. I'm sure hotels are just as concerned about bedbugs and bodily fluids as beach rentals but hotels don't stoop to this level for a reason: intolerable discomfort. Why is it OK to have such awful mattresses at beach rentals? All the cheap, rock hard mattresses throughout need to be replaced! Also, replace dated, unattractive polyester floral comforters with all white, lightweight cotton covers.

Decor: dated and depressing- the name of the house is apt if nonno means grandma: Grandma's Dream House.

Unfortunate floor plan: upper (3rd floor) master is at the rear (street side) of the house and has only a slight side ocean view- Unheard of for an oceanfront property.
There are three bedrooms on the middle (2nd floor) level and only one is oceanfront but this view is also unsatisfying since it is set low. Off to the right are stairs and the big overhang from the deck above which obscure views.
Most unfortunate is the ground level bedroom with 4 twins. This room is positively disturbing- can't imagine anyone, of any age wanting to spend even one night here.
Adjacent to this room is a garage that reeks of mold and the smell has infiltrated into the bedroom. This is just one problem with the room- you couldn't pay me enough to sleep in this room- has a creepy feel and would likely scare even a small group.

Upper level living room furniture is very cheap and very uncomfortable.

Upper deck is small with good views and has high bar chairs which are nice but a few chaise lounges or normal height chairs are needed.

Middle deck has 3 rockers but less desirable views so no one sits on this deck.

As another reviewer mentioned, this property has an unusual mosquito problem- not an issue at other Pine Knoll Shores properties we've stayed at. Despite a good breeze, we were unable to eat outside on the upper deck in the evening. Mosquitoes also followed us into the house at all hours of the day. Not sure if cleaning up the leaf debris all over the driveway would help- the property has a small bit of woods separating it from the adjacent condos.

Subzero brand refrigerators are notoriously problematic and this one was no exception. The fancy, big stove top was nice but I would have preferred to see the money spent on better furnishings and bedding.

Odd locks on the doors- apparently separate keys needed for the deadbolt and knob. Be careful you don't get locked out if you grab a single key.

I advise avoiding this property- put a real damper on our week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you and your family were disappointed by the furnishings of this property. Mattresses are a difficult choice for homeowners because preference differs so much from person to person. I am sorry you didn't find the mattresses to meet your desire for softness. The mattress cases are added for the protection of our rental guests. As you mentioned, these can prevent a bed bug infestation. They also provide for more sanitary sleep conditions in a home that houses a different family each week.

Mosquitoes and other bugs are prevalent in our area due to the dense vegetation and warm, humid climate. All of our properties are treated to keep pests at bay, but from time to time they can become a nuisance. If you feel a home where you're staying needs to be treated, please let our housekeeping staff know as we will gladly schedule the home to be sprayed.

Thank you again for your review. I hope you and your family will vacation again on the Crystal Coast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daja607
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nona's Dream was okay...not great”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from a weeks stay at none's dream.
Positives:
Check in was really easy. Let us pick up keys at 3pm
House is located in the middle of the island which was really nice. We went to dinner in Swansboro once, and Morehead City once. Nice having choices.
Loved the oceanfront view.
Had a problem with the refrigerator and maintenance was there immediately.
Dinning table is huge, nice for family dinners

Negatives:
For a house that sleeps 12, the main floor family room had seats only for six. While there were two other seating areas, we had a few having to sit on the floor when we wanted to watch a movie.
There were no directions on when the garbage came. It ended up being early Monday morning. But with a Sunday checking and no directions in anything given to us, we missed the pickup and with an already full can from previous tenants it was a problem. The cleaning crew should have wheeled out the trash when they cleaned the place.
Also no direction on where the community pools were located. I called the realty company. Girl had no clue, after being on hold 15 minutes she came back and told me to use google earth, pool was next door.

We had a pleasant stay here. Would probably find a different house next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. It pleases me to know that you and your family did enjoy a pleasant vacation. I am sorry to hear of the poor communication on our part about trash pick-up and the location of the pool. These are points that we will work on. Nonno's Dream is a five bedroom Oceanfront Sand Castle that sleeps just ten, according to the county health department guidelines, but you still should have had more seating, and I am sorry that wasn't the case. We will look into this.

Thank you again for your feedback. It was our pleasure to host your family's vacation, and we hope to have the opportunity to assist you in planning your next trip to beautiful Emerald Isle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn L
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Dream, Indeed”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house is, thus far, the most wonderful I have stayed in at Emerald Isle. It had lots of space to spread out and play in, and was well maintained and appointed with good taste and a little whimsy. I did not know prior to arrival that it was a three story house; it appeared by the on-line pictures to be a two story house! Thanks goodness for the elevator, which we used primarily for moving our items into and out of the house, and for taking groceries to the kitchen. I had sourced a home with an elevator when booking this year after having issues with lugging so much stuff, particularly for kids, into beach homes. It was truly nice to have, and worked well during our entire visit.

The bedrooms were beautiful. This home came with beds pre-made and towels located in the kitchen and baths, which was a very nice perk. The master suite on the top floor was huge, with a meandering ensuite bathroom that included two vanity areas, a separate toilet room, a massive shower and a walk-in closet area. Each bedroom had some sort of hallway or alcove that gave it a bit more privacy. There was a tiled bedroom on the ground floor and a half bath on that level as well as a vestibule, three bedrooms on the second level with two sharing a jack and jill bath and the other with a private ensuite. The laundry room is located on the ground floor, and a separate gathering room with TV is located on the second floor. Also on the second floor is a media room with large TV and surround sound speakers. Each level leads to the outside with beach access; a hot and cold private outside shower is located on the ground floor. The upper story has a huge chef's kitchen with eat-in table overlooking the water and a 12-14 person dining table as well. A family room with TV is located here as well, and is open to the kitchen area. The upper deck is open to full sun; the second level deck is covered and has two rocking chairs for cooler, shaded enjoyment. There is a two car garage which we did not use, but which was, I believe, available. The deck/walkway to the beach was in great shape and provided easy access to the sand. I only had two real issues with the facility, one of which was its front tree-cover and corresponding leaf-litter which attributed to a mosquito problem. If I had had time I probably could have sourced out whether there was standing water, gutter, or neighbor issues that were at the heart of the issue, but we were regularly attacked when getting into and getting out of our vehicle, and both of my kids had numerous large bites just from traveling to and from the car. We would prepare to run into the house when arriving, and would run to the car when departing for a destination. We fortunately did not have the same issue when on the beach side porches or the beach itself. I would say that this needs some minor investigation and remediation. The other issue, also fairly easily resolved, was the fact that the room set up more for children with lower beds more friendly for smaller children was on the ground floor rather than on a floor that was higher up and close by rooms to be occupied by adults. I had a hard time leaving my two small children by themselves on that floor and took turns sleeping in one of the twin beds in that room (there were 4) with my mom. We also used a monitor system but found that the insecure feeling brought on by having them alone on a floor by themselves made for poor sleeping. They ended up sleeping in the master suite with my mom in that large bed for a few nights.

Thanks also to Emerald Else Realty maintenance for helping with windows that we were unable to lock and for replacing the dvd player in the media room when an issue occurred.

We had a fabulous week - what a lovely home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities/condition of the home.
Liked least: The mosquito issue and location of kids' bedroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dive1945
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A wonderful, wonderful, very large home that was able to accomodate 8 adults and one 2 year old with a bedroom left over for 4 more. The home is located is near markets for shopping and easy access to Morehead City and Beauford for day trips and resturants. If you are into fishing there are plenty of charters near by! The beach is large with a gentle slope to the water. The views from the deck are amazing, especially sunrise and sunset! The house also has every amenity you could possibly need.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing